Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

16GB in my T520?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
KeatonR
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:52 am
Location: Boulder, CO

16GB in my T520?

#1 Post by KeatonR » Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:24 pm

I have the T520, model 4239-CTO with 4G of RAM installed. A Crucial scan reveals that I can add another 4GB for a max of 8, but I’ve read that some T520 owners have successfully installed two sticks of 8. Can I do this in mine? And if so which sticks am I looking for?

Thanks in advance!

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 16GB in my T520?

#2 Post by thinkpadcollection » Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:59 pm

Yes, I have done that with T420 (sister to T520). Either DDR3-1333 or DDR3-1600 (will run as 1333 installed due to SPD programming is set for 1066, 1333 and 1600 for DDR3 1600) They have to be 2Rx8 with official brand logo label sticker, one of these brand: Micron or Crucial (both are same maker), Hynix, Samsung. I get them from ebay, or if Crucial still have some DDR3 left. Always installed identical pairs of like.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: 16GB in my T520?

#3 Post by MikalE » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:30 pm

These run really well with 16 GB of RAM and an SSD.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

KeatonR
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:52 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: 16GB in my T520?

#4 Post by KeatonR » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:48 pm

Thanks, everyone. This is exactly the info I’m after. And I do plan to add an mSATA SSD sometime soon, and migrate the OS and program files to it, so with that and the RAM I should be running quite a bit faster.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: 16GB in my T520?

#5 Post by MikalE » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:24 pm

Then you can whitelist your BIOS and install a better Wi-Fi card, upgrade it to Bluetooth 4.0 or higher, swap in a Quad-Core processor, add an internal Smartcard reader for triple security protection, etc, etc.

I think I probably have a one of a kind T520 that no one has configured like this one. I'll never sell this one.

https://i.imgur.com/E3hLLzS.jpg
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

KeatonR
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:52 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: 16GB in my T520?

#6 Post by KeatonR » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:42 pm

Wow, much of that is likely above my pay grade, but I must admit it all sounds intriguing. I'll start with my small upgrades (screen, then RAM) and see how confident I'm feeling when it comes time to do the SSD upgrade. Overall, though, I'm really excited to be dusting this machine off and getting it up to speed. And this forum has been a great resource so far, so I really do appreciate all the help!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dr_st and 15 guests