Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Windows 10 Pro on a T520

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
chzuck
Freshman Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:16 pm
Location: ELIZABETHTOWN, PA

Windows 10 Pro on a T520

#1 Post by chzuck » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:39 am

I have Windows 10 Pro installed on a T520 and a T410s. I think Windows 10 gets much unjust criticism. I did not like it at first and actually removed it and went back to Windows 7. Later I gave W10 another try and greatly modified it. I re-installed the Quick Launch bar, removed many of the Apps, stopped much of the graphics while booting up. I have a desktop that very much looks like W7 or 8. I have Edge blocked and use Firefox as my default browser. I like the Quick Launch feature and many other features in W10. I have most of the spy stuff disabled using O&O Shutup 10 and have used Winaero Tweaker to make other changes.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Windows 10 Pro on a T520

#2 Post by MikalE » Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:15 am

I too gave in and downloaded Windows 10 on my T520. After a year or so I was not satisfied with the telemetry, forced updates, and changing settings with every update.

After 14 months I reloaded Windows 7 Pro from scratch and that's what will remain on this system. I tried to like it, but that just didn't happen.

I still have a T510 that was loaded with Windows 10 when I bought it from e-Bay. I don't use the system except for iTunes running into my stereo receiver so I don't fool with that computer at all. It is spec'ed out nicely, but I still do not trust Windows 10 or Microsoft with my privacy. If they want to know what I have on iTunes then that's fine.

I want complete and absolute control over my computers. Not a software company.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

chzuck
Freshman Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:16 pm
Location: ELIZABETHTOWN, PA

Re: Windows 10 Pro on a T520

#3 Post by chzuck » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:50 pm

They know anyway. If you are on the web or have a cell phone they know all no matter what you may think!
To each his own. I hated 10 at first, but after I got rid of the junk I did not like I really like it. Runs much faster than 7 ran on my desktop and laptop.
I also have two Linux programs I run off of USB sticks.

eut3n
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:56 am
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Windows 10 Pro on a T520

#4 Post by eut3n » Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:17 pm

I give it a try too a couple of weeks and I think it's good and perform well, the spy thing it's not new to me and I can disable it if I want to what I don't like on windows 10 pro is the automatic update even I disabled on the services my system gets the update even i don't want to haha that's a bit of a hassle specially when i'm in meeting or gaming it slows down.

chzuck
Freshman Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:16 pm
Location: ELIZABETHTOWN, PA

Re: Windows 10 Pro on a T520

#5 Post by chzuck » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:42 pm

I hear ya. Mine did a huge update and I could not use it for anything for a time. Fortunately I have another PC. MS should give you the option of picking the time!

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7542
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Windows 10 Pro on a T520

#6 Post by dr_st » Sun Dec 02, 2018 3:21 am

chzuck wrote:
Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:42 pm
I hear ya. Mine did a huge update and I could not use it for anything for a time. Fortunately I have another PC. MS should give you the option of picking the time!
They do give such an option (on the Pro/Enterprise versions only), but it's clumsy to configure and difficult to control.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cheeky monkey, jayton4 and 13 guests