Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T420 Display Problems

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
lawgilbert95
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:23 am
Location: Singapore

T420 Display Problems

#1 Post by lawgilbert95 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:47 am

Hi all

I need assistance urgently

Background:

I have a T420 TYPE 4236-63A, which I use exclusively in an air-con environment. I use HW MONITOR to monitor the hardware: no heat issues etc
Today, while taking a break, I put it in HIBERNATION MODE
prior to hibernating it, I did not update anything, I did not change any settings, etc. The screen resolution was 1600 x 900, prior to hibernating


upon resuming the display went completely wonky. please see photos and videos here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1hdHgr ... V2orKwrGUF
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1vl7Ex ... FYluNjRCxt
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1B98KQ ... sSzyyealI8



I checked the screen resolution, and found that it was now 1024 x 768 (which was the new maximum)

I did a hardware diagnostic check, this was the result:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1bOvyq ... gQllV624YB

I then shut down the notebook completely, removed the battery, press on the power button for at least 30 seconds. Upon restart, the same screen (and a change of colour - reddish tint) came up (notice the WIN 10 square boxes are no longer in the center of the display). Also, my usual screen background (the THINKPAD world clock) "disappeared" (note that I did not change anything):

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-by_E ... 8f9eTj8o_3

I did this several times, to no avail

From Device Manager, the graphics unit is:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1PqJsl ... Sl2J9mOZCN

This T420 has anti-virus, so I don't think this can be a virus issue.

i would be grateful for any assistance / suggestions.
Thanks all in advance.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20356
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T420 Display Problems

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:08 am

Dump W10 and either go back to W7, or switch over to Linux.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

lawgilbert95
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:23 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T420 Display Problems

#3 Post by lawgilbert95 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:06 am

@ RealBlackStuff

I'd love to, but I can't, because I need Win 10 for school work.
Thanks for your suggestion, though

Do you have any idea(s) what is wrong with it?

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T420 Display Problems

#4 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:26 am

lawgilbert95 wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:06 am
@ RealBlackStuff

I'd love to, but I can't, because I need Win 10 for school work.
Thanks for your suggestion, though

Do you have any idea(s) what is wrong with it?
I had the same problem with my T420 and the 1024x768 resolution...but my solution was to stop using the machine.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2357
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T420 Display Problems

#5 Post by axur-delmeria » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:31 am

I'm seeing some possible causes at the moment:

1. LCD cable issue (specifically wires that carry the EDID data signals). It's possible that without the EDID data, the display controller defaults to 1024x768.

2. LCD panel issue (EDID data is not sent to the system board)

3. Bad RAM-- not very likely, but I'll explain how: Intel HD graphics uses system RAM, if the RAM used by the built-in graphics goes bad, it would cause a variety of issues.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

lawgilbert95
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:23 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T420 Display Problems

#6 Post by lawgilbert95 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:47 pm

Thanks to all for your replies

so, my next question is: how do I fix it (ie IF there are solutions)?
This T420 is rather precious to me ...

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T420 Display Problems

#7 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:13 am

axur-delmeria wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:31 am
I'm seeing some possible causes at the moment:

1. LCD cable issue (specifically wires that carry the EDID data signals). It's possible that without the EDID data, the display controller defaults to 1024x768.

2. LCD panel issue (EDID data is not sent to the system board)

3. Bad RAM-- not very likely, but I'll explain how: Intel HD graphics uses system RAM, if the RAM used by the built-in graphics goes bad, it would cause a variety of issues.
These aren't the issue. Its entirely software related. I have 3 T420's and two have this issue AFAIK. One of them is practically NOS and never touched. I run 7 as a result.

@lawgilbert - why do you need W10..like specifically what won't run/required W10?
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2357
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T420 Display Problems

#8 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:01 am

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:13 am
These aren't the issue. Its entirely software related. I have 3 T420's and two have this issue AFAIK. One of them is practically NOS and never touched. I run 7 as a result.

@lawgilbert - why do you need W10..like specifically what won't run/required W10?
If that's the case, then he should try a Linux bootable USB drive and see if the issue persists. If there are no issues in Linux, then it probably comes down to Intel's graphics drivers-- the HD 3000 is not certified for Win 10, right?
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T420 Display Problems

#9 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:37 am

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:01 am
Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:13 am
These aren't the issue. Its entirely software related. I have 3 T420's and two have this issue AFAIK. One of them is practically NOS and never touched. I run 7 as a result.

@lawgilbert - why do you need W10..like specifically what won't run/required W10?
If that's the case, then he should try a Linux bootable USB drive and see if the issue persists. If there are no issues in Linux, then it probably comes down to Intel's graphics drivers-- the HD 3000 is not certified for Win 10, right?
Well I've tried 7 on a machine that exhibits the issue on 10 and it works fine through 7 so it should be fine, right?

Unlikely HD3000 support is in for W10...and a quick google sarch for "HD 3000 windows 10" brings up a lot of forums posts about problems.

Not looking too hot. Though I've tried W10 on an X230 and it works fine so if all else fails you can classic keyboard mod a T430, stick a T420 badge on there and "enjoy" W10 and your new performance upgrade!
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

lawgilbert95
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:23 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T420 Display Problems

#10 Post by lawgilbert95 » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:20 pm

@ ThinkPad4by3

I am using Win 10 because of the impending Win 7 EoL, and the better security of Win 10

Thanks to all for your responses.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20356
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T420 Display Problems

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:24 am

They told similar EOL nonsense about XP, yet today it is still supported by M$ (albeit not much longer).
https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkell ... 4c6bde70fc

I bet the same will happen with W7.

And instead of switching to that spyware W10, I'd rather change over to Linux.
(I'm currently playing with this easy one: Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon)
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

lawgilbert95
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:23 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T420 Display Problems

#12 Post by lawgilbert95 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:14 am

I am using Windows-based OS due to organization's network requirements

Geartooth
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:35 am
Location: Ponyville, Equestria / Hong Kong

Re: T420 Display Problems

#13 Post by Geartooth » Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:31 am

lawgilbert95 wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:14 am
I am using Windows-based OS due to organization's network requirements
Same issue with my T420 on Windows 10. Get Linux, those iGPUs don't play well with W10.
Your local Pony.

My Collection: X60, T60, X61, X200, X200s, X220i, T420, X130e, X330, X240, XPS 9350

Sold:E6320, X1C1

lawgilbert95
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:23 am
Location: Singapore

Re: T420 Display Problems

#14 Post by lawgilbert95 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:09 am

Thank you all for your responses, which are noted with appreciation

AndyMH
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 12:32 pm
Location: Warminster, UK

Re: T420 Display Problems

#15 Post by AndyMH » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:30 pm

I'm currently playing with this easy one: Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon
Most T series thinkpads run mint 'out of the box'. For my windows needs I run win7 in a VM (virtualbox) - fine for MS office. Also run crossover for MS office.
T430 i7-3632QM Mint 19.0 Cinnamon, T430 Mint 19.0 Cinnamon, T420 Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, T410 dual boot win7/mint 17.3, T60 Mint 19 Mate

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests