Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
t420poklop
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#1 Post by t420poklop » Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:46 pm

I have been waiting for this moment for years. Finally, I found some seller¨who offers WQHD kit for t420/t420, which allows to connect for example B140QAN01.5.
Did anybody tried it? Any flickering issues?

flynnp
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:07 pm
Location: Corvallis, OR

#2 Post by flynnp » Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:47 pm

Very late reply, but I wanted to add a note here for anyone looking. I tried the new WQHD kit sold by "e-qstore" on eBay, and was unable to get it working with my LP140QH2-SPB1. It simply displayed the backlight, but no image. The exact same screen worked perfectly with the Javi-Jie kit. If anyone can confirm that my experience was likely a fluke, I'd be willing to give the kit another shot, otherwise I'll wait to see if RMSMajestic releases anything in the future.

I will say that the seller was very helpful. We tried to get it working, but they accepted a return in the end.

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#3 Post by TPFanatic » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:32 pm

That's disappointing. I'm using a B140QAN01.1 that has worked both in a T430s with the Javi-jie kit and this T420 with the e-qstore kit.
lenovo T420 i7 2670qm 16GB QHD + eGPU GTX 960
lenovo T430s i5 3230m 16GB QHD w/ optimus(RIP), lenovo T430 i5 3320m 8GB FHD, lenovo T500 P9700 8GB WUXGA(LED) w/ switchable graphics
Enable 2 finger scroll on old Synaptics touchpads with registry.

t420poklop
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#4 Post by t420poklop » Tue Dec 17, 2019 7:52 am

flynnp:
Not good to hear it does not work. Can you please specify seller you bought the LP140QH2-SPB1 from? Was it genuine screen or it was some noname "replacement" screen?
I plan to buy WQHD mod from e-qstore and pair it with LP140QH2-SPB1 or B140QAN01.1 from some seller

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#5 Post by stefanct » Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:14 am

Hi,
I am in the same boat and might have ordered already an LP140QH2-SPB1 if it was not for this thread :/

There is another source for the converter kit on Aliexpress (B2CQSHOP): https://www.aliexpress.com/item/33010851834.html
I suspected that they are related to the ebay seller because of the watermarks and generals layout of pictures and they confirmed that.

Also, I have asked them for recommendations regarding panel sources but they "don't know who sells genuine LP140QH2-SPB1 panels".
However, since the QH2 is named explicitly as supported I assume that a genuine one would work with the converter and that flynnp got something else but it's of course still risky to try...

Edit: I have ordered one and will report back in February how it went.
Last edited by stefanct on Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

flynnp
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:07 pm
Location: Corvallis, OR

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#6 Post by flynnp » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:34 pm

Hi folks,

Purchased my screen from this listing:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/223452260511

I'd be very, very surprised if this was not a genuine panel. Although I am no expert, I was very weary of getting a fake. I confirmed with the seller that I was getting the genuine model, and not a compatible one before purchasing. I looked the screen over closely when it arrived, and especially after I got it working. I have to say, the screen looks superb. If it is a fake, it was still well worth the money. If it weren't for the Javi-Jie kit working so well, I wouldn't be so confident.

Again, it could just be bad luck on my part.

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#7 Post by stefanct » Sun Mar 01, 2020 11:15 am

I finally got my LP140QH2-SPB1 display and the converter but it does not work :( Just like in flynnp's case the backlight is controlled correctly (it can even be changed via the thinkpad's fn+f8/f9 keys) but there is no output whatsoever.

t420poklop
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#8 Post by t420poklop » Sat Mar 07, 2020 6:30 am

Can you please tell us source of yours LP140QH2-SPB1? Was it 100% genuine?

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#9 Post by stefanct » Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:42 am

From aliexpress where it is no longer available from that particular seller (Shop4685076, https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000373500151.html). I have currently no reason to doubt the genuineness of the LCD and am trying to reach out to an B2CQSHOP engineer to figure out what's wrong and how to fix it. Currently I cannot recommend anybody to try this and will report as soon as I find out more (or when I give up).

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#10 Post by abently2 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:06 am

I am currently using a genuine Lenovo LP140QH1-SPB1 with the e-qstore kit in a T430 with no problems, no flickering, very impressed.

The T430 I have doesn't include a dedicated GPU, so I had room to place the converter board there, after hacking away a little bit of the alloy frame. Also had to route the cable over the CPU heatsink which is not ideal, but the cables do come with some sort of braided wrap, so lets see how long it lasts I guess.

I've kept my old screen as a backup if something happens and I need to swap the whole setup back out.

P.S. I don't know why, but I was certain that I had ordered the 2017 panel (LP140QH2-SPB1) until I checked my eBay purchase and discovered I accidentally got the 2014 panel. I wonder if there is some compatibility issue with the newer panels.....

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#11 Post by abently2 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 4:32 am

LP140QH1 & LP140QH2 have different input 'signalling' specifications.....

https://imgur.com/quOjAnC.jpeg

https://imgur.com/HWlosmC.jpeg

FORUM warning:
picture(s) WAY too big, tags removed. Please read the Forum Rules, especially Section 5: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14339

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#12 Post by abently2 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:44 am

Lets try that again... lol

(I tried various resizing code and failed....)

This is the full page. I will send this onto China, in the hope they're will to tweak the current converter and make one specific to the 2017 screen. :santa:

https://i.imgur.com/wqn0cKd.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/ooaiOc4.jpg

They may be able to get away with just changing the code...
Last edited by abently2 on Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#13 Post by stefanct » Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:48 am

With whom are you in contact with?

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#14 Post by abently2 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 8:09 am

I've sent all the details onto the seller. That's about as much as I can do. The person who created this needs to look at it and work out if it's worth their time tweaking it to add the 2017 panel to the compatibility list.

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#15 Post by stefanct » Sun Apr 05, 2020 8:19 am

OK, because I've been trying to get in contact with the actual engineer(s) but the selling accounts are apparently not handled by himself...

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#16 Post by abently2 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 9:44 am

stefanct wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 8:19 am
OK, because I've been trying to get in contact with the actual engineer(s) but the selling accounts are apparently not handled by himself...
That makes sense.

I sent it to the Seller because they may have a financial incentive in selling more, so could pass on the info and maybe incentivise the manufacturer from there end to revise this convertor.

I've uploaded both Panels full specification datasheets here anyway, for you to forward onto whoever you get in touch with.

(Live for 30 days)

https://easyupload.io/5hihwf

https://easyupload.io/veqop0

The 2017 panel looks to be a 30% improvement, power consumption wise, which would be nice bonus on top of the better panel specs.

t420poklop
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#17 Post by t420poklop » Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:49 am

I got LP140QH2-SPB1 and I can confirm, it did NOT work with the converter board, however the sell still have that panel listed as compatible model, which is actually not true.

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#18 Post by stefanct » Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:17 am

t420poklop wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:49 am
I got LP140QH2-SPB1 and I can confirm, it did NOT work with the converter board, however the sell still have that panel listed as compatible model, which is actually not true.
Well, only partially (at least in my case): they did not update the pictures but the text now states:
Please do not use the T480 laptop's Panel, As more of them is B140QAN02.1 or LP140QH2-SPB1. The kit is not suit for them yet .
The seller has also replied to me with the exact opposite of what they said before I bought, namely that genuine LP140QH2-SPB1 do *not* work.
They also said that some QH1 are sold as QH2 and these fake LP140QH2-SPB1 actually do work.

Since the IC markings of 3 chips have been ground off I cant be sure, but I presume that at least one contains configurable logic (e.g., it's an FPGA) and that the configuration can be upgraded via the I2C bus from the laptop (similar to how some MStar LCDs can be updated). I also think that the issue is just a timing problem and with the correct parameters it should work. At this point though I am very skeptical that we will be able to do that due to the level of cooperation from the seller.

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#19 Post by abently2 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:30 am

The e-qstore kit, eBay page does state that LP140QH2 is not compatible.

The Seller replied and asked me to email the files, as they could not download from the host. So I've sent it to them. They said they would pass on the information to the Engineer.

I think they will solve it, now that they have the documentation for both panels.

Plus more people would buy the controller if it allows you to upgrade to the 2017 IPS Panel. I know I would buy again just for the better 'nits', colour balance and power consumption of the LP140QH2.

There is a minute difference in the pin configuration, LP140QH2 connector actually uses Pin 34 for H_sync - active pen touch, where as LP140QH1 Pin 34 is not connected, but I don't think that's necessary, at least not to make the screen work as a non-touch model.

stefanct
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:21 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#20 Post by stefanct » Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:10 am

abently2 wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:30 am
The e-qstore kit, eBay page does state that LP140QH2 is not compatible.
I was referring to the Aliexpress page.
abently2 wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:30 am
The Seller replied and asked me to email the files, as they could not download from the host. So I've sent it to them. They said they would pass on the information to the Engineer.

I think they will solve it, now that they have the documentation for both panels.

Plus more people would buy the controller if it allows you to upgrade to the 2017 IPS Panel. I know I would buy again just for the better 'nits', colour balance and power consumption of the LP140QH2.
Let's hope so. The question is if they will allow us to update the device though. That might not even be possible if they disabled it via some fuses or so. Even if it is technically possible I am not too hopeful since they would have to share the firmware binary and software to update it which might seem risky to them for IP reasons. I hope I am wrong.
abently2 wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:30 am
There is a minute difference in the pin configuration, LP140QH2 connector actually uses Pin 34 for H_sync - active pen touch, where as LP140QH1 Pin 34 is not connected, but I don't think that's necessary, at least not to make the screen work as a non-touch model.
That and that the pins used to communicate with the programmable VCOM controller (probably as part of the ISL97649A from the I2C address in the datasheets you provided) are different. However, I think the VCOM (V_com actually) does not need to be set by the display controller but the panel manufacturer only (cf. https://www.renesas.com/us/en/www/doc/a ... an1208.pdf). I don't have any experience with LCDs or eDP though so take that with a grain of salt.

t420poklop
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#21 Post by t420poklop » Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:29 pm

abently2 wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:30 am
The e-qstore kit, eBay page does state that LP140QH2 is not compatible.

The Seller replied and asked me to email the files, as they could not download from the host. So I've sent it to them. They said they would pass on the information to the Engineer.

I think they will solve it, now that they have the documentation for both panels.

Plus more people would buy the controller if it allows you to upgrade to the 2017 IPS Panel. I know I would buy again just for the better 'nits', colour balance and power consumption of the LP140QH2.

There is a minute difference in the pin configuration, LP140QH2 connector actually uses Pin 34 for H_sync - active pen touch, where as LP140QH1 Pin 34 is not connected, but I don't think that's necessary, at least not to make the screen work as a non-touch model.


Well, one month ago when I was buying the converter board, the LP140QH2 was listed as compatible model in e-qstore, however after I confronted them it does not work they changed it as incompatible model in their listing

abently2
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:31 am
Location: Abercynon, UK

Re: WQHD 1440p board for t420/t430 NON-S available on ebay!

#22 Post by abently2 » Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:53 am

stefanct wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:10 am
That and that the pins used to communicate with the programmable VCOM controller (probably as part of the ISL97649A from the I2C address in the datasheets you provided) are different. However, I think the VCOM (V_com actually) does not need to be set by the display controller but the panel manufacturer only (cf. https://www.renesas.com/us/en/www/doc/a ... an1208.pdf). I don't have any experience with LCDs or eDP though so take that with a grain of salt.
I noticed that also but likewise don't know enough... without having to rehash my LCD knowledge.

I think like you said, once they solve it, you will most likely need to buy again instead of a 'reflash.'

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 38 guests