Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#1 Post by finitrans » Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:47 pm

Turn down the HEAT!
I've done what I could, as far as the heat sink is concerned, though I'm getting some pretty weird ideas for a water cooled mod, which involves "turning" the back of the screen into a radiator, LOL :banana: Steampunk, visible pipes XD or take the guts out of a mini fridge freezer like this one youtube.com/watch?v=68514K4YNuA
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2630
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:01 pm

finitrans wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:47 pm
Turn down the HEAT!
I've done what I could, as far as the heat sink is concerned, though I'm getting some pretty weird ideas for a water cooled mod, which involves "turning" the back of the screen into a radiator, LOL :banana: Steampunk, visible pipes XD or take the guts out of a mini fridge freezer like this one youtube.com/watch?v=68514K4YNuA
First off the bat, which CPU do you have in your T500 and have you repasted it recently?

Secondly, for your other ideas:

Watercooling would be near impossible to fit inside but in theory and ultrabay cooler could likely work....but really wayyyyy too much work.

Flexible heat pipes really don't exist or are available right now....and getting the heat to transfer into the heatsink on the back of the screen really isn't ever going to work.

Steampunk....could work if you can fabricate a larger heatsink. (i.e more heatpipes)

Mini fridge is 1: completely importable and 2: will burn out under those kind of loads.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

w0qj
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#3 Post by w0qj » Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:55 pm

1. "Mini fridge" may cause more problems than it would solve, since *after* you turn off your computer+fridge, there would be water condensation both outside and probably inside your ThinkPad! This may obviously short out your motherboard, etc.

We also considered a home-made mini-fridge as a notebook computer cooling pad under the ThinkPad but did not proceed,
again due to this same water condensation issue.

2. We ended up using a souped-up notebook cooling pad;
we bought two of these, stuck all four (4) of its cooling fans on the bottom of the cooling pad!
It was for our X1 Extreme 1st Gen (X1E1) which runs quite warm.

www.aliexpress.com/item/32822020822.html

[Disclaimer: I'm a fellow avid ThinkPad user; I don't work for any of the organizations mentioned in above URL!]
finitrans wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:47 pm
Turn down the HEAT!
...mini fridge freezer like this one youtube.com/watch?v=68514K4YNuA
Daily Driver: X1 Extreme 1st Gen (X1E1): i7 | 16GB | 1TB | IPS
Current Thinkpads: X1E1 | X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2366
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:24 pm

It might be better to bolt on a radiator onto the back of the lid, but you have to reinforce the lid and hinges or else they'll break. :O

I've seen a few DIY watercooled laptops on the Web. They generally braze/solder copper pipe onto the copper contact plates for the CPU and GPU, extend both ends of the pipe to outside the chassis, and attach hoses to them. The challenge then is how to carry the pump+reservoir and how to power them.

IIRC Asus made a gaming laptop with a dock that contains the watercooling setup. I've only read about it in articles and haven't seen it in person.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#5 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 6:51 am

Oh You guys! You liked the idea so much you glanced over the actual question :D :lol:

The CPU is Core 2 Duo P8700 2.53Ghz, though that doesn't affect the actual question.

btw it was just off the top of my head. if I were actually going into it, I would make sure to avoid condensation, by making sure the cooling solution keeps the cool side at room temperature, or slightly below. To keep the variables down ofc, we'd have to make the heating components more predictable, or feed the modulation information into a program controlling the cooling solution, or an intermediary program feeding the information into external circuitry.
I'm visualizing this MOD could be done cleanly, even preserving the air cooling, to a degree.
...and when I said pipes, I didn't mean metal pipes. 8)

"It might be better to bolt on a radiator onto the back of the lid." - That's exactly what I meant, though it shouldn't be so massive as to require additional supports, just a large surface area and a long (thin) pipeway integrated inside the piece itself (definition of a radiator),
a very custom piece.
Though it could be made by machining, say a 1,5cm (or thinner) thick slab of Copper, of lid dimensions,
or a small diameter flattened pipe sidewinding on the back, but making sure it's not pinched.
Last edited by finitrans on Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

wujstefan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1130
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#6 Post by wujstefan » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:41 am

Try out Trixx software for voltage control, albeit from my experience those line ATI card in Thinkpads do not accept any amount of work here...
Too many thinkpads not enough time!
(stable under reduction)

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#7 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:58 am

I'll try it out... hope it works on Mobility, because Afterburner didn't.
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

wujstefan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1130
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#8 Post by wujstefan » Wed Jul 03, 2019 8:20 am

It worked fine with v5700, and this is precisely a 3650 with double the RAM.
Too many thinkpads not enough time!
(stable under reduction)

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#9 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 8:34 am

Trixx crashes after clicking on the voltage slider.
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#10 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:17 am

Actually it crashes after clicking on any of the sliders... maybe there's a common cause to this and ineffectiveness of Afterburner.


Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: TRIXX.exe
Application Version: 6.8.0.0
Application Timestamp: 5c4eb7ea
Fault Module Name: TRIXX.exe
Fault Module Version: 6.8.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 5c4eb7ea
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000071d9
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1050
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#11 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:04 pm

wujstefan wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 8:20 am
It worked fine with v5700, and this is precisely a 3650 with double the RAM.
Do you know which version was used, maybe link and example ?

In the meantime I tried ATI Tray Tools,
1. problem, unsigned driver... used this
bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON
restarted, and still got the message,
then restarted again and selected the F8 option "Disable Driver Signature Enforcements"
Reinstalled, got a BSOD when it tried to run automatically upon install.
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Fo ... rohardware


Edit:
This TRIXX 4-40b-modded version doesn't crash, but I still have to confirm if it's really setting the voltage
https://www.overclock.net/forum/70-amd- ... odded.html

Edit: GPU-Z sees the setting. https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

btw I'm also using https://thinkwiki.de/TPFanControl to overclock the FAN,

Everything in one place, for Someones convenience. :thumbs-UP:
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#12 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 4:36 pm

None of this playing around with Voltage appears to have any effect on TEMPERATURE, (using Throttlestop for CPU),
it's always around (does dip below) 70C, sometimes rises to 80C, even with no additional stress applied.

When taking out the heatskink I noticed there's copper foil under, and probably the rest of the board.
Might that have anything to do with cooling ?


viewtopic.php?p=681113#p681113
Oh and those Lid heat pipes I was mentioning earlier could be set up to work on the same principle as those already present,
therefore no control would be necessary, no additional expenditure or inefficincies :D
The flexible connection between the lid pipes and the modified heatsink could be a wide (and thin enough to remain flexible) piece of copper foil welded to the lid pipes.
Only thing to figure out is the connection to the regular heat sink, the actual mod.

Someone who has the means to make the pipes (evacuate them, manipulate copper and weld it to itself) could make this pretty easily without any modification to the chassy.
Don't take this too seriously.
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

finitrans
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Alato,HR

Re: Is there a way to undervolt ATI 3650 discrete, T500 ? HD Mobility Radeon

#13 Post by finitrans » Wed Jul 03, 2019 6:52 pm

I put an old AMD fan at full power, directly under the corner where the heat sink is located,
now it idles around 50C... it's 56C right now while I'm writing this in Firefox.
T500 , Win7 x64 :D

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests