Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

SSD for T520

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
freeagent
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Kingston, Canada

SSD for T520

#1 Post by freeagent » Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:02 am

I already have a 250GB mSATA SSD installed along with a 250GB conventional drive. I have a drive caddy that had another SSD (win10), but I moved that to my wif'es laptop.

I see SSDs advertised. Some say they are SATA, some say SATA III. Some 7mm some 9.5mm. Need to decide what to buy. 1. and 3. are in the C$85-$90 range. 2. is C$70. Can anyone explain what would be better about the WD and Samsung over the HP drives?

1. WD Blue™ 3D NAND SATA SSD, 500GB Read: 560MB/s; Write: 530MB/s (WDS500G2B0A )https://www.canadacomputers.com/product ... _id=114567
2HP S700 500GB SATA 6Gb/s Max Read: 555 MB/s, Max.Write: 490 MB/s SSD(2DP99AA#ABC) https://www.canadacomputers.com/product ... _id=108603
3.Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 500GB Read: 550MB/s; Write: 520MB/s Solid State Drive (MZ-76E500B/AM)https://www.canadacomputers.com/product ... _id=120021

What I plan to do, is install a new 500GB SSD in place of the conventional drive. I will partition it and use 1/2 for Windows 7 and half for the data presently on conventional drive. Then I will "upgrade" the WIN7 installation on mSATA to Win 10. Conventional drive will go to caddy and get used for backups. I will end up with a dual boot system. I had this before except Win10 was on the caddy. Switched boot drive from BIOS.

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: SSD for T520

#2 Post by MikalE » Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:23 am

You can use the 9,5mm SATA III drives in the T520.

I have a 500 GB SATA III drive for Win 7 Pro, and a 250 GB SATA III drive for XP64 Pro installed in the Ultrabay slot.

You can arrange the bootloader to ask you on startup which operating system you wish to use rather than having to go to BIOS each time.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

freeagent
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Kingston, Canada

Re: SSD for T520

#3 Post by freeagent » Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:01 pm

Regarding which to choose. Found this site: https://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/H ... 9vsm428560 Looks like out of those theree, samsung would win out.

Re Bootloader asking each time which drive, probably not what I want! Part of reason for SSD is fast bootup :)

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: SSD for T520

#4 Post by MikalE » Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:44 pm

I rarely reboot my systems unless I want to change operating systems. I'm more or less concerned with access/read times rather than fast booting.

I can see why going into the BIOS would be more beneficial for the way you use the computer.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

freeagent
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Kingston, Canada

Re: SSD for T520

#5 Post by freeagent » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:24 pm

MikalE wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:23 am
You can use the 9,5mm SATA III drives in the T520.

I have a 500 GB SATA III drive for Win 7 Pro,
I am about to buy a new 500GB SSD. Perhaps this one:
https://www.amazon.ca/gp/cart/view.html?ref_=nav_cart
I see in reviews that some buyers had compatibility problems. Crucial or WD or AData would be alternative choices.

What type have others found work on T520?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16729
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: SSD for T520

#6 Post by ajkula66 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:19 pm

freeagent wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:24 pm

What type have others found work on T520?
I have Sandisk Extreme Pro in mine, but good luck finding one nowadays. Killer drive.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

freeagent
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Kingston, Canada

Re: SSD for T520

#7 Post by freeagent » Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:16 am

Well, I went ahead and ordered a 500Gb Samsung 860 EVO.
I already have a 250Gb mSATA that is my Win7 boot drive. Data is currently on the 250Gb 7200rpm drive in main bay.
I plan on putting the new SSD in the main drive bay and partitioning it. It will become boot drive. I will clone Win7 and data drive over to it.
Later, convert one or other of the system drives to Win10 to provide dual booting capability. (I had that at one time)
7200rpm drive will go in caddy and be used for backup.

Does this make sense?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pixxlated and 7 guests