Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
CharlieDog
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:14 pm
Location: Bristol, Tennessee

Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#1 Post by CharlieDog » Sat Dec 07, 2019 7:49 pm

Sometimes my curiosity gets the better of me-and I love to tinker. I've already replaced the HDD with an SSD and maxed the RAM. I can't help but wonder if anyone has installed an i7, such as 620m or 640m and if so, did you notice much of a difference? Would you do it again? I should say, I'm not a gamer. I just would like me 'old' computer to be as fast and smooth as possible. I have replaced the cpu in a desktop, which I'm sure is easier than in a laptop. TIA
Larry aka CharlieDog
Bristol, TN

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8434
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#2 Post by dr_st » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:57 pm

Some T410 units came out the factory with an i7, although the i5 was definitely more common.

Replacing the CPU on these machines is certainly possible, as they are socketed, but in the case of the T410, you have to disassemble a good amount of the system to get access to the CPU. Check the T410 Hardware Maintenance Manual by clicking on the HMM link at the top of the forum.

With that said, if your has a reasonably fast i5, replacing it with i7 will not make a meaningful difference whatsoever, but the machine may run hotter.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

CharlieDog
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:14 pm
Location: Bristol, Tennessee

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#3 Post by CharlieDog » Sun Dec 08, 2019 1:19 pm

Thanks for the advice. I've looked at the HMM and am reasonably confident I could do that. The machine now has the i5-520m, and on paper it doesn't look like a big difference. In the benchmark tests posted on line however, the i7-640 is 15-20% higher rated. Guess I'll keep thinking about it.
Larry aka CharlieDog
Bristol, TN

kiterunner
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:18 am
Location: Denpasar, Bali Indonesia

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#4 Post by kiterunner » Wed Dec 11, 2019 10:57 am

im using T410 allready for several years back, originally come with i5 520M, then i change it to i7 620M, to be honest, i didnt feel the difference at all.
allready maxed out the RAM to 2X4GB, and using 180GB Intel SSD in main bay + 500GB Seagate HDD in the ultrabay. :D

muser99
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#5 Post by muser99 » Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:52 am

Yes, I upgraded from i5 to i7-640M and the system is snappier.
Daily driver since 2011: T410, i7-640M (formerly i5-520M), 8GB RAM, EVO 860, 1440x900, Windows 10.

CharlieDog
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 5:14 pm
Location: Bristol, Tennessee

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#6 Post by CharlieDog » Sat Dec 28, 2019 8:52 pm

Thanks to musser99's post, I took another look on eBay for an i7-640M. I found one for not much more than a couple of six-packs of craft beer, so I got it.

Took my time installing it today, and I can definitely notice the difference. To say it gave my old T410 new life would be an understatement.

The closest comparison I can think of would be like swapping a two-barrel carburetor for a four barrel on a four wheeler. If you think that comparison makes me an old fart-actually I resemble that remark.

Wish I had done it sooner, have had a Samsung 840 Pro SSD and maxed RAM for a few years. Too bad the MB is only SATA II. Kudos to whomever put the HMM's on the forum.

Overall, WOW!
Larry aka CharlieDog
Bristol, TN

muser99
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#7 Post by muser99 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:30 pm

Pleased to hear it went well for you too.

Here are my tips which may help others:-

The best thermal paste is Thermal Grizzly Kkryonaut. Saw 2-3C lower temps compared with MX2 or MX4 and 10-15C lower than the original aged paste (tested on i5-520M – stock this would hit 95C with Prime95)

With the i7-640M upgrade, I also tried the dual-pipe heatsink but it was slightly worse than the fatter-single-pipe heat sink by 2-5C (others say the opposite but I suggest they are mainly seeing the improvement of fresh thermal paste?). Plus, the fan on the single pipe heat sink has a more pleasant sound. When running Prime95 small FFTs on 4 threads, and combing the single-pipe heatsink with Kkryonaut paste, the CPU temp holds steady at 78C for 20-30 mins, the fan is maxed at 4600rpm and with an ambient temp of 22C. In normal use, the fan never runs at max speed unless all four threads are fully loaded for more than 6 minutes.

The SATA-2 limitation is less noticeable than benchmarks show. I use a Samsung 2.5” 860 EVO SSD with the Magician RAPID mode enabled, this gives a good uplift across the board, and especially sequential I/O, to not miss SATA-3. Also, the standard Windows 10 SATA driver works far better than any of the old Intel SATA drivers (greater throughput and less hesitations under load)! This T410 will cold boot in 18 seconds to the Windows 10 sign-in screen.

The Intel turbo boost driver is needed to achieve maximum boost, the standard Windows 10 driver does not fully boost and also shows slower graphics/FPS in tests.

Also upgraded to 8GB but not seeing the expected benefit of dual channel RAM, so anyone out there with some tips please let me know. The RAM bandwidth does not double up, why?

Have fun!
Last edited by muser99 on Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Daily driver since 2011: T410, i7-640M (formerly i5-520M), 8GB RAM, EVO 860, 1440x900, Windows 10.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2603
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#8 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Dec 30, 2019 11:28 pm

Dual-channel RAM rarely gives noticeable performance benefits. The only time I've seen it do so is graphics performance on AMD desktop APUs, where the built-in graphics is bandwidth-starved.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

muser99
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#9 Post by muser99 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:41 pm

What is puzzling me, is why the memory bandwidth for the i7-640M published on Intel Ark is 17.1GB/s but a benchmark like UserBenchmark only reaches about 10 GB/sec. Other Intel CPU's I have tested, like i7-2600 get very close to the Intel spec. Why is the i7-640M or the i5-520M not reaching the spec for memory bandwidth? Anyone know?
Daily driver since 2011: T410, i7-640M (formerly i5-520M), 8GB RAM, EVO 860, 1440x900, Windows 10.

muser99
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Anyone installed an i7 in a T410?

#10 Post by muser99 » Wed Jan 22, 2020 4:09 am

Update. CPUZ shows the memory bandwidth at 17.3GB/s which matches the Intel spec of 17.1GB/s. Problem solved.
Daily driver since 2011: T410, i7-640M (formerly i5-520M), 8GB RAM, EVO 860, 1440x900, Windows 10.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests