Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

not able to install windows in t410

T400/T410/T420 and T500/T510/T520 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
Madmadytriesfixinghislap
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 3:36 am
Location: Kalpetta, India

not able to install windows in t410

#1 Post by Madmadytriesfixinghislap » Thu Nov 30, 2023 3:46 am

Hi, I've just installed a new ssd and ram on my ThinkPad t410. When I tried to clean install a new windows nothing happens. It just shows a ThinkPad logo and reboots. Anything I'm doing wrong here?

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9665
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: not able to install windows in t410

#2 Post by dr_st » Thu Nov 30, 2023 7:09 am

Welcome to the forum. :)
Sorry to hear about your issue. SSD/RAM may be bad or incompatible in this case, given you just replaced it...

Which RAM module(s) did you install? T410 is known not to work with certain/all LP-DDR3 modules.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

Madmadytriesfixinghislap
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 3:36 am
Location: Kalpetta, India

Re: not able to install windows in t410

#3 Post by Madmadytriesfixinghislap » Thu Nov 30, 2023 7:23 am

Hi ,
I'm using 2x4 Gb, DDR3 1600mhz pc3L ram and a TEAMGROUP T-Force Vulcan Z 512gb SATA ssd. Here are both of their Amazon links -

https://amzn.eu/d/j8K5zBM

https://amzn.eu/d/ghqkAUy

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9665
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: not able to install windows in t410

#4 Post by dr_st » Thu Nov 30, 2023 7:32 am

My guess is the RAM is incompatible. T410 needs PC3, not PC3L.
https://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=128204
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

TPFanatic
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2183
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: not able to install windows in t410

#5 Post by TPFanatic » Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:28 am

Is the windows installer setup as MBR or EFI? T410 doesn't have EFI.

David C
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2022 7:49 pm
Location: Beijing, China

Re: not able to install windows in t410

#6 Post by David C » Mon Dec 11, 2023 8:45 pm

dr_st wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2023 7:32 am
My guess is the RAM is incompatible. T410 needs PC3, not PC3L.
https://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=128204
I agree with dr_st. I put new RAM and SSD on T410 recently, it works.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/T410/T420 and T500/T510/T520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests