Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
fireserphant
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Stanford, CA

T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#1 Post by fireserphant » Tue Mar 16, 2010 2:34 pm

I just called Lenovo and the representative said that the T410s with discrete graphics will never come to the US, claiming that it's something US consumers don't want. I somewhat disagree.

He said it will be released in Canada in the next 6-8 weeks.

Anyone else hear the same thing?

Darthkim
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#2 Post by Darthkim » Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:18 pm

From what i have heard, they are delayed, but not canceled.

Kirkster
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:20 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#3 Post by Kirkster » Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:14 am

Lenvo's website has changed.

If you selected "United States" from the top-level drop-down, then on the T-series page, under "Thinkpad T410s", it now says, "Super thin and light with new touch-screen capabilities available, plus the latest Intel® Core™ technology."

Contrast that with the description you get if you change your location to Canada (I bolded for emphasis):

"Thin and light like T400s and the same great features, plus faster processors and nVIDIA® switchable graphics. "

Not a very promising sign for people ordering in the U.S., but possibly good for eBay resellers located in Canada, ha ha.

t001
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 1:18 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#4 Post by t001 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 6:32 am

The horrors. I sure hope not, and that it's just a temporary delay. When I voiced my desire for discrete graphics on the T4x0s platform before T410s' announcement, plenty of people here did argue that it is not necessary on a business system such as this. However, now that it's out and does come with a switchable graphics capability, I sincerely hope that it remains as an option for the U.S.

BTW, the Canadian site shows the integrated graphics to be GMA5700MHD. Is that an upgrade from what was announced originally, i.e. GMA4xxx?

Anyone know how I can order a Canadian system from the U.S., short of driving up there? :D

sanjuro
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#5 Post by sanjuro » Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:13 pm

t001 wrote:The horrors. I sure hope not, and that it's just a temporary delay. When I voiced my desire for discrete graphics on the T4x0s platform before T410s' announcement, plenty of people here did argue that it is not necessary on a business system such as this. However, now that it's out and does come with a switchable graphics capability, I sincerely hope that it remains as an option for the U.S.

BTW, the Canadian site shows the integrated graphics to be GMA5700MHD. Is that an upgrade from what was announced originally, i.e. GMA4xxx?

Anyone know how I can order a Canadian system from the U.S., short of driving up there? :D
I've also expressed desire for discrete graphics and found some hostile responses pointing out that Intel's integrated graphics is sufficient. (I have a suspicion that some of the Thinkpadders work for Intel.) It may be so but I don't see nothing wrong with demanding higher performing graphics. If Intel gets their act together on integrated graphics, then there will be a less demand for discrete graphics.

Discrete graphics on T410s is a fine move. Hope it will eventually show up.

jm1024
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:45 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#6 Post by jm1024 » Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:34 pm

Quick update on this... the US site banner now reads

"Thin and light like T400s and the same great features, plus faster processors and nVIDIA® switchable graphics. "

None of the models have nVidia listed yet as an option though so not sure what to make of it.

artic_squirrel
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:26 pm

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#7 Post by artic_squirrel » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:06 am

it's coming up on the japan section for 10,000 JYN

Iceman
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:12 pm
Location: Niagara Region

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#8 Post by Iceman » Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:43 pm

The T410s with discrete graphics is now an upgrade option on the Canadian website:

System graphics
IT 5700MHD, i5-520M AMT
NVSG 512MB, i5-520M AMT [add $125.00]
Selecting this option may delay your shipment 3-4 weeks.

What's funny is that this only appears as an option if you select the cheapest model.

No matter though because the 'cheapest model' is configurable to add everything the 'high end' T410s has.

My order is placed.

On another note I wonder if it truly comes with 512 MB VRAM ... this is more than it's bulkier cousin comes with - the T410 only has 256MB.

Awaiting the following:
WIN7_P64 (Windows 7 Professional)
BS_NS512MB_I5_540M_AT (Discrete Graphics)
I5_540MX (Intel Core i5-540 Processor)
141WXGA+_LED (High Resolution Display)
UNAV_FPR (UltraNav and Fingerprint Reader)
INTEL_CUN_6300 (Intel Centrino Wireless N-6300)
WWAN Upgradable (WWAN Upgradable)
BT2 (Bluetooth)
6CELL_T400S (6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
2GB2GB_8500 (4 GB RAM)
RAMBO_UBS (DVD Recorder)
80GBSSD (Solid State Drive)
CM2 (Camera)
MDA_CRDR2 (Media Card Reader)
90W_AG Adapter (Power Adapter)
1YEAR_DEPOT Warranty (Warranty)
TPM Enabled
AMT On (Active Management Technology)
Iceman

Schwaby
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:56 am

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#9 Post by Schwaby » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:25 am

It's now an option for the most expensive "elite" model on the U.S. site.

noeltazz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 1:11 am
Location: pasadena/berkeley, ca

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#10 Post by noeltazz » Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:22 am

i want to order this thing, but when you tack on the discrete graphics. the option for having a expresscard disappears.

is it supposed to behave like that? you can only have one or the other?

sanjuro
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#11 Post by sanjuro » Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:06 am

noeltazz wrote:i want to order this thing, but when you tack on the discrete graphics. the option for having a expresscard disappears.

is it supposed to behave like that? you can only have one or the other?
Either it's a mistake on the webpage or the discrete graphics card is installed where the expresscard goes.

MTWIZARD
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Los Angeles California

Re: T410s Discrete Graphics Not Coming to US?

#12 Post by MTWIZARD » Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:40 am

The T410s with Discrete Graphics does not have an express card slot.


Thank you,
MTWIZARD
W510
X201t
T410s
TransNote

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests