SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

SL300/SL400/SL500, L400-L420 and L500-L520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
aPanzerIV
Freshman Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Clarksville, Tennessee

SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#1 Post by aPanzerIV » Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:19 pm

Hello all,

I've got 2 4gb ram sticks I want to put in a SL510 with a P9700. I can run either in either slot by itself and it will pass all day. If I put both in it fails test 6. This doesn't happen with 2 2gb modules, and it also doesn't occur in another laptop (Samsung R580). The error is repeatable, and causes random BSOD's in Windows.

https://i.imgur.com/FGEGIrt.jpg

Also are the boards similar enough to flash it with a T500 bios?


Admin warning: picture WAY too big! Tags removed.
Please read the Forum Rules, especially Section 5: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14339
Current: -R60 14" T-9945, R40 15" T-2897, 600 13.3" T-2645-45U-
Previous: -R40 15" T-2897, R40 P4-M 14", R50 14" T-1859, E425 T-1198-
Non-Thinkpad: HP Probook 6470B, Dell Latitude D610, Dell Dimension E520

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#2 Post by TPFanatic » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:33 pm

I would not advise flashing a T500 BIOS on the SL510 even though they're both Montevina chipsets, they are totally different laptops...

Funny the laptop doesn't like the two 4GBs together so there's something wrong with the laptops hardware or BIOS. Not sure if any SL510 has been tried with 8GB. Does 6GB work? You might have to stay at that.
Daily driver: lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
Ultraportable: IBM lenovo X60s
Home theater: lenovo T420

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

NonesensE
Freshman Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 6:28 am
Location: GF/BS/OHA, Germany

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#3 Post by NonesensE » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:31 pm

My sister's SL510 is running with 8GB for years now. I guess, it's some timing issue. Are those RAM modules a matched kit?

Edit: Or could it be a single rank / dual rank problem? I don't know whether a single 4GB single rank module would work, but at least for 2x4GB, the SL510 needs dual rank memory, AFAIK.
Nonsense, it wouldn't start if this was the issue.
Sometimes coming over from the German forum...
X62s 3rd batch, [s]T61[/s] T70 14" 4:3 1st batch

aPanzerIV
Freshman Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Clarksville, Tennessee

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#4 Post by aPanzerIV » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:25 pm

Yes, they are Mushkin Blackline PC3L-12800 9-9-9-28. I've used them for years in my Probook with no issues.

At 50hrs it now has 2 errors in test 9.
Current: -R60 14" T-9945, R40 15" T-2897, 600 13.3" T-2645-45U-
Previous: -R40 15" T-2897, R40 P4-M 14", R50 14" T-1859, E425 T-1198-
Non-Thinkpad: HP Probook 6470B, Dell Latitude D610, Dell Dimension E520

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#5 Post by thinkpadcollection » Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:54 pm

You have this problem right there. 1.35V DDR3L and more likely 8 chips per module, not compatible. This C2D notebook is much older and requires 1.5V 2Rx8 (16 chips per module). I have one of T410 working great with pair of 4GB 2Rx8 1.5V using Elpida PC3-12800 running as PC3-8300 (DDR3-1066).

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

aPanzerIV
Freshman Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Clarksville, Tennessee

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#6 Post by aPanzerIV » Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:42 pm

So these would work?
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... gnorebbr=1

4 chips per side, 1.5V
Current: -R60 14" T-9945, R40 15" T-2897, 600 13.3" T-2645-45U-
Previous: -R40 15" T-2897, R40 P4-M 14", R50 14" T-1859, E425 T-1198-
Non-Thinkpad: HP Probook 6470B, Dell Latitude D610, Dell Dimension E520

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#7 Post by thinkpadcollection » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:46 pm

Still a not correct one. Needs 16 chips per *module* for older computers C2D/C2Q, 1st gen i core and 2nd gen i core and up 3rd gen to Ivy Bridge.

What you need to find is this: On ebay: 1.5V DDR3 2Rx8, Hynix, Elpida, Micron/Crucial, FYI by then, any third party makers and Corsair, Mushkin are all out of DDR3 16 chips modules anymore just remaining DDR3L and mostly 8 chip modules (aka 1Rx8). There are number of USA sellers on ebay and you can use your credit card order via guest mode payment. Some are used, but other sellers do sell new ones too. I have done this many times before.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Hynix-8GB-2X4GB- ... SwE9RZxh2A

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Micron-8GB-2x-4 ... SwJ3VZea2F

This exact Elpida like this works great in my T410 (same issue as C2D like your SL510).

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Elpida-8GB-2X4G ... SwBT9ZqRLy

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/New-Samsung-8GB ... SwuVdZcGAs

I have been buying like these example that meets criteria of 2Rx8, DDR3 (1.5V only) for my older notebooks and they works flawlessly.
I once had to exchange 8 chips for 16 chips modules at local store based on third party brand under Corsair 4 years ago for 2x 8GB for sandy bridge notebook, still had to be 16 chip modules.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

aPanzerIV
Freshman Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:39 pm
Location: Clarksville, Tennessee

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#8 Post by aPanzerIV » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:23 pm

I see what you mean now about the modules. The blacklines have the correct number of chips then, just wrong voltage.
Current: -R60 14" T-9945, R40 15" T-2897, 600 13.3" T-2645-45U-
Previous: -R40 15" T-2897, R40 P4-M 14", R50 14" T-1859, E425 T-1198-
Non-Thinkpad: HP Probook 6470B, Dell Latitude D610, Dell Dimension E520

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: SL510 Fails Memtest86 with 8gb

#9 Post by thinkpadcollection » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:29 pm

Good, correct on wrong voltage support. Try get one from suggested brand names as I shown you via ebay. Also one more thing about business computers tend to bypass the timing as found in SPD data if using third party memory modules with "performance" timings. Any of these suggested from ebay will work properly first try due to standardized timing that business computer tend to use.

Samsung R580 is also from 1st gen era of processors based on i core with 3 digits type like i5-560m for example and still requires 1.5V, 2Rx8 (16 chips per module) and they only run any speeds of memory modules at DDR3-1066 like C2D with DDR3 would do at DDR3-1066 as well. If that works, I still do not suggest trusting that memory you have right now.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad SL and L Series until L420/L520”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests