Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

New CPU in R500?

R400/R500 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
nightninja96
Freshman Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

New CPU in R500?

#1 Post by nightninja96 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:39 am

Hello, I was wondering what cpus are compatible with the thinkpad r500? Also, will the t7700 work with it?
Last edited by nightninja96 on Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16340
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: New CPU in R500?

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:17 am

nightninja96 wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:39 am
Hello, I was walk dieting what cpus are compatible with the thinkpad r500?
Any 1066 Mhz Penryn such as T9400/9600, P8500/8700 etc.
Also, will the t7700 work with it?
No.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

Work in progress: X60T

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Screamer
Sophomore Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: New CPU in R500?

#3 Post by Screamer » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:18 pm

nightninja96 wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:39 am
Hello, I was walk dieting what cpus are compatible with the thinkpad r500? Also, will the t7700 work with it?
The T7700 and the other early Merom-derived processors will not work, unless you were to add Merom's microcodes manually into the R500's BIOS.

I believe the R500 is capable of using any 667MT/s, 800MT/s, and 1066MT/s late Merom processor and any Penryn processor available. This is what I can remember and recall:

Code: Select all

==Medium Voltage==
Core 2 Duo P7350
Core 2 Duo P7370
Core 2 Duo P7450
Core 2 Duo P7550
Core 2 Duo P7570

Core 2 Duo P8400
Core 2 Duo P8600
Core 2 Duo P8700
Core 2 Duo P8800

Core 2 Duo P9500
Core 2 Duo P9600
Core 2 Duo P9700

=Standard Voltage=
Celeron M 575
Celeron M 585
Celeron M 900
Celeron M 925
Celeron T1400
Celeron T1500
Celeron T1600
Celeron T1700
Celeron T3000
Celeron T3100
Celeron T3300
Celeron T3500

Pentium T2310
Pentium T2330
Pentium T2370
Pentium T2390
Pentium T2410
Pentium T3200
Pentium T3400
Pentium T4200
Pentium T4300
Pentium T4400
Pentium T4500

Core 2 Duo T5250
Core 2 Duo T5270
Core 2 Duo T5450
Core 2 Duo T5470
Core 2 Duo T5550
Core 2 Duo T5670
Core 2 Duo T5750
Core 2 Duo T5800
Core 2 Duo T5850
Core 2 Duo T5870
Core 2 Duo T5900

Core 2 Duo T6400
Core 2 Duo T6500
Core 2 Duo T6570
Core 2 Duo T6600
Core 2 Duo T6670
Core 2 Duo T6900
Core 2 Duo T6970

Core 2 Duo T7100
Core 2 Duo T7250
Core 2 Duo T8100
Core 2 Duo T8300
Core 2 Duo T9300
Core 2 Duo T9500

Core 2 Duo T9400
Core 2 Duo T9550
Core 2 Duo T9600
Core 2 Duo T9800
Core 2 Duo T9900

===High Voltage===
Core 2 Duo E8135
Core 2 Duo E8235
Core 2 Duo E8335
Core 2 Duo E8435
Core 2 Extreme X9000
Core 2 Extreme X9100

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16340
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: New CPU in R500?

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:47 pm

Screamer wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:18 pm

The T7700 and the other early Merom-derived processors will not work, unless you were to add Merom's microcodes manually into the R500's BIOS.

I believe the R500 is capable of using any 667MT/s, 800MT/s, and 1066MT/s late Merom processor and any Penryn processor available. This is what I can remember and recall
Ahem...there's a T7100 in that list which definitely belongs to the same generation as the T7700...I don't see that one working in an R500 any more than a T7700 would.

Let's make this easy: none of the T7*** Meroms will work IME, not on any *00 systems with a stock BIOS.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

Work in progress: X60T

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

nightninja96
Freshman Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

Re: New CPU in R500?

#5 Post by nightninja96 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:24 pm

The T7100 is currently working, that is why I'm confused, the T7700 won't work, but the T7100 will. I am using 3.15 stock Bios...

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1107
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: New CPU in R500?

#6 Post by TPFanatic » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:49 pm

I had an R500 with the T6570 2.1 ghz 800 mhz FSB. The RAM apparently ran at 400 mhz as a result instead of 533. It was a very decent processor and cool running. Felt no different than my T500 in browsing.
lenovo X230 i5 3320m IPS 8GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m FHD 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700 WUXGA 8GB


Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16340
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: New CPU in R500?

#7 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:08 pm

nightninja96 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:24 pm
The T7100 is currently working, that is why I'm confused, the T7700 won't work, but the T7100 will. I am using 3.15 stock Bios...
Then I stand corrected. Learn something new every day on this forum...
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

Work in progress: X60T

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

nightninja96
Freshman Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

Re: New CPU in R500?

#8 Post by nightninja96 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:24 pm

Yup, this place is amazing!

wujstefan
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: New CPU in R500?

#9 Post by wujstefan » Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:35 am

nightninja96 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:24 pm
The T7100 is currently working, that is why I'm confused, the T7700 won't work, but the T7100 will. I am using 3.15 stock Bios...
T7100 and T9300 should work fine.
T7300/T7500/T7700 and I think also Merom Celerons will not work.
Never tried T9500, but this makes no much sense to test apart from curiosity ;)
Dailies:
X201s - travel / garage
HP Elitebook 8770w (FHD IPS, SSD, Q4000M, 16Gb) - daily
Collectibles:
T43 (LED Flexview UXGA), Z60t, G41, R30, R50e, R61i
Under construction:
A31, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30, Z61m

Screamer
Sophomore Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: New CPU in R500?

#10 Post by Screamer » Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:20 am

ajkula66 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:47 pm
Ahem...there's a T7100 in that list which definitely belongs to the same generation as the T7700...I don't see that one working in an R500 any more than a T7700 would.

Let's make this easy: none of the T7*** Meroms will work IME, not on any *00 systems with a stock BIOS.
It does, but the core that the T7100 uses is not actually the original Merom. Instead, it is a Merom-2M or a Merom with half of its L2 cache disabled. Those usually have a CPUID signature that reads 06FD, or alternatively identified as a M0 stepping Merom. The original Merom has a CPUID signature of 06FA or 06FB and come as an E1 stepping or a G0 stepping respectively, sorry for the confusion.

The T7100 and the T7250 are the only ones from the T7xxx line-up that works in the R500, since they are both Merom-2M products and not an original Merom product.
nightninja96 wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:24 pm
The T7100 is currently working, that is why I'm confused, the T7700 won't work, but the T7100 will. I am using 3.15 stock Bios...
The R500's BIOS contains the microcodes for the T7100, that is why it works in the R500. In this case, it is 06FD, which is the microcode required to run an M0 stepping Merom. This also applies to the T7250, since they both share the same microcode and CPUID signature.

The other Merom-derived Core 2 Duo processors such as the T7300, T7500, T7700, T7800, X7800, and the X7900 will not work. This is due to the R500's BIOS lacking the proper microcodes for them, that should be 06FA (E1 stepping Merom) and 06FB (G0 stepping Merom). Any Merom that has a CPUID signature of 06FD will work in the R500, though.
wujstefan wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:35 am
T7100 and T9300 should work fine.
T7300/T7500/T7700 and I think also Merom Celerons will not work.
Never tried T9500, but this makes no much sense to test apart from curiosity ;)
The Merom-derived Celeron M processors like the Celeron M 575 and Celeron M 585, works in the R500. Though, you are right about the other Merom Celeron M processors. The Celeron M 530, 540, 550, 560, and the 570 does not work in the R500. Also, any dual-core Merom Celeron will work in the R500, since the microcode exists in the BIOS for the dual-core Merom Celerons to work.

I agree, running a 800MT/s Penryn in an R500 doesn't make any sense.

CrazyTPFan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:55 pm
Location: Winthrop, Massachusetts

Re: New CPU in R500?

#11 Post by CrazyTPFan » Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:03 pm

I would go for either a T9600/P9600 in this machine. The P9600 would be better because it produces less heat and still performance great. The T9600 is better than the P9600 performance wise but, produces a little more heat. It's all down to personal oppinion though.
ThinkPad R400 (Daily)/C2D T9550/2GB/4500MHD/256GB SSD

Collection: R61i, T60p, TR452, R31

wujstefan
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: New CPU in R500?

#12 Post by wujstefan » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:58 am

The heat difference is significant.
Dailies:
X201s - travel / garage
HP Elitebook 8770w (FHD IPS, SSD, Q4000M, 16Gb) - daily
Collectibles:
T43 (LED Flexview UXGA), Z60t, G41, R30, R50e, R61i
Under construction:
A31, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30, Z61m

Omineca
Sophomore Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:40 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: New CPU in R500?

#13 Post by Omineca » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:11 pm

I have a T9600 in my R500 and the heat hasn't been a problem. I guess YMMV.

Current: R500 | Yoga 260
Rarely Used: Satellite 2410 | 390X | X120e
Gone: Hyundai 486SX/25 | Satellite T1910 | 365XD | T40 | T42 | R400 | T430 | Latitude 5480

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R400/R500 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests