Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

R500 wireless card + Bios change

R400/R500 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ragnar
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:36 am

R500 wireless card + Bios change

#1 Post by Ragnar » Sat Mar 28, 2020 12:34 pm

I noticed the wireless was considerably slower on my r500 than it is on my t520's. I had a spare wireless card from a t520 laying around so I thought I would give it a try.
Unfortunately it wont boot . I get an unauthorized network card error. Is there a bios update or something like libre boot or core boot that can resolve this for me?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16953
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: R500 wireless card + Bios change

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:50 pm

You need a modded BIOS.

Unfortunately I don't have a link for you but someone else might.

Good luck.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

28CarsLater
Freshman Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: R500 wireless card + Bios change

#3 Post by 28CarsLater » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:41 pm

Primary: Split between a T430S and a Precision M4700.
Laying around: X300(s), R500, R60
In various states: X301(s), W701, misc T/R500s

screenshot
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:38 am
Location: EU, Helsinki

Re: R500 wireless card + Bios change

#4 Post by screenshot » Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:36 pm

so i basically have to insert the new network card into a running laptop while it's showing me the F8 windows boot options to get the new hardware id for the bios mod? is that safe at all?
but should i update the bios to the latest version anyway and then just flash it with the same version, but only the one with modded stuff in it?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R400/R500 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest