Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
terrym6
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#1 Post by terrym6 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:42 pm

I have a question that's probably more appropriate (or was already outdated) for 2011... I have a W520, and I'd like to see if it's possible to take the signal from the displayport and send it onto an older tube style tv that only has the RCA red/yellow/white inputs for audio/video. I've used a displayport to hdmi adapter to send the displayport signal to a modern tv and it worked great to watch shows streaming from online.

I now want to get some online shows at my parent's house for them to watch, but they only have an analog, circa 2002 tube tv in the house, with the standard 4:3 screen, and I guess 720x480 resolution. Has anyone ever tried connecting the displayport output to an old analog tv set? Since I know there are displayport to hdmi adapters, and there are hdmi to RCA A/V adapters out there, does anyone know what happens if you daisy-chain them together out of a Lenovo displayport? Just trying to find out before buying the adapters.

Also, will it auto-downgrade the display resolution to show correctly on the tv? And/or will it mess up the desktop icon layout on the laptop if it auto-reduces the laptop resolution at the same time?

Thanks.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19441
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:01 pm

Welcome to the Forum.

Rather than buying them possibly and most likely non-working cable-concoctions, why not spend a few dollars more and get them a more modern flatscreen TV with HDMI?
Or have them watch those program ON that W520?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1923
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#3 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:02 pm

Skip the RCA to coax and this video should help you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMiMz1uGCXI
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:01 pm
Rather than buying them possibly and most likely non-working cable-concoctions, why not spend a few dollars more and get them a more modern flatscreen TV with HDMI?
Or have them watch those program ON that W520?
I'd guess some kind of nostalgia
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

terrym6
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#4 Post by terrym6 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:38 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:01 pm
Welcome to the Forum.

Rather than buying them possibly and most likely non-working cable-concoctions, why not spend a few dollars more and get them a more modern flatscreen TV with HDMI?
Or have them watch those program ON that W520?
Thanks.

It's a logistical challenge since they have a giant '90s wood entertainment center (with the stereo cabinet, dvd player, cabinets, drawers, etc etc) that they don't want to get rid of, and that only has a square opening for a max 27" tube tv. Putting in a 16:9 flatscreen to fit the max width available would be such a tiny view area. I tried the laptop directly but it's also kind of a pain.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7494
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#5 Post by dr_st » Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:58 am

Might want to consider using the VGA output. VGA to RCA may be easier. Then again, maybe not.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

Shredder11
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:25 pm
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, England

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#6 Post by Shredder11 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:17 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:02 pm
Skip the RCA to coax and this video should help you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMiMz1uGCXI
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:01 pm
Rather than buying them possibly and most likely non-working cable-concoctions, why not spend a few dollars more and get them a more modern flatscreen TV with HDMI?
Or have them watch those program ON that W520?
I'd guess some kind of nostalgia
Despite modern software that simulates the look of a CRT with scanlines etc, I still find that the real thing is more convincing. I'm mainly referring to retro gaming software.
Z61p x3 (C2D T7600, 3GB, 500GB SSD, BCM70015, Advanced Dock x1, Mini Dock x2)
W520 (C2Q i7-2720QM, 8GB, 60GB SSD)
X61 (C2D T7500, 3GB, 250GB SSD, BCM70015)
X61s (2GB, 120GB SSD)
T43p (P M 760, 2GB, IBM Port Replicator II)
G41 (P4 3.46GHz, 2GB, 40GB)

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8468
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#7 Post by pianowizard » Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:46 pm

terrym6 wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:38 pm
they have a giant '90s wood entertainment center (with the stereo cabinet, dvd player, cabinets, drawers, etc etc) that they don't want to get rid of, and that only has a square opening for a max 27" tube tv. Putting in a 16:9 flatscreen to fit the max width available would be such a tiny view area.
I had the same problem when I moved into my current home inheriting the previous tenant's furniture. I liked the rest of the entertainment center and so I kept it, but was stuck with a tall but narrow hole originally designed for 4:3 TVs. My solution was to put the 16:9 LCD TV in front of the hole, as you can see in this photo: http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa13 ... 6prcym.jpg . To do this you may have to fabricate an extra platform.
HP Pavilion x2 12 (Core M3-6Y30, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); HP 8300 Elite tower (Core i7-3770)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Bolva 40BL00H7; Crossover 404K; Dell U2715H, U2711, D2015Hf; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

terrym6
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#8 Post by terrym6 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:58 pm

Thanks for sharing the photo of your solution. Unfortunately that won't quite work in our situation since the cabinet immediately adjacent to the tv hole has a glass door that would get blocked by a tv placed like that. Looks to work well in your case though.

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8468
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#9 Post by pianowizard » Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:05 pm

What's the width of the opening? Let me look around for HDTVs with super slim bezels, to maximize the screen size that fits.
HP Pavilion x2 12 (Core M3-6Y30, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); HP 8300 Elite tower (Core i7-3770)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Bolva 40BL00H7; Crossover 404K; Dell U2715H, U2711, D2015Hf; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

PeterNC
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:58 am
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#10 Post by PeterNC » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:45 am

Get a HMDI capable notebook. Then feed the HDMI signal through a video converter for RCA and/or S-Video.
W510, W510, W520

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7494
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#11 Post by dr_st » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:59 pm

A W520 is an HDMI-capable notebook, since it has DisplayPort++ which can output native HDMI via a passive adapter.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

PeterNC
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:58 am
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#12 Post by PeterNC » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:41 pm

There you go. That may be a nice solution. :)
W510, W510, W520

terrym6
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:27 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#13 Post by terrym6 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:22 pm

I guess by the sound of it no one has tried the exact setup I'm looking for, but I suppose I'll just give it a try and buy the 2 adapters needed for displayport=>HDMI=>RCA and see what happens. I can note the results here later for anyone's future reference.

PeterNC
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:58 am
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#14 Post by PeterNC » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:12 pm

Cool! Let us know how it works out!
W510, W510, W520

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8468
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#15 Post by pianowizard » Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:55 am

Before buying the adapters, which may not work, keep in mind that LED TVs typically consume much less power than CRT TVs: for example check this site. In the long term you would save money by getting an LED TV, versus buying the adapters and continuing to use the CRT TV. The LED TV would also double as a computer monitor. As I suggested earlier, you can maximize screen size by finding an LED TV with the smallest bezel, possibly 24"; measure the furniture before buying. While old 4:3 TV shows would of course look bigger on the CRT TV, widescreen movies and TV shows would look slightly bigger on a 24" 16:9 TV. If you can wait for about a month, you might get a 24" LED TV for dirt cheap around Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

These 24" LED TVs are under 22" wide, so they might fit:

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-2 ... Id=6164815
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/westinghou ... Id=6135357
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Philips-24-C ... /884910548
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Sceptre-24-C ... F/46867814
Last edited by pianowizard on Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
HP Pavilion x2 12 (Core M3-6Y30, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); HP 8300 Elite tower (Core i7-3770)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Bolva 40BL00H7; Crossover 404K; Dell U2715H, U2711, D2015Hf; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1923
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#16 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:51 am

pianowizard wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:55 am
Before buying the adapters, which may not work, keep in mind that LED TVs typically consume much less power than CRT TVs: for example check this site. In the long term you would save money by getting an LED TV, versus buying the adapters and continuing to use the CRT TV. The LED TV would also double as a computer monitor. As I suggested earlier, you can maximize screen size by finding an LED TV with the smallest bezel, possibly 24"; measure the furniture before buying. While old 4:3 TV shows would of course look bigger on the CRT TV, widescreen movies and TV shows would look slightly bigger on a 24" 16:9 TV. If you can wait for about a month, you might get a 24" LED TV for dirt cheap around Black Friday and Cyber Monday.
Not sure if his parents want some random 24" TV laying around, and if he trying to save electricity, well he likely wouldn't have even considered the CRT.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

jcvjcvjcvjcv
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: W520 displayport output into an old tube tv via RCA A/V input?

#17 Post by jcvjcvjcvjcv » Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:23 am

terrym6 wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 3:38 pm
Putting in a 16:9 flatscreen to fit the max width available would be such a tiny view area.
If you watch 16:9 material on a 4:3 TV the view area is just as big if you keep the width the same...

Also; I haven't really seen CRT's with bezels as slim as some new stuff...
W520
T61

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests