Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W520 locked somehow

W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

W520 locked somehow

#1 Post by deickos » Wed Apr 03, 2024 10:39 am

I am trying to buy a W520 and the seller indicates that it has some kind of lock (supervisor in bios?) and cannot boot from hard drive - anyway there is not one - but boots only from usb. Read some information about the eeprom chip and wanted to ask what are the odds in my case. The price is low enough to buy it for parts, excluding the mb, but i want to make use of the laptop.
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: W520 locked somehow

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 03, 2024 12:23 pm

If there should be a BIOS password on that W520, it's easy enough to remove.
Watch this.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#3 Post by deickos » Wed Apr 03, 2024 12:30 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2024 12:23 pm
If there should be a BIOS password on that W520, it's easy enough to remove.
Watch this.
yea i seen it - is that all or is there a worse scenario?
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

theterminator93
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States
Contact:

Re: W520 locked somehow

#4 Post by theterminator93 » Wed Apr 03, 2024 3:00 pm

Could also be an encrypted HDD that requires a password prior to booting. If it boots to USB it's probably not a BIOS or SVP.
The recovery sets guy

X13Y G3 | T480 with T25 keyboard | T25 | W520 | T601F | T420 | X220
T61p·T61·43·42p|X13 Yoga G3·220T·301·41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote
600|770Z|770|760XD|760EL|701C|755C

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#5 Post by deickos » Wed Apr 03, 2024 3:04 pm

theterminator93 wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2024 3:00 pm
Could also be an encrypted HDD that requires a password prior to booting. If it boots to USB it's probably not a BIOS or SVP.
yes it is possible -
what happens if the encrypted hdd is missing ? (the seller says there is no disk)
means you cannot use ANY disk with this mb?
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

theterminator93
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1474
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States
Contact:

Re: W520 locked somehow

#6 Post by theterminator93 » Wed Apr 03, 2024 3:08 pm

If the HDD was password protected you could get around it by swapping it out.
The recovery sets guy

X13Y G3 | T480 with T25 keyboard | T25 | W520 | T601F | T420 | X220
T61p·T61·43·42p|X13 Yoga G3·220T·301·41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote
600|770Z|770|760XD|760EL|701C|755C

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#7 Post by deickos » Wed Apr 03, 2024 3:15 pm

theterminator93 wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2024 3:08 pm
If the HDD was password protected you could get around it by swapping it out.
Seller says there is no disk included, there is a photo of the bios.
He mentions bios is locked and this laptop only booted from usb -
what do you get from all that?
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: W520 locked somehow

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 03, 2024 11:01 pm

There is a BIOS password.
All you need is that link I gave you before.
Once that is removed, go into BIOS, press F9 to set everything at Default, then press F10 to save it.
After that, you can use any HDD/SSD you want.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#9 Post by deickos » Mon Apr 15, 2024 2:15 am

just got the laptop - it is exactly as in these videos "supervisor locked"
no value can be altered in bios
i managed to boot with linux from usb and everything works ok
i will provide updates
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#10 Post by deickos » Mon Apr 15, 2024 11:15 pm

Since never used a bios locked computer before i have a question - can i put a drive and install an OS or are there any restrictions and possible problems?
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: W520 locked somehow

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:03 am

I strongly advise you to unlock that BIOS first.
Get the W520 manual from the HMM link at the top of this page.
BIOS chip location here.

But while still PW-locked, you can put a SSD in it.
Then boot from USB and install the OS from another USB-drive or CD/DVD.
When done try to boot from that SSD.
If that does not work, restart and press F12 to (hopefully) get the boot-menu and select the SSD (ATA HDD0 xxxxx) there.
If that does not work, see my advice above.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#12 Post by deickos » Tue Apr 16, 2024 7:17 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:03 am

Then boot from USB and install the OS from another USB-drive or CD/DVD.
When done try to boot from that SSD.
If that does not work, restart and press F12 to (hopefully) get the boot-menu and select the SSD (ATA HDD0 xxxxx) there.
bios is set to nvidia optimus which is something i don't need and suspect power hungry as well
f12 works - that is how i booted to voyager linux

why boot from one usb and install from another?
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: W520 locked somehow

#13 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Apr 16, 2024 8:32 am

Because normally stuff like that is not stored on the same stick...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#14 Post by deickos » Wed Apr 17, 2024 11:00 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:03 am


But while still PW-locked, you can put a SSD in it.

When done try to boot from that SSD.
If that does not work, restart and press F12 to (hopefully) get the boot-menu and select the SSD (ATA HDD0 xxxxx) there.
If that does not work, see my advice above.
why should an ssd with a new OS not work in a locked bios - is there something i should know ?
is this bios paired with a specific user's OS?
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

deickos
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:54 am
Location: athens, greece

Re: W520 locked somehow

#15 Post by deickos » Fri Apr 26, 2024 4:33 pm

Update. I had a msata ssd with an older version of ubuntu in a T420 - took it put it in a sata3 adapter and installed it as primary disk in the w520 - it boots and works ok.
T500 - T9600, 8g ram, 1680x1050
T420 - 2450M, 8g ram, 1366x768
X61t - L7500, 4g ram, 1024x768
W520 - 2760QM, 10g ram, 1920x1080

igtoth
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:32 pm
Location: Ribeirao Preto, Brazil

Re: W520 locked somehow

#16 Post by igtoth » Tue May 28, 2024 10:09 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:03 am
I strongly advise you to unlock that BIOS first.
Get the W520 manual from the HMM link at the top of this page.
BIOS chip location here.

But while still PW-locked, you can put a SSD in it.
Then boot from USB and install the OS from another USB-drive or CD/DVD.
When done try to boot from that SSD.
If that does not work, restart and press F12 to (hopefully) get the boot-menu and select the SSD (ATA HDD0 xxxxx) there.
If that does not work, see my advice above.
Would you know newer T14 gen 3 bios chip location?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests