Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
afgunst2000
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:32 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#1 Post by afgunst2000 » Sat May 02, 2015 12:44 pm

Hi

I am being plagued by the BSOD. Replaced the motherboard, no luck. Problem better at first, but after Windows updates installed everything was back to "Normal" ie foobar.

I downloaded BlueScreenView, which identified ntoskrnl.exe as the problem.

Does anyone have any idea on what to do next?

Paul Tredoux

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8674
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#2 Post by dr_st » Sat May 02, 2015 1:00 pm

The next step is finding the real problem, as ntoskrnl is a generic process, and the actual issue can be caused by just about anything.

Try selectively disabling devices such as LAN, WLAN, Bluetooth, anything connected via USB...
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

MrMaguire
Sophomore Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Location: Merry Olde England
Contact:

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#3 Post by MrMaguire » Sat May 02, 2015 1:36 pm

Have you tested the RAM?

afgunst2000
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:32 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#4 Post by afgunst2000 » Sun May 03, 2015 3:59 am

Have tested the RAM
no problem with that.

BTW shouldn't that be Master Maguire? :-)

MrMaguire
Sophomore Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Location: Merry Olde England
Contact:

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#5 Post by MrMaguire » Sun May 03, 2015 8:31 am

Well I am 21. :)

My next guess would either be your HDD/SSD or the graphics drivers.

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3019
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#6 Post by Neil » Sun May 03, 2015 9:31 am

I would look long and hard at the HDD since that has been the source of most of the BSOD I've experienced with any type of computer, whether portable or not.
Collection = T430 - T500 - R400 - X300 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - R61 (15" SXGA+) - T60 - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P

u666sa
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:40 am
Location: Sochi, Russia

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#7 Post by u666sa » Sun May 03, 2015 10:36 am

NTOS is almost always a currupt file system, why you replaced the motherboard is boyond my understanding. You need to either fully format your HDD or replace it.

afgunst2000
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:32 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#8 Post by afgunst2000 » Mon May 04, 2015 4:56 am

I replaced the motherboard on the advice of the local "experts"

I guess the SSD which I have might be the cause.

have not had the problem for at least one day, so will pray, and pray, and pray

Then, change hard drives.

Thanks

u666sa
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:40 am
Location: Sochi, Russia

Re: BSOD caused by ntoskrnl.exe - How do I fix this?

#9 Post by u666sa » Mon May 04, 2015 12:56 pm

Run chkdsk /r /f

SSD can go bad, mine died suddenly. I had mSATA it worked fine for 3 years. They just don't last long and die. Do check disk.

I have repair business in Russia, notebooks, computers, phones, tablets, tvs, etc. I tell you that for that BSOD replacing motherboard is stupid! Hard drives at the culprits, I think your SSD.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests