Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W700 with Nvidia 3700M

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

W700 with Nvidia 3700M

#1 Post by taichi » Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:25 am

A question about the W700 with the Nvidia 3700M.

Does the screen operate at full brightness when in battery mode?

Medessec
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Chico, California
Contact:

Re: W700 with Nvidia 3700M

#2 Post by Medessec » Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:01 pm

That should be a Windows configurable setting. In Windows 7, go to the Battery/Power icon in the bottom right on the taskbar, and then go to "More power options". There, you can configure your power settings and preferences, including what brightness you want the screen to be at whether you're on battery on on the charger.

I'm not sure if Lenovo's Thinkvantage software or Thinkpad Experience changes any of this. From what I recall, this procedure should still work.
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16732
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: W700 with Nvidia 3700M

#3 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:28 pm

There *should* also be a setting in BIOS for these purposes, although I don't have a W700 to verify...
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: W700 with Nvidia 3700M

#4 Post by FryPpy » Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:10 pm

ajkula66 wrote:There *should* also be a setting in BIOS for these purposes, although I don't have a W700 to verify...
I think that 61 was the last generation with this setting. My X200, T400, W500, W700 haven't this setting in their BIOSes. May be some past BIOS versions have this option but i can't check.
taichi wrote:Does the screen operate at full brightness when in battery mode?
Yes. I can't see maximum brightness change when unplugging and plugging in power brick. But mine is only 2700M if it matters.

I can't imagine test sequence to find malfunction in your W700 but there are some hints.
Initially mine have WXGA+ screen with single CCFL lamp. I have changed LCD (WUXGA) AND inverter board and all works fine - so there is no differences in mainboard and LCD cable for 1xCCFL and 2xCCFL screens. I haven any special signals for switching 1xCCFL <=> 2xCCFL in mainboard schematics for W700.
I don't know is it possible to operate single CCFL on 2xCCFLS inverter board, but you can TRY connecting only one CCFL and see if both CCFLs light on separately. Also you can try to connect one (good) CCFL to different sockets on inverter board to check that both sockets are working.

BE WARNED - INVERER CAN PRODUCE HIGH VOLTAGE - SO ANY CONNECTION MUST BE DONE ON UNPOWERED THINKPAD!!!!!!!!! DON'T TOUCH INVERTER WHEN THINKPAD IS POWERED.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests