Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

3 W510 4318-CTO questions

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#1 Post by Eto » Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:00 am

I recently purchased a W510 4138-CTO Thinkpad. It was bought missing a few components, battery, power supply and ram memory.

1) I tried to use a T510 power supply, but I get a logon BIOS message stating a stronger (higher wattage) power supply is required, and this W510 will operate at reduced performance until the higher wattage power supply is connected! Just what was the OEM power supply wattage rated at?
Ebay shows 3 wattages for a W510, 90 watts which I have already and BIOS says its incorrect, then a 135 watt power supply and then a 170 watt power supply? Which is correct for this machine?

2) I only had two spare ram modules of the PC3 type, a 4gb PC3 10600 and a 4gb PC3L 12800. I tried using both simultaneously, one module PC3 in top slot under the keyboard, and the other one a PC3L type ram in the underneath slot behind ram panel. I Googled to see if PC3 type ram can be used together with the PC3L and the replies I got were no problem, even though the PC3L was a 1.35 vdc module.
But yet the PC3L either used in conjunction with the PC3 or alone, would cause the W510 to lock up at the "Starting Windows" screen! So are they NOT compatible?

Is there a speed problem with this W510 and the PC3L at 12800?
Is having the wrong power supply limiting speed/voltage to the PC3L module causing the lock up ?
I want to buy new ram for this W510, what type /speed /amount can I (should I) get?

3) Speaking of new ram, what is the maximum for this machine? I'm getting 3 different answers! But first is how many slots this machine has! I'm told four, but I've been inside and there are only TWO. So one MEMORY vendor says i can only put 8gb of MAX ram (2 x 4gb modules), another says 16 gb MAX (2 8gb modules), and yet another says 32gb MAX (2 x 16gb modules) !!! Anyone know which is correct?

Thank you for your time!

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#2 Post by thinkpadcollection » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:57 am

Ideally, 2 matched pairs yet BEST 100% reliable is four matched modules, DDR3 only. Can use DDR3-1600 too but will run at 1333 on this quad core CPU. Important to use 2Rx8 (16 chips per module).

Ebay will help you with getting OEM memory, does not have to be thinkpad OEM, any memory modules with stickers that is a true logos of Hynix, Samsung, Micron, Crucial or Elpida. Do not rely on chips markings alone. Search string: "MIcron 2x4GB DDR3-1600" or 1333, some of sellers sells in pairs at a time if they have more than qty of 1 for pairs, buy these in qty of two pairs to get matched pairs of two will net you 4 matched set.

Unfortunately, DDR3 manufacturing has creased for awhile so price will be expensive, just pay this anyway. Even Crucial website (operated by Micron) no longer carries new DDR3.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#3 Post by Eto » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:21 am

ok thanks thinkpadcollection, that answers question 2, how about questions 1 and 3?

thanks again

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#4 Post by thinkpadcollection » Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:58 am

If this notebook says not enough wattage, that means need to have 170W if you have a quad core with 4 memory slots notebook, to be sure there are 2 checks to check:

Just turn over your W510 then open your memory cover with a #1 philips screwdriver and take a look, if you have two memory slots, that means there's 2 more under the keyboard for total of 4. If only 1 slot, that means this one is 2 slot verison.
If you know you have a 4 slot memory W510, test it with known working pair of DDR3-1333 (PC3-10600) 16 chips 8GB modules borrowed from another notebook computer.

Second check to determine what kind of processor you have currently, at turn on, press F1 when THINKPAD logo is displayed and when grey screen with lines of texts; look at CPU type. Other way is start up the computer normally then download CPU ID called cpu-z, this is only few megs to download, just a 5 seconds download and install it. Then start CPU-Z up. Look at the Processor, Name; for example mine is T410 and CPU-Z says
Intel Core i7-620M which means dual core which all i3-, i5-, i7-xxxM.

For your W510, if yours is quad core, it should be either i7-xxxQM or i7-xxxXM (both QM and XM stands for quad, QM is 45W while XM is 55W with bit more higher frequency).
For bit more faster performance, better off to obtain a W530 instead or T530. Other wise buy a i7-640M this will be dual core and run at 3.2GHz with 2 cores enabled. Otherwise a 170 dollars
i7-940XM will run at 2.4GHz with all 4 cores working. Core i7-840QM runs at 1.86GHz with 133 MHz extra turbo with 4 working cores is 2GHz. Not fair.

Next, do not expect wild performance from a Westmere microarchitecture (1st generation) processors, in fact Core 2 Duo E8600 3.33GHz and mobile T9900 will keep in pace with i7-640M no problem and everything else no difference in features, *only* difference is better GPU in minor ways. Just keep in mind Westmere microarchitecture (1st generation) quad core processors loses badly is trying to keep TDP watts within reason is for way down clocking at 45W or 55W with all 4 cores. This is the reason to go to ivy bridge T530 or W530 to get USB 3.0 and SATA III speed plus both can take Core i7-3840QM running at 3.6GHz with all 4 cores running.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#5 Post by Eto » Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:58 am

thank you once more, I have CPU-ID and it reports CPU as an Intel i7 CPU M620 @ 2.67ghz.

One more thing, can i use 2 pc3 10600 8gb modules in this machine for 16gb total?

ty eto

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#6 Post by thinkpadcollection » Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:55 pm

Unfortunately no. Turn over your W510 over and open this memory cover and see how many memory slots do you have? Two or one?

In fact last night because could not sleep so tried 2x 8GB (16GB) memory in my T410 and will not boot at windows splash. For i7-620M (dual core), is 8GB (DDR3-1333 2Rx8 which is 16 chips per modules, 2x 4GB).

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#7 Post by Eto » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:41 pm

OK for some reason I got a "Got to have 16gb(32gb) of ram" bug up my . . .!

I need then either the i7 xxxQM or xxxXM CPU and obviously the motherboard with 4 ram slots as well correct?

is the W510 frame/case/housing I have now going to accept a different "i7 QM-XM" motherboard with 4 ram slots? If so how do I determine which motherboard is correct? If the newer/replacement motherboard is advertised with the i7 QM-XM CPU, correct again?

As in the italicized parentheses above, will that/those CPU/motherboard combos allow 32gb of ram by either 4 x 8gb ram modules or 2 x 16gb ram modules?

Hope I'm not being a PITA!

Thanks eto

P.S. I've also read that those quad core CPU's, QM and XM, run quite hot . . . fact or fiction if you know?

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#8 Post by thinkpadcollection » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:32 am

Cheaper to just get T530 so you can get 16GB. Better battery performance and bit newer discrete GPU and if you want quad, you can change from dual core to quad on T530 later on.

Motherboard is simply swapped in the W510. All parts came from ebay of choice:
Quad processors are expensive and poor investment unless this is your hobby. Core i7-840QM 45W 1.86GHz, 2GHz on all 4 cores costs US $62.14. Core i7-920XM 55W at 2GHz, 2.266GHz with all 4 cores running costs US $77.70. W510 motherboard with 4 memory slots costs: between US $75.99 (from china) and there's one from Britain costs 164.05 US. Heatsink should be same across both 45W and 55W.
Also genuine 170W power supply also from ebay: "Genuine OEM Lenovo ThinkPad W520 W530 170W 20V 8.5A Power Supply 45N0113 0A36227" costs US $52.88.

Tallied up: almost $300 USD, shipping fees excluded and no faster than a low end newer celeron or pentium dual core in raw processing power due to quad's really low GHz. A T530 falls between 300 to 400 with discrete GPU and works on both 90W and 135W adapters and can run 3.6GHz or so with dual core or quad core processors.

To give you idea of the size of power adapters 170W, 135W and 90W in that order in this google image.
https://www.google.com/search?client=fi ... Z58r-0RAM:

The question on 2 or 4 memory is not answered and FIRST thing to know to need to know what motherboard it has before doing anything else also wait till this answered before asking anything else ; get a small philips screw driver and turn over your notebook, open the memory cover and take a look and compare this to this link has a image of 4 slot W510: We like to know too:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-P ... a-p/249257

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#9 Post by thinkpadcollection » Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:41 pm

One more thing, reason I am obsessed with pricing out on getting very old system fully upgrade vs newer generations of upgraded and get your best bang for the money comes from my very limited income and I had to make best of it, if everything else in parts really cheap and working system is reasonable to obtain and know it can keep up with today's or hobby play, whichever comes first.
Last year was HP Z220 project rebuild and rocking on this nice Ivy bridge 4.0Ghz Xeon 4 core still. But plan to save up for Ryzen 2700X system this year thanks to used i5 and i7 newer than Haswell processors are too expensive.

Recently I priced out fixing the Haswell computer by swapping out poorly done mATX motherboard for better one and bump to i5 or i7 (i7 wins on performance vs price compared to i5) but I still can buy a AMD Ryzen 7 2700X down the road for about 450 plus x470 motherboard and bunch of DDR4 vs paying 400+ CDN plus for USED Haswell i7-4790K processor !? (4.2GHz 4 cores) Not to mention about buying used high end Z97 over 200-400 CDN (whew!) currently on ebay. This to replace i3-4160 dual core and H81 motherboard, 16GB DDR3. Reason for this; SATA ports is not running well due to slow bootup plus PWM on chassis fan connector is not enabled no matter what setting is at in bios screen. So I'm leaving it alone for now. Plan to replace it with Ryzen as well with 650W Seasonic PSU instead.

Now what is going on with used Intel stuff not in line with age should make price fall? The Win 10 will drop support older than Skylake soon.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#10 Post by Eto » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:29 am


thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#11 Post by thinkpadcollection » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:35 pm

Best reviewer website I got to daily for anything:

www.anandtech.com


review of ryzen 2 series.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/12625/am ... 2600x-2600

And for other notebooks reviews I like to go there but keep in mind they often review computers with 1 memory module (not dual channel mode) that does impact the performance. Please remind them to review with 2 memory modules installed for real world performance.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Le ... 594.0.html

Thinkpadcollection

Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#12 Post by Eto » Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:38 am

grasshopper says thanks for the thinkpad cpu/ram education

If you and crux are ever in philly, cheesteaks are on me at Jims Steaks on south st!

http://www.jimssouthstreet.com

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#13 Post by thinkpadcollection » Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:38 am

Hehehe, I'm having subway tonite. Thanks. :)

Let us know how you do with your W510.

Cheers, thinpadcollection

Eto
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:52 pm
Location: vineland, nj

Re: 3 W510 4318-CTO questions

#14 Post by Eto » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:30 am

Will do, Jim's invite is always open!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests