Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
rphfouc33
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:07 pm
Location: Markham, Canada

What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

#1 Post by rphfouc33 » Wed Sep 25, 2019 9:41 pm

So I got my w500 up and running with with an upgrade to 8gb of ram from 2gb (or 3?) stock.
Do i need to change any system or bios settings to take full advantage of the ram upgrade. Do I keep all my cache settings the same? It already runs a whole lot faster but I'm pretty daft about page file thingamajigs.
thanks in advance

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20791
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:41 pm

If you run 32-bit Windows, you are still limited to ~3GB RAM.
You need a 64-bit version to use the full 8GB.
In that case you need to replace the OS completely.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

rphfouc33
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:07 pm
Location: Markham, Canada

Re: What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

#3 Post by rphfouc33 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:56 am

i have a fresh win 7 64 bit install and the 2 sticks of 4gb ram show up for 8GB

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20791
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Sep 26, 2019 4:11 am

In that case you are good to go.
Make sure you have decent thermal paste and a clean fan.
If temps are too hot, consider programs Throttlestop or ThinkpadFan.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

rphfouc33
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:07 pm
Location: Markham, Canada

Re: What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

#5 Post by rphfouc33 » Sun Sep 29, 2019 8:27 am

thanks, cpu-z has it running cool but do I need to change the page file or cache settings or something after doing the 8gb upgrade to take full advantage or do I just leave it on default?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20791
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: What settings do I change after w500 8gb ram upgrade

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:00 pm

Windoze will automatically increase the pagefile to IIRC ~2GB, no worries there.
No other changes required.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests