Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W510 complains about power supply wattage

W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
tpribors
Sophomore Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:44 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

W510 complains about power supply wattage

#1 Post by tpribors » Sun Dec 08, 2019 2:07 pm

Well, i just posted that I was looking for a replacement for my T540p that was a convenience upgrade. Well, my W510 that I use for photo and DVD work has started misbehaving.

This machine has worked for years, what maybe close to 10 now? It's been a brick.

Suddenly last week when I booted the BIOS screen complained that the power supply didn't meet minimum wattage. This machine uses the straight barrell 20V 135W power supply. Like I said, it's worked for a long time. I twisted things and it came back. Now today it's permanent.

runs very slowly and the display is barely visible. The system sometimes works for short periods of time. It blinks in at full power display and then goes out a few seconds later.

I know that the W510 won't run with a 90w supply - I tried that years ago when I was sharing the desk spot with a T60. And the power supply on my W520 uses a keyed connector since it's the 170w supply. However, the 135w supply did in the past work on the 520.


I don't know if it's the power supply or if the power detection logic on the mother board has gone bad.

Is there a way in either Windows or the BIOS to determine the wattage of the power supply that is connected? I don't know if it's the detection logic on the mother board or the supply that's bad. If not in the normal thinkpad utilities is there some other "thinkpad savvy" utility that can show the info?

Cheers
Tony
Last edited by tpribors on Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21421
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: W510 complains about power supply wattage

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:52 am

I would check the middle pin of the barrel-plug and the DC-in itself.
Might have gone wonky.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
Covid-19: Mask it or casket.

tpribors
Sophomore Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:44 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: W510 complains about power supply wattage

#3 Post by tpribors » Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:47 am

I did check it, the thing does supply DC so it's probably the sensing/configuration resistor. It was just sitting there - nothing moved for months...

I ordered a clone from Amazon. Free return so if it doesn't work I'm not out anything.

BillP
Sophomore Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: Woodstock, NY

Re: W510 complains about power supply wattage

#4 Post by BillP » Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:25 pm

tpribors wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:47 am
I did check it, the thing does supply DC so it's probably the sensing/configuration resistor.
Did you measure the resistance from the sense pin to ground? I don't have a 135W power supply but my 170W supply measures 1900 Ohms from the sense pin to ground.
ThinkPad T60 1951-43U (with many upgrades)

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2655
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: W510 complains about power supply wattage

#5 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:38 pm

BillP wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:25 pm
tpribors wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:47 am
I did check it, the thing does supply DC so it's probably the sensing/configuration resistor.
Did you measure the resistance from the sense pin to ground? I don't have a 135W power supply but my 170W supply measures 1900 Ohms from the sense pin to ground.
According to Thinkwiki http://thinkwiki.org/wiki/Power_Connector#Signal_Pin, the resistance between the center signal pin and ground is zero ohms for the 135 watt charger.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

tpribors
Sophomore Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:44 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: W510 complains about power supply wattage

#6 Post by tpribors » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:15 am

Just to follow up. I bought a new charger and that fixed it. Back on the air!

Now the HDD on the W520 bought the farm too. I don't use either that much but because they have Firewire/1394 interface for my scanner I need to keep them alive.

Saw an X1 at Costco. Very nice machine.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests