Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W700 with two displays?

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
megalosaurus
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: USA

W700 with two displays?

#1 Post by megalosaurus » Thu Dec 04, 2008 4:58 pm

If you go to the Lenovo site and select W700 17" widescreen for Professionals, one of the options listed is:

17" WUXGA 400NIT TFT+10.6"WXGA+ TFT [add $500.00] [New]
Selecting this option may delay your shipment more than 4 weeks.

I can't find anything that explains what this is. Although it shows as costing $500, clicking the radio button for it adds $9270 to the total purchase price. At $171.88 per square inch, that second display had better do something really spectacular.

Wilhelm
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:18 pm
Location: ULM, GERMANY

#2 Post by Wilhelm » Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:52 pm


basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

#3 Post by basketb » Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:09 pm

There had been rumors regarding this several months ago (way before the W700 were officially announced). There were actually (what I presumed to be fake) pictures around but right now I can't find any of those anymore.

JaneL
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5014
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:40 am
Location: Greenville SC

#4 Post by JaneL » Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:21 pm

basketb wrote:There were actually (what I presumed to be fake) pictures around but right now I can't find any of those anymore.
There's a link to a pic here -> http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=327778
Jane
2015 X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X300, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad Air 2, iPhone 5S, IdeaTab A2107A, Yoga 3 Pro
Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Facebook group
I'm on Twitter

I do NOT respond to PM or e-mail requests for personal tech support.

megalosaurus
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: USA

#5 Post by megalosaurus » Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:20 pm

It's gone from the website now. It looks like someone goofed.

3D_GuRu
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

#6 Post by 3D_GuRu » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:19 am

The side screen looks crazy!!! :roll: The IBM site also says that the new W700 coming out at the beginning of next year will get the option of 4Gig stick Ram (so you can finally get an 8 Gig directly from Lenovo) and the compatibility of using Turbo Memory + Raid. No word on a 2 side button pen for the Wacom tablet...

basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

#7 Post by basketb » Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:01 am

For the T400 they are actually already offering a single 4GB stick. However, right now you can't configure it with two 4GB sticks (though, I saw that option a few days ago).

QFoam
Sophomore Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

#8 Post by QFoam » Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:14 am

I was really disappointed that Lenovo removed the new W700 from their web site because, if you look closely at the German photo:

http://www.thinkpad-forum.de/thinkpad-h ... anschauen/

there's clearly a coffee pot that folds out from the left side of the display.

Thus the only thing missing is a new technology from NASA that converts urine to drinking water. With that, you could work and drink coffee non-stop for hours on end, with no need to get up to go to the bathroom or refill the coffee pot!
:beer:


"I like to call it a coffee machine... It will take yesterday's coffee and turn it into today's coffee."
- astronaut Don Pettit
W700 T9600 @2.8GHz Vista64
8GBram 2GBTurbo 160GB+320GB @7.2k
17" 1920x1200 QuadroFX 3700M/1GB
Blu-ray Ultrabay
ThinkPad W700 Resources Page

cayman
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:17 am
Location: Beijing, China

#9 Post by cayman » Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:09 pm

from what I saw, this type of W700 with dual display, they named it: W700ds

I think I might change my original order schedule :)
X300; X60t
T61p T43p T24p
X24 R32

tinkererguy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Location: Connecticut

#10 Post by tinkererguy » Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:39 pm

According to this Dec 2nd Lenovo Asia Pacific Hardware Announcement:
http://www-01.ibm.com/common/ssi/cgi-bi ... SAG08-0919

In the pdf it links to, the W700ds in many countries (besides United States), see page 7:
http://www-01.ibm.com/common/ssi/rep_ca ... 8-0919.PDF
2757CTO Lenovo W700 with 17"1920x1200, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M
C: UltraBay Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Windows 7 x64 SP1
D: ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GBx2 Software RAID0
http://tinkertry.com/thinkpadw520saga

QFoam
Sophomore Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

#11 Post by QFoam » Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:34 pm

tinkererguy wrote:In the pdf it links to, the W700ds in many countries (besides United States), see page 7:
http://www-01.ibm.com/common/ssi/rep_ca ... 8-0919.PDF
Sure enough. If, for example, you go to Lenovo's Australian site:

http://www.lenovo.com/au/en/index.html

the secondary display option is available on the W700 configuration page:

Display type
17" WXGA+ TFT [subtract AUD$295.90]
17" WUXGA TFT
17" WUXGA + 10.6" WXGA+ TFT [add AUD$583.00]
Selecting this option may delay your shipment more than 4 weeks.

I suppose it might be handy for displaying floating palettes in Photoshop, for instance.

They also list two quad-core processor options on the configuration page:

Intel Core 2 Quad Core processor Q9100 (2.26GHz 1066MHz 12MBL2) [add AUD$687.43]
Intel Core 2 Quad Core Extreme processor QX9300 (2.53GHz 1066MHz 12MBL2) [add AUD$722.63]

and 4GB Turbo Memory:

Intel Turbo Memory hard drive cache
None
Intel Turbo Memory 1.6, 2GB [add AUD$110.00]
Intel Turbo Memory 1.7, 4GB [add AUD$211.20]

Note that they're apparently using version 1.7 of the Turbo Memory driver for the 4GB Turbo Memory card, vs. version 1.6 for the 2GB card.
W700 T9600 @2.8GHz Vista64
8GBram 2GBTurbo 160GB+320GB @7.2k
17" 1920x1200 QuadroFX 3700M/1GB
Blu-ray Ultrabay
ThinkPad W700 Resources Page

tinkererguy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Location: Connecticut

#12 Post by tinkererguy » Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:18 am

So QFoam, the question on the mind of those who already have W700s, how difficult is the surgery to add one of these new display assemblies after manufacture (looking at Hardware Maintenance Manual, doesn't appear too bad), and would it be remotely affordable.

Calibrating the second display for color temperature would be a real trick I'd think, as it even uses a different type of backlight source (LED). But yeah, I think the idea is great, I use multiple desktops when at home, and always miss them when working from hotel rooms. Now we know what all that excessive display thickness was really about, pretty amazing.
2757CTO Lenovo W700 with 17"1920x1200, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M
C: UltraBay Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Windows 7 x64 SP1
D: ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GBx2 Software RAID0
http://tinkertry.com/thinkpadw520saga

tinkererguy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Location: Connecticut

#13 Post by tinkererguy » Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:46 am

I wonder if the 4GB turbo card and the Lenovo provided driver will allow pinning of applications (T61p and its turbo a year ago clearly don't).
http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/ ... /index.htm

Getting tough to find Intel Mini-PCI 4GB turbo cards aftermarket for some reason, about $85 USD, but they do work fine in T61p I've heard without BIOS hack or anything, so would probably also work in W700:
http://www.google.com/products?q=NVCPEM ... h+Products
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Intel-Turbo-Mem ... dZViewItem

For those with SSD drives the benefits would be marginal or non-existent (guessing here). Note also that Turbo Memory is now compatible with ICH9M RAID mode of W700, see summary of changes section for Turbo Memory driver here:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-67820

Here's a cut and paste:
Version 1.7.0.1029-8.6.0.1007
(New) Support for RAID mode.
(New) Support for 4GB card.
Last edited by tinkererguy on Thu Jan 01, 2009 10:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
2757CTO Lenovo W700 with 17"1920x1200, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M
C: UltraBay Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Windows 7 x64 SP1
D: ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GBx2 Software RAID0
http://tinkertry.com/thinkpadw520saga

Wilhelm
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:18 pm
Location: ULM, GERMANY

#14 Post by Wilhelm » Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:11 pm

Does anyone know why LENOVO don´t (yet) offer SSDs for any RAID configuration?

sethstorm
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 6:36 am
Location: Dayton, OH, USA

#15 Post by sethstorm » Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:32 am

Great. Display mediocrity - multiplied.

At least the A31p had Flexview and dual media bays. While it was big, it was quite expandable.

So this is what we get for them not acquiring a manufacturer of AFFS/S-IPS panels.
Lenovo W540 20BG
Lenovo W520 4270-CTO
Lenovo/IBM T60p 2007-BA1
Sold: (way too many)

tinkererguy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Location: Connecticut

#16 Post by tinkererguy » Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:33 am

More confirmation (and pricing estimates) here:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/155860/l ... k=rss_news
2757CTO Lenovo W700 with 17"1920x1200, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M
C: UltraBay Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Windows 7 x64 SP1
D: ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GBx2 Software RAID0
http://tinkertry.com/thinkpadw520saga

beGi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:41 am
Location: Pag; Croatia

#17 Post by beGi » Sun Dec 21, 2008 3:44 pm

Few more pics here, various angles and both displays are on... The Beast...

bluewale
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 6:31 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

#18 Post by bluewale » Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:13 pm

Although I won't buy a W700. I love to see Lenovo trying new things.
Thinkpad X40; Thinkpad T43; Thinkpad X60T; Thinkpad X301

mattbiernat
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1626
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

#19 Post by mattbiernat » Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:22 pm

why not just make 19" display?

3D_GuRu
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:33 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

#20 Post by 3D_GuRu » Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:33 pm

Totally agree with mattbiernat. There's enough space between the screen and the edge to have a 19" screen on the W700.

Also I should say that even tough I do not use the W700 for just Photoshop (mostly 3D stuff), the screen itself is pretty average and with the brightness at max, there's a terrible halo at the bottom of the screen (and not just in my machine, other people have the same issue). Making the brightness lower, resolves the issue but it's impossible to see a thing at those brightness values.

Anyone trying to use the W700 as a pro photographer as Lenovo tries to market this laptop to, should be away from it!

comptiger5000
Sophomore Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Stamford, CT

#21 Post by comptiger5000 » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:23 am

Looking at those pics, the W700 screen (primary at least, secondary looks a little better) is worse than my W500 screen (which isn't bad for a TN laptop, and has pretty good color with tweaking).
Thinkpad W500 4058-CTO
T9600 (2.8ghz), 4gb, 320gb 5400rpm, WUXGA, 9 Cell, Server 2008 x64

underclocker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4020
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Wash., D.C.

#22 Post by underclocker » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:51 pm

This thing needs triple displays!

Pop one out on each side of the 17" LCD - why not!

Now that would be nice. What's another pound?
T510, i7-620m, NVidia, HD+, 8GB, 512GB Intel 545s SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Home
T400s, C2D SP9400, Intel 4500MHD, WXGA+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X18-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Travel
Edge 14 i5-540m, Intel HD Graphics, HD, 8GB, 180GB Intel Pro 1500 SSD, Webcam, BT, red cover Music

comptiger5000
Sophomore Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Stamford, CT

#23 Post by comptiger5000 » Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:05 pm

I agree. They could probably lighten the whole thing a bit. The old T30s were big and thick, but had very little weight for their size. Weighs less than my W500.
Thinkpad W500 4058-CTO
T9600 (2.8ghz), 4gb, 320gb 5400rpm, WUXGA, 9 Cell, Server 2008 x64

beGi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:41 am
Location: Pag; Croatia

#24 Post by beGi » Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:17 am

W700ds review, powerful and expensive, just as expected...

arlab
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:14 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re:

#25 Post by arlab » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:41 pm

beGi wrote:W700ds review, powerful and expensive, just as expected...
First time I see the blue digipen wallpaper.
Anyone wants to share it. :)
T61p T7800 2.6 GHz, Vista Ultimate x64, 15.4 WUXGA, NVIDIA Quadro FX 570M (256MB), 4 GB SDRAM, 200GB 7200rpm, Intel Turbo Memory 1GB, Intel 4965AGN, Bluetooth.

Rich.Carpenter
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 1:06 pm
Location: Fishers, IN

Re:

#26 Post by Rich.Carpenter » Sun Jan 11, 2009 2:45 pm

mattbiernat wrote:why not just make 19" display?
A 19" display wouldn't provide any more screen real estate than the 17" (WUXGA+ is WUXGA+, whether it's on a 17" or 27" display, after all). As a software developer who is forced to use two monitors to get that much-needed extra desktop space, this is definitely and awesome feature, and I am thrilled to see it.
Current notebook: T500....ThinkPads owned in the past: A20m | 570E | 600E

comptiger5000
Sophomore Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Stamford, CT

Re: W700 with two displays?

#27 Post by comptiger5000 » Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:57 pm

Well, maybe for the truly crazy, they could do a 19" at 2560x1600 (WQXGA)...
Thinkpad W500 4058-CTO
T9600 (2.8ghz), 4gb, 320gb 5400rpm, WUXGA, 9 Cell, Server 2008 x64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests