your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

W500/510/520 and W700/710 series specific matters only

W520 QM67 STEEPING

B2
5
100%
B3
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 5

Message
Author
davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#31 Post by davidhbrown » Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:30 am

re Apple stuff... let's stay on-topic here, guys!
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

MikeM
Freshman Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:51 am
Location: California, USA

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#32 Post by MikeM » Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:37 am

davidhbrown wrote:re Apple stuff... let's stay on-topic here, guys!
but, please note, that I mentioned B3 stepping subliminally in each and every Apple post. :roll:
2011 MacBook Pro 17" non-glare 2820QM 8GB 256GB SSD
T61P - 6459CTO - T9300 - 15.4 WUXGA ++ E6600 desktop, HP dv6000, P4 desktop w/ RAMBUS
Previous: P3 desktop, P1 desktop, 386-40Mhz desktop, 386-20 Mhz desktop, 10Mhz TURBO XT clone, Commodore Amiga 1000, 128, 64, VIC-20

kimocal
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:39 pm
Location: Cool, CA, USA

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#33 Post by kimocal » Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:06 pm

I also have the Rev04 (B2 stepping) reported when I run the CMD request on my w520. :(

I can get over the non-quad display support & the no future RAID (currently) if not ordered when built, but this is not forgivable. I want to use a mSata for the boot drive but not if the SATA controller is going to die sooner than later :evil:
w520

MikeM
Freshman Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:51 am
Location: California, USA

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#34 Post by MikeM » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:03 pm

kimocal wrote:I also have the Rev04 (B2 stepping) reported when I run the CMD request on my w520. :(

I can get over the non-quad display support & the no future RAID (currently) if not ordered when built, but this is not forgivable. I want to use a mSata for the boot drive but not if the SATA controller is going to die sooner than later :evil:
This is one reason my W520 went back. Another was the raid issue. A third was the lack of a modem that I thought was listed in the tabook. The main reason was how I was treated when I called regarding the stepping. My warm and fuzzy W520 feeling got quenched pretty much. So I went and got a different warm and fuzzy feeling that has no giant holes in it.
2011 MacBook Pro 17" non-glare 2820QM 8GB 256GB SSD
T61P - 6459CTO - T9300 - 15.4 WUXGA ++ E6600 desktop, HP dv6000, P4 desktop w/ RAMBUS
Previous: P3 desktop, P1 desktop, 386-40Mhz desktop, 386-20 Mhz desktop, 10Mhz TURBO XT clone, Commodore Amiga 1000, 128, 64, VIC-20

Volker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#35 Post by Volker » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:44 am

There is no B3 stepping issue. Lenovo has explained that they use CRID. Intel has contacted various publications that suggested looking at the PCI ids and told them that this is not reliable due to CRID. Its exactly the same with other manufacturers that enable CRID. End of story.

About RAID and modem, you get what you order. If either is important to you then you should ask your customer service rep before ordering. You just got the cheapest option and then hoped that those were included, and then act surprised that they werent. RAID on a laptop and analog modem (remember the time when phones were attached to a cord coming out of the wall?) are niche products. Lenovo is doing 99% of their customers a favor by not having them pay for stuff they don't need.

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#36 Post by jdrou » Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:48 pm

Volker wrote: Lenovo is doing 99% of their customers a favor by not having them pay for stuff they don't need.
The issue is that enabling RAID should be a trivial matter since it is built into the chipset whether you order RAID or not and AFAIK even without RAID the modular bay can control a 2nd drive. People just don't want to pay Lenovo's outrageous price for a 2nd hard drive (which appears to be about $120 plus the cost of the optical drive for a 2nd 320 GB). (In fairness, I think Dell is even worse when it comes to disk and memory upgrade costs.) Modem I can certainly understand since it's an extra hardware piece that needs to be installed.
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (2720QM/2000M/FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ/GF730GT/FHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700
Daily driver: Dell XPS 13 w/Kaby Lake+Iris Pro+TB3

Volker
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#37 Post by Volker » Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:32 pm

jdrou wrote:The issue is that enabling RAID should be a trivial matter since it is built into the chipset whether you order RAID or not and AFAIK even without RAID the modular bay can control a 2nd drive.
Not true. Intel sells two different chipsets. Its the same chip but with different firmware. The chipset with RAID firmware costs Lenovo more than the chipset without RAID firmware enabled. If anybody, you should blame Intel for charging extra to unlock functionality that the hardware supports.

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#38 Post by jdrou » Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:08 pm

Then Lenovo should charge you an extra $20 or whatever for the RAID-enabled motherboard instead of forcing you to buy a 2nd drive from them as well as stating in the RAID option screen that it can't be added later if you don't select it.
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (2720QM/2000M/FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ/GF730GT/FHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700
Daily driver: Dell XPS 13 w/Kaby Lake+Iris Pro+TB3

davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

Re: your W520's QM67 stepping is B2 or B3

#39 Post by davidhbrown » Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:38 pm

Back on topic, Mark_Lenovo has posted information on how to use Intel's Management Engine Firmware tool to reveal the true PCH revision without having to disassemble your computer.

Mine indicates Rev 5 (B3). Lenovo continues to maintain "all production ThinkPads shipped with B3 level chips."

Still, it was good that it was brought up as a concern. I guess this extended compatibility BIOS trick was never an issue until Intel made its little transistor oopsie.
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/510/520 and W7x0 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests