Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#1 Post by udvranto » Thu May 12, 2011 8:40 am

I ordered 4GB one DIMM ram with my laptop:
45M4572 VBB 4GBPC3-10600DDR3 1333SODMM

Now I need three slices more to make it 16GB. The question is which ones are good or most compatible ones? What's the difference between the 10600 DDR3 vs 10666 DDR3? Can I mix 10666 with 10600?

Also, there seems to be no difference between the 4GB x 2 vs 4GB x 1 options for the memory, but the prices differ! Am I missing something?

The available options are:

Crucial 4GB x 1
Crucial 4GB x 2

GSkill 4GB x 1
GSkill 4GB x 2

Transcend 4GB x 1

udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#2 Post by udvranto » Thu May 12, 2011 9:44 am

From: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/27458 ... difference
Today's DDR3-1333 has a peak bandwidth of 10666 MHz, which can be improperly rounded down and called PC3-10600, rounded up to be called PC3-10700 or stated without rounding as PC3-10666 depending on the manufacturer's desires.

davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#3 Post by davidhbrown » Fri May 13, 2011 8:01 am

The other thing to check on the RAM is its CAS latency. Lower is better -- fewer clock cycles before the requested data is available. I would expect that your overall speed will be limited by the slowest, though I don't have a reference for that nor have I tested it myself.

The latency numbers for both the RAM I got from Lenovo and the G.SKILL I ordered aftermarket are 9-9-9-24. There are slightly faster modules available.

Unfortunately, I couldn't find the CAS info in Lenovo's PC Doctor, but you can get it from the "Lite" (free) version of SiSoftware Sandra... hardware tab, mainboard; scroll down past "Computer Memory Controller" to "Logical/Chipset Memory Banks" where there's more info. Hmm... including the fact that the modules are actually running at 9-9-9-25. Well, we're moving past what I really know or care about...
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#4 Post by udvranto » Fri May 13, 2011 1:18 pm

After David noted the CAS latency, I found these memorys: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820208562
Note how they mentioned programmable CAS latency. I wonder what they are! Any idea?

udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#5 Post by udvranto » Fri May 13, 2011 1:43 pm

I think I will buy Kingstone, considering their reputation. I will buy a dual channel kit from here and another one from here, totaling 16GB including the 4GB I ordered with the laptop.

Does anyone anticipate any compatibility problem? What kind of memory does the laptop ship with? Also does the laptop support DDR3 1600? Am I better off buying these instead?

davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#6 Post by davidhbrown » Fri May 13, 2011 9:35 pm

udvranto wrote:... programmable CAS latency. I wonder what they are! Any idea?
My guess would be it's something for overclockers/tweakers with those ultra-configurable mainboards that let you adjust the voltage and timing of every little thing to see whether you can get a few more frames per second on the latest game. If so, the fairly tame Lenovo UEFI/BIOS isn't going to be able to take advantage.
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#7 Post by udvranto » Sun May 15, 2011 4:23 pm

From the tabbook: "DDR3 memory controller (up to 1333MHz)". So 1600MHz memory modules would not be compatible.

udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#8 Post by udvranto » Sat May 21, 2011 4:29 pm

I found out that my system came with Samsung 4GB memory installed. I installed G-skill 4gb unit with same CAS latency and speed. All units are working great as dual channel.

volodyan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 12:15 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#9 Post by volodyan » Mon May 23, 2011 12:07 am

Wrong. Even a 1866mhz module (without XMP) would work on a quad core 2720QM+ at correct frequency. Though I could not see anyone showing any advantage for 2720QM, even in synthetic benchmark, of faster RAM.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo- ... ost7426881
udvranto wrote:From the tabbook: "DDR3 memory controller (up to 1333MHz)". So 1600MHz memory modules would not be compatible.

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 670
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#10 Post by jdrou » Mon May 23, 2011 5:51 pm

udvranto wrote:From the tabbook: "DDR3 memory controller (up to 1333MHz)". So 1600MHz memory modules would not be compatible.
Read further. Dual-cores support 1333, quad-cores support 1600.
"Intel Core i7-2820QM processor (quad-core, 2.30GHz, 8MB Cache),
DDR3 memory controller (up to 1600MHz),"
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (FHD), T440p (FHD),
T480 (QHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700, 7730, XPS 13
Daily driver: MS Surface Pro 7 (i7)

udvranto
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Bethel Park, PA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#11 Post by udvranto » Tue May 24, 2011 8:56 am

I got it. Thanks!

davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

PC1600 RAM

#12 Post by davidhbrown » Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:13 am

Hesitating to add to an older thread, but I thought I'd chime in that I just picked up two sets of "Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 HyperX Plug n Play Laptop Memory Model KHX1600C9S3P1K2/8G" for my W520 (i7 2820QM CPU).

SiSoft Sandra confirms that the memory is running at 1.6GHz instead of ~1.3GHz; aggregate memory performance has ticked up from 15.9GB/s to 18.7GB/s and the Memory Operations per Second component of the Windows Experience Index from 7.6 to 7.8 (current max is 7.9).

So it does work, but you're probably still better off saving up for a big SSD.

System's only been up for an hour with this RAM, but it seems fine so far.
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

Brad
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 1898
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:41 am
Location: Long Island New York

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#13 Post by Brad » Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:27 am

Thanks for the information.

How is the seat of the pants feeling with the faster memory?

Brad
Long Island New York
T43p 2669-Q1U, A22p's UTU A21p HXU
Transnote, 770's 8AU, 600, 701CS, 755CD

davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#14 Post by davidhbrown » Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:01 pm

Well, honestly if I had put my wallet in my pocket this morning when walking over to my "home office" (spare bedroom), the seat of my pants would probably have felt a little silly at spending ~US$180 for a fresh 16GB of RAM instead of just ~$70 for another 8GB that matched the RAM I already had in there.

But without the wallet advising the seat of my pants, I can't claim to be doing anything interesting enough today to really notice. Closest would be editing and encoding some MP3 files of recorded interviews. Audacity has been pretty well too fast to time since I switched to the W520. (I mostly use just the noise reduction filter and a dynamic compressor script). The audio files I'm working with are usually around 200MB so they fit easily in RAM. Lame (mp3 encoder) seems to do it's thing with a rather small RAM buffer... only about 1600kB private memory, so it must be churning the same block as it reads from disk. I encode 16-bit, 44.1kHz mono WAV files down to 16-bit, 64kbps MP3 and 16-bit, 16kbps MP3 (with a 4kHz lowpass filter). I don't recall exactly what the play:encoding time ration was before... the 18x and 69x I got today seem maybe a little good, but not remarkably better. It's always been highly dependent on what else is going on anyway.

What we need to find is some program that's crazy enough to try to transcode a DVD in RAM or something like that to give the memory a good workout ;-)
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

antelope
Freshman Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#15 Post by antelope » Tue Sep 13, 2011 3:16 am

I just ordered a W520 with only 4Gb of RAM but I plan on immediately adding 2x4Gb for a total of 12Gb (for now, although all I really need for now is 8 Gb). Main purpose of new unit is learning Revit otherwise I would happily plug along on my T60p since I am watching my wallet.
CPU ordered is the i7-2720QM (quadcore) and 2000M GPU.
Per tabook, RAM is PC3-10600 1333 MHz DDR3, non-parity, dual channel capable.

So if I add a pair of memory sticks to the existing stick:
1) Is there any issue with mixing 1333 MHz and 1600 MHz RAM?
2) Is it worth bothering to mix or should I just match?
3) Brand preferences or non-preferences? (sorry - very general question for W5xx forum, but while I'm on the topic . . . ).

Per NewEgg, 2x4Gb: at 1333MHz is around $45-50 for almost any manufacturer; 1600MHz is ~$55; and 1600MHz Kingston HyperX is about $90. Interestingly (maybe only to me), the Samsung 1600MHz runs at 1.35V whereas everything else is 1.5V; it is also $109 and not being added to my cart.

(DavidHBrown - What are you doing with your extra 2 sticks of 1333? If they are wearing a hole in the seat of your pants I could take them off your butt!)
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"

antelope
Freshman Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#16 Post by antelope » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:20 am

antelope wrote: So if I add a pair of memory sticks to the existing stick:
1) Is there any issue with mixing 1333 MHz and 1600 MHz RAM?
2) Is it worth bothering to mix or should I just match?
I decided to leave this in the post to show my ignorance (I guess I could have edited that light-weight expletive though) but from what I've now read at Toms Hardware it is NOT a good idea to mix MHz on RAM. Sounds like having three sticks should be fine though - i.e. not pairs.

What brand of RAM is shipping in the W520? Should I worry about matching it? If the answer is yes and Samsung maybe I just need to buy all new RAM. That is on the expensive side.

(DavidHBrown - My inquiry is still valid).
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"

davidhbrown
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Kingston, RI

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#17 Post by davidhbrown » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:35 am

I believe the disadvantage of mixing speeds of RAM is that the system will use the slowest speed for everything and so you're not getting a benefit from the faster RAM.

I would suggest taking advantage of the dual-channel capability of the system and using pairs, not 2+1 or 1+0. If you feel like getting the faster RAM now, it will run at the speed of the factory RAM -- mine was/is Samsung, BTW. But if you then start doing something like weather simulations where you really need the speed boost and lots of RAM, you have to replace only the factory RAM. I had to Google Revit... they do recommend 16GB for "large/complex models."

Lenovo's BIOS does not allow explicit control of voltages. Selecting RAM based on voltage is beyond my experience.
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20

antelope
Freshman Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#18 Post by antelope » Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:37 pm

davidhbrown wrote: I would suggest taking advantage of the dual-channel capability of the system and using pairs, not 2+1 or 1+0.
If it was 2+1 instead of 2+0 wouldn't 2+1 still be faster? (assuming all at 1333 for this comparison)
davidhbrown wrote: I had to Google Revit... they do recommend 16GB for "large/complex models."
Thanks for taking the time to look Revit up. What I've been told in Revit forums (for others, Revit is a form of CAD/3D modeling - or BIM, building information modelling) is that 8Gb should be fine for what I'm doing - houses, smaller projects and the like. If one gets into large/complex models and a lot of rendering then the W520 maxed-out is probably under-powered and one needs to get a desktop. I feel like I need the portability of a laptop though.

I was thinking I would initially put in a pair of 4Gb for 12Gb total, then when 8Gb sticks come down in price put two of them into the place where the original one stick and open slot are. I guess I could either downscale and put one 4Gb in, or upscale and put 4x4Gb in. ~$30 compared to ~$100 (assuming non-Hyper RAM).
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 670
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#19 Post by jdrou » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:07 pm

antelope wrote: If it was 2+1 instead of 2+0 wouldn't 2+1 still be faster? (assuming all at 1333 for this comparison)
2+1 would be "faster" only in the sense that it is more memory meaning less disk swapping when you actually need lots of memory but slower if your activity didn't use virtual memory even with the smaller amount. If you had 4 GB + 4 GB + 8 GB then 8 GB + 8 GB would be faster. (These examples assume all the memory sticks have the same speed ratings; usually the highest-density modules have slower timings which might affect the balance.)
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (FHD), T440p (FHD),
T480 (QHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700, 7730, XPS 13
Daily driver: MS Surface Pro 7 (i7)

antelope
Freshman Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:29 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#20 Post by antelope » Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:36 pm

Can anyone verify what the specific RAM was that shipped with their W520? My understanding is it is Samsung. I'm wondering if it matches this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820147068
(SAMSUNG 4GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Laptop Memory Model MV-3T4G4/US - $35 at NewEgg).

It costs half again as about every other brand but for $12 more it seems worth matching the memory as closely as possible, at least for a pair. I just want to make sure this is what ships in the W520. I haven't received mine yet but will need at 8GB pronto - only 4GB shipped with unit.

Any advantage to matching a second pair to this too? Seems like the safe thing to do and the price is about the same as buying a fresh 4x4GB DIMM. However, if went with the latter I could go to 1600MHz . . . decisions . . . .
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2720QM 16GB@1600MHz 500GB@7200 Quadro 2000M, Win7 64
T60p 2623-8YU 14.1" SXGA+ || T42 2379 DXU 15" SXGA+
"The best things in life aren't things"

Raubhautz
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:57 pm
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Contact:

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#21 Post by Raubhautz » Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:28 pm

Hello all-

Just had to respond to this post as I noticed WAY too many folks offering suspect information.

First, when adding/replacing memory, always refer to the manufacturer's website or documentation to determine:
a) Current memory mfr;
b) Current memory type:
1) DDR/DDR2/DDR3 (etc. depending on the age of your equipment).
2) Latency, if listed s/b shown as CLx where x= a number, usually somewhere between 3 and 9 (lower latencies are faster).
3) Speed of the memory chips, normally 50, 60, or 70 (and sometimes 80).

Now, things to consider:
a) ALWAYS use the same speed, DDR type, and latency within the same equipment. If you opt for faster/slower chips, you will:
1) At best get performance of the lowest (slowest) chips.
2) Risk errors and hangs of your device - Yes, it MIGHT work flawlessly, but why would you ever risk such a thing when, with proper planning, you can have a proper build?
b) When utilizing DDR2/DDR3 memory, be sure to fill 2 banks at a time to take advantage of your synchronous capabilities, again, mixed combinations will lose performance for the DDR feature.

Basically, plan your upgrade, and don't try to be a cheapskate on your system! When you consider the time that you might/can lose trying to fix or reconfigure it, you saved a lot more money by just buying good, name brand, memory in the first place.

Best luck to all.
Raubhautz...

"If you're gonna shoot, shoot, don't talk."

*****
W520 4270-CTO 15.6"HD+ i7-2960XM 32GB@1600MHz 512GB SSD 750 Hybrid Quadro 2000M, Win7 64

peteron30
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#22 Post by peteron30 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:51 pm

Just installed 16 GB HyperX PnP on my W520, BIOS version 1.36.
Works perfectly at 1600MHz, as advertised.

WA2SI
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:09 am
Location: Port Jefferson, NY

Re: Re: Good / Most Compatible Ram for W520

#23 Post by WA2SI » Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:34 pm

peteron30 wrote:Just installed 16 GB HyperX PnP on my W520, BIOS version 1.36.
Works perfectly at 1600MHz, as advertised.
Just make sure you do NOT update your BIOS to 1.37! It will limit your RAM at 1333 MHz. Enjoy.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad W500/W510/W520 and W700/W701 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests