Page 1 of 1

Site slowdown 3-Jan-2021 @ 1110-1125PST (1910-1925GMT)

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 2:37 pm
by rkawakami
Just experienced an extreme slowdown of the site. Actions were taking several minutes to complete. My other internet connections were fine. Speedtest.net reported 81Mbps down and 6Mbps up; normal for my connection. Online "down detectors" reported the forum as being offline but that was probably due to them timing out after 5-10 seconds of not getting any response. Only unusual thing was that just before the slowdown, page loads were taking about 6 seconds. Site's "Who is online" reported 6 registered users, 3 hidden and 534 guests. Everything appears to be fine now.

Re: Site slowdown 3-Jan-2021 @ 1110-1125PST (1910-1925GMT)

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 1:37 am
by RealBlackStuff
I have experienced such slowdowns several times lately, usually in the morning around 7:00am GMT (2:00am EST), but also around 1:00pm GMT (8:00am EST).
Don't think that latter one is the Forum-backup, it must be the server having stomach-problems, or rather the US Eastcoast going online.