Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

G40/G41 higher res LCD?

R30/R40, A30/A31, G40/G50 and Z60/Z61 Series. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
solidpro
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:46 am
Location: Milton Keynes, GB

G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#1 Post by solidpro » Sat Dec 04, 2021 4:55 pm

Hi

It seems the LCDs in the G4x thinkpads are a weakness. I've had 2/3 with faulty LCDs - although luckily replacements are plentiful.

I looked at

https://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/TFT_display

And I noticed that several screens were native 1400x1050 (11P8312 11P8298). I bought one to try and whilst it works, it's totally wrong display (everything is zoomed into the IBM logo on boot).

So I wondered, is this something wrong in the matrix on that page or was there a specific model which supported higher resolution? Come to think of it, I think I tested it on a G40, whereas the G41 I have has an upgraded graphics card in it. I wonder if that would work, or maybe a different ribbon cable is required?

One last thing - if anyone has ever broken up a G40/41 and has a spare monitor ribbon, I'd like to buy it as one of mine is damaged.

Thanks

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17247
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA/Belgrade, Serbia

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Sat Dec 04, 2021 7:03 pm

solidpro wrote:
Sat Dec 04, 2021 4:55 pm
I wonder if that would work, or maybe a different ribbon cable is required?
You answered your own question.

On pre-*60 series ThinkPads, a proper LCD cable matching the screen resolution is a must.

Happy hunting.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

One FlexView to rule them all: A31p

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2215
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Dec 05, 2021 1:32 pm

Well I have done some cable moddings for T4x, R5x 14.1" and 15" to accept all sorts of different resolutions. It's moving a bunch of hard wired jumpers around.
Since you are unlikely to find anyone else doing such mods, maybe you should look at that thread and take some inspiration from there, and maybe ask for pictures of the wiring on a SXGA+ cable.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

wujstefan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1309
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#4 Post by wujstefan » Tue Jan 11, 2022 1:47 pm

I need to dig a bit deeper in my memory...

G51 definitely did not need a different ribbon cable for UXGA.
G41 - AFAIR - did not need a different ribbon cable for SXGA+, but I think I couldn't make UXGA to work.
G40... can't remember at all. It's sporting XGA in my garage ;)
Too many thinkpads not enough time!
(stable under reduction)

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#5 Post by FryPpy » Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:19 pm

HMM (on top of this web page) is your friend. For G40/G41 there are some cables for XGA and some cables for SXGA+ (91P6797, 91P6822, 91P6866).
wujstefan wrote:
Tue Jan 11, 2022 1:47 pm
G51 definitely did not need a different ribbon cable for UXGA.
G51 - what is this?

I have'nt modded any G40/G41. But i have made mod for G50 - transplanted cable from SXGA+ G40 but used inverter board from G50 and IPS panel from T60. And it looks great. One bad thing - G50 can't take Core2Duo (Merom) CPU, only Core Duo (Banis, T2xxx) works. The main idea was to transplant HSF from G40 with top notch P4 (3GHz) and place it on top of T7600G (with unlocked multiplier) with heatspreader from P4 and... overclock it.
But it needs BIOS mod(
Last edited by FryPpy on Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17247
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA/Belgrade, Serbia

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#6 Post by ajkula66 » Tue Jan 11, 2022 8:05 pm

wujstefan wrote:
Tue Jan 11, 2022 1:47 pm

G51 definitely did not need a different ribbon cable for UXGA.
But that's a newer generation board - just like T60 wouldn't need a different cable - and wasn't that a G50 ? I don't recall a G51, but I may be mistaken... :D
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

One FlexView to rule them all: A31p

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#7 Post by FryPpy » Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:45 pm

And some more info.
ajkula66 wrote:
Tue Jan 11, 2022 8:05 pm
But that's a newer generation board - just like T60 wouldn't need a different cable - and wasn't that a G50 ?
Yes newer ThinkPads like T60 use EDID to distinguish different LCDs (and LCD resolution) and do not need different cables with jumper coded resolution (how it was on older ThinkPads like T40).

BUT G40/41/50 (and R40) use LCD cables, which consist from many individual wires. In XGA version it have no wires for second LVDS channel. On a single LVDS channel it is impossible to get UXGA (1600x1200) resolution. And all SXGA+ LCDs that i know use 2 LVDS channels.

PS (teaser)
May be in near future i'll post some photos with SXGA+ (IPS) modded oldies (and some other stuff;)

unixed
Sophomore Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:41 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#8 Post by unixed » Thu Jan 13, 2022 3:13 pm

FryPpy wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:45 pm
And all SXGA+ LCDs that i know use 2 LVDS channels.
There's this single LVDS channel SXGA+ flexview:
BOE HYDIS HV121P01-100
which is fortunate for us X61 fans. It does require a modified X61 BIOS though.

wujstefan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1309
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#9 Post by wujstefan » Sat Jan 22, 2022 12:08 pm

ajkula66 wrote:
Tue Jan 11, 2022 8:05 pm
But that's a newer generation board - just like T60 wouldn't need a different cable - and wasn't that a G50 ? I don't recall a G51, but I may be mistaken...
This is correct, my typo :D
FryPpy wrote:
Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:19 pm
I have'nt modded any G40/G41. But i have made mod for G50 - transplanted cable from SXGA+ G40 but used inverter board from G50 and IPS panel from T60. And it looks great. One bad thing - G50 can't take Core2Duo (Merom) CPU, only Core Duo (Banis, T2xxx) works. The main idea was to transplant HSF from G40 with top notch P4 (3GHz) and place it on top of T7600G (with unlocked multiplier) with heatspreader from P4 and... overclock it.
Yipe, this is unfortunate, yet no more punching power is needed for this baby IMO.
Too many thinkpads not enough time!
(stable under reduction)

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2215
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#10 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat Jan 22, 2022 2:46 pm

FryPpy wrote:
Tue Jan 11, 2022 3:19 pm
One bad thing - G50 can't take Core2Duo (Merom) CPU, only Core Duo (Banis, T2xxx) works. The main idea was to transplant HSF from G40 with top notch P4 (3GHz) and place it on top of T7600G (with unlocked multiplier) with heatspreader from P4 and... overclock it.
I think you meant Yonah, not Banias (1st gen Pentium M)
And is it not possible to modify the BIOS to get Merom working? I thought that's all that's needed for this generation
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Saucey
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 953
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:22 pm
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#11 Post by Saucey » Sat Jan 22, 2022 3:59 pm

It has been awhile, but I tried to upgrade a G41 SXGA+ nvidia to a A31 SXGA+ screen (or maybe it was a T42p) and the cable did not reach far enough for the screen.
Coffee, ThinkPads & Nikon Fan.

Current: PixelBook & Precision 7730
Old Favorites: A31p, T43p, 2521, 755, T60

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2215
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: G40/G41 higher res LCD?

#12 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat Jan 22, 2022 9:19 pm

Saucey wrote:
Sat Jan 22, 2022 3:59 pm
It has been awhile, but I tried to upgrade a G41 SXGA+ nvidia to a A31 SXGA+ screen (or maybe it was a T42p) and the cable did not reach far enough for the screen.
The A30/A31's 15" screens have their connectors further down compared to a T42p/T43p. So it's likely a G41 won't reach the screen connector for a T4x/T6x panel, but it should work fine with A3x 15" panels.
I am curious though if someone would have the capability of making an extension cable for those 30 pin CCFL LVDS connectors.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests