Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
lojo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:40 am
Location: Sheffield, United Kingdom

R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#1 Post by lojo » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:41 pm

I have an R61 8943-DMG 15" (some say a rare European model). Motherboard FRU: 42W7822, CPU is T7500.

I know it's been discussed before on this forum and everywhere on the net I've read that these models don't support Penryns even with Middleton's FW.
However according to this post by Peak2Peak this may still be possible. At least he managed to upgrade an R61i with a Penryn which has the same motherboard like mine.

For obvious reasons I'd like to avoid bricking my laptop so was wondering if anyone else has tried his procedure with success?
Last edited by lojo on Tue Nov 18, 2014 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21537
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:05 pm

I have built dozens of Frankenpads, many with Merom motherboards (like yours), that were first updated with Middleton's BIOS and then received a Penryn CPU.
On some I even went as high as the Intel X9000 CPU.
Not a single problem ever.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

lojo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:40 am
Location: Sheffield, United Kingdom

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#3 Post by lojo » Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:36 am

It sounds promising. I'll try to fit in a Penryn and will let you know how I get on.
Fingers crossed.

Peak2Peak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:52 am
Location: UK

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#4 Post by Peak2Peak » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:14 pm

Did you fit a Penryn to your 8943-DMG motherboard? - AFAIK by default these R61 894x MB's only supported Merom CPU's (T7100, T7300, T7500 & T7700 etc) and the excellent Middleton BIOS (1.24-1.00) for these particular R61's did not change anything with regards to Penryn support.
T60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [Another T60 FrankenPad!...Different approach]
R60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [ThinkPad R60 15.0" FrankenPad]

lojo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:40 am
Location: Sheffield, United Kingdom

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#5 Post by lojo » Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:39 pm

Yes I've just tried it and I can confirm that the R61 with 8943-DMG motherboard _does not_ support Penryn CPUs even with Middleton's bios. The CPU I've tried is a T9500.

So the question is where do I go from here?

Can you explain again how you made your R61i work with Penryns? That laptop is very similar to my R61. It has the same motherboard (FRU:42W7822) and it's type 8943 as well.

Did you start with Middleton's 1.24-1.00 BIOS and then just flashed the .FL1 file from version 2.24-1.08 in windows?

Does your laptop still work OK? :)
After this mixed BIOS flash do the thermal sensors work and readable by the BIOS / OS?
Anything else to consider?

Peak2Peak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:52 am
Location: UK

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#6 Post by Peak2Peak » Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:28 pm

lojo wrote:Did you start with Middleton's 1.24-1.00 BIOS and then just flashed the .FL1 file from version 2.24-1.08 in windows?
Yep - :thumbs-UP: (Both were Middleton's BIOS versions)
Does your laptop still work OK? :)
Yes, still working a-OK
After this mixed BIOS flash do the thermal sensors work and readable by the BIOS / OS?
Thermal sensors do seem to be performing OK - Both TPFanControl and PC Wizard software utility can see temp reading of CPU etc
Anything else to consider?
None comes to mind immediately
T60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [Another T60 FrankenPad!...Different approach]
R60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [ThinkPad R60 15.0" FrankenPad]

lojo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:40 am
Location: Sheffield, United Kingdom

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#7 Post by lojo » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:22 am

Ok, so this morning I've flashed my 1.24 Middleton BIOS with the FL1 file only. I used Middleton's version 2.24-1.08 file from the well known page: http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo/ ... ost6501443 following Peak2Peak's description.

After extracting the files I started Winphlash.exe and browsed to $01B3000.FL1. Ignored the warning message about the BIOS versions (current BIOS version 7QET42WW, new BIOS version 7OETC4WW) and flashing completed successfully.

After a reboot I managed to enter the BIOS using F1 and the BIOS version showed 2.24 (7OETC4WW).

Then I replaced my T7500 with a T9500 and it worked without any issues. Everything works fine, sensors are read correctly and the CPU is cooler than before and the difference in performance is noticable. Happy days.

On the new BIOS I don't have the firewire interface but this does not bother me as I never had any firewire devices.

I have to say that before doing this I created a recovery USB stick with the original BIOS image just in case... but eventually I did not have to use it.

Thanks Peak2Peak for testing this - and obviously thanks goes to Middleton for his great work.

Peak2Peak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:52 am
Location: UK

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#8 Post by Peak2Peak » Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:35 pm

Good to hear your R61 - 8943-DMG is now Penryn supported - :thumbs-UP:
T60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [Another T60 FrankenPad!...Different approach]
R60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [ThinkPad R60 15.0" FrankenPad]

coolcat37
Sophomore Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 5:38 am
Location: Belgium

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#9 Post by coolcat37 » Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:48 pm

I just did the same thing (flashed my 4:3 R61 8943 Middleton 1.24-1.00 with the Widescreen R61 Middleton 2.24.1.08).

The BIOS is now 2.24.
The Embedded Controller is still 1.00 => Could someone confirm me their R61 has also EC 1.00 and not 1.08?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21537
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#10 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:53 pm

Yup.

coolcat37
Sophomore Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 5:38 am
Location: Belgium

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#11 Post by coolcat37 » Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:57 pm

The T9300 is in there alright. Along the way I lost the functionality of the TouchPad however.
Current situation:
If the TouchPad is not disabled, neither the TrackPoint or the TouchPad works.
If the TouchPad is disabled (either physically by removing the palmrest connection or via the BIOS) the TrackPoint works.

I suppose this didn't happen to any of you?

I tested this is in Linux, WinXP and Win7, with different hard drives and both AC and battery. The problem is present everywhere. I've installed Ultranav drivers in WinXP but the problem persists. A web search doesn't propose an immediate solution.

Any clues out there what might be causing this? Perhaps some wires not put back in place correctly? Perhaps I'll better make a new topic about this.

lojo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:40 am
Location: Sheffield, United Kingdom

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#12 Post by lojo » Mon Jul 20, 2015 1:03 pm

Both the trackpoint and touchpad work fine on my thinkpad after the BIOS upgrade.

Hans Gruber
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 815
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:18 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#13 Post by Hans Gruber » Mon Jul 20, 2015 1:50 pm

coolcat37 wrote:The T9300 is in there alright. Along the way I lost the functionality of the TouchPad however.
Current situation:
If the TouchPad is not disabled, neither the TrackPoint or the TouchPad works.
If the TouchPad is disabled (either physically by removing the palmrest connection or via the BIOS) the TrackPoint works.

I suppose this didn't happen to any of you?

I tested this is in Linux, WinXP and Win7, with different hard drives and both AC and battery. The problem is present everywhere. I've installed Ultranav drivers in WinXP but the problem persists. A web search doesn't propose an immediate solution.

Any clues out there what might be causing this? Perhaps some wires not put back in place correctly? Perhaps I'll better make a new topic about this.
Two suggestions. Reset your bios to default settings. If that doesn't work, pull the bios battery for good measure. The last option is a hard reset of the bios and system.
:beer: T43p,T61,X200,X200s,x201,T500,W500,T510,T410,T410s,T420s,T430,T430s :parrot:

kkk
Freshman Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: R61 - 8943-DMG Penryn upgrade

#14 Post by kkk » Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:05 am

coolcat37 wrote:The T9300 is in there alright. Along the way I lost the functionality of the TouchPad however.
Current situation:
If the TouchPad is not disabled, neither the TrackPoint or the TouchPad works.
If the TouchPad is disabled (either physically by removing the palmrest connection or via the BIOS) the TrackPoint works.

I suppose this didn't happen to any of you?

I tested this is in Linux, WinXP and Win7, with different hard drives and both AC and battery. The problem is present everywhere. I've installed Ultranav drivers in WinXP but the problem persists. A web search doesn't propose an immediate solution.

Any clues out there what might be causing this? Perhaps some wires not put back in place correctly? Perhaps I'll better make a new topic about this.
A little late reply, but here is my suggestion - the ribbon cable of your touchpad is broken. I had exactly the same symptoms with another system and that was the reason. If you look carefully you should see a small crack starting from the one end and continuing perpendicular to the cable. Also it is possible that you've pinched the modem cable somewhere around the palmrest's mounting holes - there is a thin metal plate underneath the palmrest which I think is connected to motherboard's GDN and if there is a faulty connection between some of the modem's cables and this plate, this may be the reason for your problems.

And finaly, you can try the pamlrest on another system or try another palmrest on you system to see what is wrong.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests