Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

someday wish: A30p

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 817
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

someday wish: A30p

#1 Post by thinkpadcollection » Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:36 pm

How easy to find one even A30p motherboard alone? I already have A31p as a case to swap motherboard in.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10137
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Re: someday wish: A30p

#2 Post by rkawakami » Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:12 pm

If you are thinking about putting an A30p motherboard inside an A31p case, I'm not sure it would work. This is based upon knowing that the A31p has TWO S-video ports, whereas the other A3x systems only have one S-video port. EVERY other port on the A30p motherboard would have to match up in position to the A31p case; the extra S-video hole in the A31p case wouldn't be a problem. Not to mention the mounting screw locations. I have a single A30p buried somewhere at home so if nobody else can confirm my suspicions, I'll see if I can dig it out and compare it to one of my A31p systems.

What is stopping you from putting an A31p motherboard in your A31p case?
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: someday wish: A30p

#3 Post by dr_st » Fri Mar 25, 2016 1:14 am

The A30p does have two S-Video ports, as far as I know...
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

brchan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:43 am
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana

Re: someday wish: A30p

#4 Post by brchan » Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:58 am

Despite the inefficient P4M cpus in the A31p, they still beat the A30p easily, especially in regards to video performance. Both are pretty much unusable for most modern day apps, but I would still recommend finding an A31p board over an A30p one, to have the ultimate A series.
Current Thinkpads: W530 (functional classic keyboard mod), X301, T61, T60, T43, A31p, T23, 600X, 770
Other: mk5 Toughbook cf-19, mk1 Toughbook cf-53

Adda
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Location: Nørresundby, Denmark

Re: someday wish: A30p

#5 Post by Adda » Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:25 am

The A30 uses a different bottom chassis then the A31, so you need a new one.
Also, when looking at A30 mobos, look for one with a square ATi logo on the GPU, those boards tend to last a very long time.
The A31 cooler is great for Pentium III CPU's, use custom fan control so that the fan turns on at 60C at minimum speed, then the CPU won't exceed 61C.
A30 mobos supports CL2 ram.

ThinkPad A30
Pentium III-M 933MHz
Crucial 2x256MB 133MHz CL2
Mobility Radeon 16MB
15" UXGA FlexView
Zheino Classic A 32GB
Samsung SpinPoint M5S 160GB
NEC DVD+-RW ND-6650A
Broadcom MiniPCI BCM43222 802.11n Dual Band
AKE BC168 USB 2.0
26P8287 203 "Malaysia"
46L4697
02K6898
02K6753

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 817
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: someday wish: A30p

#6 Post by thinkpadcollection » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:54 pm

Main reason: I have T23 already and S3 video chipset is not perfect compatible for oldies stuff and linux A30/A30p uses mobility 7000 in 16MB or 32MB coupled with PIII-M 1.2 or up which is rare combination among thinkpad lines. Besides that, I also have A21m and they have older radeon GPUs too many generations old.

The bottom case is different is for sure, that I now notice that. But that is for southbridge using thick thermal pad and radeon memory. Should fit with thinner thermal pad using A30p board in A31p bottom case.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Post Reply

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests