A31 screen problems

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

A31 screen problems

#1 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:54 pm

I have an A31 and if I don't get the screen position just right when I boot it up The screen turns into a bunch of colored lines. Once it boots it is pretty fine but can have a few problems but if I adjust it after it POST, it has to be rebooted to change. I looks not like a cable but maybe the GPU is coming up?? Any ideas?
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: A31 screen problems

#2 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:18 pm

I have the exact same problem before I swapped to UXGA and problem solved.
It is neither the GPU's problem nor the cable's, it is the LCD's. If you have the 14.1" Samsung panel with part number 05K9944 or 46L2348, then it explains it. I have 3 ThinkPads with that panel and only one of them survived. The other one has a lot of stuck pixels like stars at night and with yellowed white that you can't tell if it is actually white while the one from my A30 has the exact symptom with stuck lines going through and won't recover until I place the LCD in an angle but at that I still get stuck horizontal lines at the ends.
My suggestion is for you to get a UXGA panel for it, once and for all.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: A31 screen problems

#3 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:09 pm

Surprisingly, its a 15" SXGA+ display. Did Samsung make those panels too?
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: A31 screen problems

#4 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:47 pm

The non ips one, yes
the ips one, no and it is a pity if that's the case
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: A31 screen problems

#5 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:49 pm

it's a non IPS, no big losses

Sent from my E6553 using Tapatalk
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: A31 screen problems

#6 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:53 pm

then get a UXGA cable and a UXGA IPS display if you want, I bought it from here:
https://www.impactcomputers.com/05k9967.html
Mine is not all perfect with pink backlight and some dust, but still it's a decent price and comes with a free inverter that appears to be IPS. Hope you can have even better luck on there. Otherwise the Sharp UXGA display is another option
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: A31 screen problems

#7 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:54 pm

Would itbe possible to put one of these in a t60 by any chance? My A31 is in poor condition

Sent from my E6553 using Tapatalk
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: A31 screen problems

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:57 pm

It physically and electrically works with T6x series, but the EDID chip may give you some trouble since T/R6x uses the chip to determine the resolution instead of dedicated cables.
Anyways it never hurts to give it a try since nothing will burn
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest