Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

R, A, G and Z series specific matters only. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#1 Post by FriendlyGuru » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:53 am

I got (bought used/second hand*) vintage IBM Thinkpad R50, recently i purchased an CPU but the chipset wont support, laptop wont turn ON.

This is the one i bought, which wont support my chipset https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Origina ... 87158.html

Reason why i wanted to upgrade was just to add 64 bit support to my lappy.

My stock CPU installed is this one: https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... z-fsb.html
I installed CPUZ and found my stock Chipset: i855PM.
https://i.imgur.com/BoB1nwG.jpg



--
Now i plan yo buy this CPU, but this time i would confirm from you geeks , if that would support my chipset:
I plan to buy: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Intel-C ... 76240.html


Do let know, if this CPU would support my model ,if not, which would ? i need 64 bit support for my lappy.

Regards
Last edited by FriendlyGuru on Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:34 am, edited 4 times in total.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7976
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#2 Post by dr_st » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:11 am

Hi FriendlyGuru, and welcome to the forum. :D

Please read the forum rules, especially the part regarding images - we have a tradition against posting inline images unless there is a notice in the thread title, and very large images such as yours are particularly frowned upon. Links are fine. :)

Unfortunately, neither the T7700 nor the T7200 CPUs are not compatible with your R50, and there exists no 64-bit CPU that is compatible.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#3 Post by FriendlyGuru » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:20 am

dr_st wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:11 am
Hi FriendlyGuru, and welcome to the forum. :D

Please read the forum rules, especially the part regarding images - we have a tradition against posting inline images unless there is a notice in the thread title, and very large images such as yours are particularly frowned upon. Links are fine. :)

Unfortunately, neither the T7700 nor the T7200 CPUs are not compatible with your R50, and there exists no 64-bit CPU that is compatible.
Oppsy, for that inline image. I would respect that in future post :)
and there exists no 64-bit CPU that is compatible
<- My heart just felt down :cry: :|

Anyother way - workaround, to get 64 bit!

Also, anyone got mobo circuit schematic ! incase something goes wrong

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2286
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:04 am

FriendlyGuru wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:20 am
Anyother way - workaround, to get 64 bit!
Sorry, there's really no way to put a 64-bit CPU in the R50 system board.

The earliest 64-bit mobile Intel CPU is the Core 2 Duo, which has a different CPU socket to the Pentium M. Furthermore, it requires a higher FSB speed than the Intel 855 chipset can support.
BIOS support is also lacking.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7334
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#5 Post by BillMorrow » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:35 am

ALSO, friendly guru, i corrected your location to show mumbai, india.. if this is incorrect, then please correct your location to show your city and country..
i see you changed it to ASIA, ASIA.. this is, sadly, not acceptable..
if you are hiding from a tax collector or angry husband, then just select a city close by.. :)
the location is the ONLY thing i ask of members.. no subscription fees, no advertising, nothing except a more or less true location and that you be friendly..
thanks for your understanding..
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#6 Post by Screamer » Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:36 am

FriendlyGuru wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:20 am
Anyother way - workaround, to get 64 bit!
There is no other way/workaround, unfortunately.

This is due to the R50's BIOS, which lacks the microcode needed for an EM64T-enabled Intel processor to run. Do note that the chipset does not support EM64T, either. If you were thinking of replacing the entire chipset for something newer, don't bother. The BGA package pincount and pinout are all different in so many ways, electrically and layout-wise.
FriendlyGuru wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:20 am
Also, anyone got mobo circuit schematic ! incase something goes wrong
I believe that this archive might have what you need.

FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#7 Post by FriendlyGuru » Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:27 am

Yes, i wont change location now, i changed as for privacy concern, no worries, but now i'm OK with it :D

Others - You guys are amazing, saved me from further loss and briefed technical facts for my model.

Schematic - Thank you too, that's gold mine :)

Now, i would plan to sell this thinkpad , RIP.

regards

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7334
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#8 Post by BillMorrow » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:22 pm

re. privacy, you can easily fade into the woodwork in a country with 1.3 billion or mumbai with 20+ million people.. :)
or select a nearby town.. i don't care..
AND if you resell in the marketplace on this forum we really want to know where you are so, maybe, a local buyer can meet up with you..

thinkpads are so tough they last a long time..
in fact i'm sending two excellent 25 year old thinkpad 701C's to steve huffer and a lot of parts..
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2572
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#9 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:59 pm

BillMorrow wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:22 pm
Thinkpads are so tough they last a long time..
in fact i'm sending two excellent 25 year old thinkpad 701C's to steve huffer and a lot of parts..
*Cough* T61p *cough*

Most Thinkpads last a long time. I'm also curious how these new Lenovo machines will fare the 25 year time spam, but given that some really shoddy 90s machines lasted, I assume the TPs will too.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#10 Post by FriendlyGuru » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:46 pm

BillMorrow wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:22 pm
re. privacy, you can easily fade into the woodwork in a country with 1.3 billion or mumbai with 20+ million people.. :)
or select a nearby town.. i don't care..
AND if you resell in the marketplace on this forum we really want to know where you are so, maybe, a local buyer can meet up with you..

thinkpads are so tough they last a long time..
in fact i'm sending two excellent 25 year old thinkpad 701C's to steve huffer and a lot of parts..
Hahaha, good one.
Ah! now that's true vintage collection. sure you're from 2004, wheelchair army :mrgreen:
Oh, that's a great thing i.e to meet local buyers.
Agreed, until IBM merged to lenovo, this lenovo TP are light weight but not durable.
Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:59 pm
BillMorrow wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:22 pm
Thinkpads are so tough they last a long time..
in fact i'm sending two excellent 25 year old thinkpad 701C's to steve huffer and a lot of parts..
*Cough* T61p *cough*

Most Thinkpads last a long time. I'm also curious how these new Lenovo machines will fare the 25 year time spam, but given that some really shoddy 90s machines lasted, I assume the TPs will too.
Yes. If i was to not sell this, what other use i can make out of it! any ideas! youtube videos hog the cpu/battery. Video glitches and lags. Browsing with latest opera or chrome is resource hungry operation, stock iexplorer is outdated and most of the websites wont support *YT*.

Regards

EDIT:
If anyone got 64 bit thinkpad, let know, i can send you R50 along with the CPU i purchased, i really need 64 bit for daily work. [ Exchange :P]
***xp pro sp3,all drivers,chrome,opera,adobe,word reader [not ms office], vlc, etc.160GB HD,2 GB RAM. Deep Freeze installed and activated lifetime, no physical damage, all keys and night light working. original charger, battery backup is 1 hour using opera connected to wifi (Normal browsing: 1 hrs, Video browsing: 38 Min). DVD drive (only read, not RW). Last time when i checked the serial number on lenovo website, it said imported from 'sweden' . I think it was put in scrap , later someone purchased the scrap lot here from IN for local selling, etc . Incase you need video of R50, i could do that***

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20095
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:36 am

FriendlyGuru wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:46 pm
... until IBM merged to lenovo ...
IBM sold their PC-department to Lenovo.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#12 Post by FriendlyGuru » Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:02 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:36 am
FriendlyGuru wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:46 pm
... until IBM merged to lenovo ...
IBM sold their PC-department to Lenovo.
Ya, i supposed to say sold pc-department. Yesterday, i installed windows 7 ultimate trial and updated all drivers. Question remains, what am i gonna do with it :?

I put it on sale over local olx website, lets see how it goes. I would update you guys
Last edited by FriendlyGuru on Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#13 Post by FriendlyGuru » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:57 am

Hi,
Finally sold the R50 4 days back to an interested buyer.

Now, i plan to buy R400, my question is would this model support the extra CPU i ordered from aliexpress (mentioned in first post) !!!!!!!!!!!! :o

And how is the R400 performance wise ! any con's! I plan to use R400 in moderate graphic intensive tasks. Would this buddy support windows 10 64 bit!

Thanks geeks!

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7976
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#14 Post by dr_st » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:23 am

R400 will not support the T7700 and will not support the T7200.

All R400 support 64-bit; the actual performance may be better than T7700 or worse, depending on specific CPU in the R400 you buy; most of them will be better (unless you get a low-end model with a Celeron or something).
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

FriendlyGuru
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:40 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#15 Post by FriendlyGuru » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:29 pm

Perfect.
Yep, its not celeron, its duo core.
Maybe tomorrow i go to seller location, would update you guys .

I wonder what happens to E-waste in regards to old IBM thinkpad's, the market was good in old days.

Regards

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#16 Post by FryPpy » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:46 am

dr_st wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:23 am
R400 will not support the T7700 and will not support the T7200.
Not 100% sure, but R400 officially support 800MHz FSB CPUs (T5870 and T5670). And i believe that it can eat T7700.
But with 1066MHz FSB Penryn it can work better.

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: IBM ThinkPad "R50" CPU Upgrade ? [HELP]

#17 Post by Screamer » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:07 am

You are right about the R400 being capable of supporting 800MT/s processors, but there are some specific 800MT/s processors that it does not support. The Core 2 Duo T7700 is one of them, since it has a CPUID of 06FA (E1) or 06FB (G0).

The reason why the R400 is capable of using a Core 2 Duo T5870/T5670, is because of how they are Merom-2M-derived processors with a CPUID of 06FD (M0). Keep in mind that the R400's BIOS does not have the microcodes for any processor that has a CPUID of 06FA or 06FB, which would prevent the Core 2 Duo T7700 from working in an R400. Any processor with a CPUID of 06FD however, will work as the R400's BIOS contains the microcode that is needed to run it.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests