Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

ThinkPad A30 screen issue

R30/R40, A30/A31, G40/G50 and Z60/Z61 Series. NOT for AMD-Ryzen.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Cerber4444
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 12:21 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#1 Post by Cerber4444 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 3:54 am

Hello everyone! Today I turned on my ThinkPad and noticed really bad issue- screen became blue and glitchy. Its 100% hardware problem, because it happens in BIOS screen to. How do I can repair it?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22595
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jul 08, 2021 4:06 am

Try an external monitor.
If that is also bad, you need a new motherboard (GPU bad).
If OK, reseat the LCD-cable on both sides. try again.
If still bad, you need to replace the LCD.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Covid-19: Stay safe, so still Mask it or Casket!

Cerber4444
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 12:21 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#3 Post by Cerber4444 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 5:03 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 4:06 am
Try an external monitor.
If that is also bad, you need a new motherboard (GPU bad).
If OK, reseat the LCD-cable on both sides. try again.
If still bad, you need to replace the LCD.
It stopped glitching :? Does it says something about what is wrong?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22595
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jul 08, 2021 7:08 am

Did you follow any of my suggestions?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Covid-19: Stay safe, so still Mask it or Casket!

Cerber4444
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 12:21 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#5 Post by Cerber4444 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 11:43 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 7:08 am
Did you follow any of my suggestions?
No, glitching stopped before I tried to do something.

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2209
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#6 Post by kfzhu1229 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 1:08 pm

Cerber4444 wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 11:43 am
No, glitching stopped before I tried to do something.
If you have the 14.1" screen option on A30, it's quite possible the screen has gone bad. The tiny ribbons within the Samsung LCD's used on these models can definitely go bad over time and then you get weird images that doesn't look like a GPU failure. That happened to my A30 where it started off as like having one horizontal line on the bottom, then it grew to dozens of them, then it grew to dozens of them on both top and bottom, then the whole screen go flaky.
Try on an external monitor to make sure the internal LCD is the culprit.
Then you might as well swap out the LCD cable and the LCD bezel at the same time to upgrade to a 15" SXGA+ or UXGA panel (inverter needs to be swapped too if an IPS panel is installed)
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Cerber4444
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 12:21 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#7 Post by Cerber4444 » Mon Jul 12, 2021 5:24 am

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 1:08 pm
Cerber4444 wrote:
Thu Jul 08, 2021 11:43 am
No, glitching stopped before I tried to do something.
If you have the 14.1" screen option on A30, it's quite possible the screen has gone bad. The tiny ribbons within the Samsung LCD's used on these models can definitely go bad over time and then you get weird images that doesn't look like a GPU failure. That happened to my A30 where it started off as like having one horizontal line on the bottom, then it grew to dozens of them, then it grew to dozens of them on both top and bottom, then the whole screen go flaky.
Try on an external monitor to make sure the internal LCD is the culprit.
Then you might as well swap out the LCD cable and the LCD bezel at the same time to upgrade to a 15" SXGA+ or UXGA panel (inverter needs to be swapped too if an IPS panel is installed)
Yeah, external screen appears normally. So issue is on LCD ribbons, probably. Thank god that motherboard is okay. Bro, can you give me advice how do I pick and buy LCD replacement etc?

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2209
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Jul 12, 2021 11:08 am

Cerber4444 wrote:
Mon Jul 12, 2021 5:24 am
Yeah, external screen appears normally. So issue is on LCD ribbons, probably. Thank god that motherboard is okay. Bro, can you give me advice how do I pick and buy LCD replacement etc?
In my experience it's not likely to be the LCD ribbon cable but rather the LCD itself.
If you wanna make the most of your LCD replacement, either look for a 15" complete LCD assembly someone has to offer on this forum, or you need a 15" LCD, its matching cable with the matching resolution preset, any 15" LCD bezel (doesn't matter if it's A30, A30p, A31 or A31p if you don't care about the model number badge) as well as maybe an inverter replacement when you are dealing with IPS screens.
Or in other words, the lid and the hinges are interchangable between 14.1" and 15" versions. The 14.1" version simply have some spacer brackets to mount the smaller screen onto the 15" size bezels.
Alternatively, with just a SXGA+ cable, I was able to get a 14.1" T4x SXGA+ screen fit and working on my A31, with the stress relief plastics moved out of its place. This may also save you the hassle of replacing the LCD bezel, but then the T4x SXGA+ screens are quite horrible to look at.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

Cerber4444
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 12:21 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: ThinkPad A30 screen issue

#9 Post by Cerber4444 » Mon Jul 12, 2021 12:26 pm

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Mon Jul 12, 2021 11:08 am
Cerber4444 wrote:
Mon Jul 12, 2021 5:24 am
Yeah, external screen appears normally. So issue is on LCD ribbons, probably. Thank god that motherboard is okay. Bro, can you give me advice how do I pick and buy LCD replacement etc?
In my experience it's not likely to be the LCD ribbon cable but rather the LCD itself.
If you wanna make the most of your LCD replacement, either look for a 15" complete LCD assembly someone has to offer on this forum, or you need a 15" LCD, its matching cable with the matching resolution preset, any 15" LCD bezel (doesn't matter if it's A30, A30p, A31 or A31p if you don't care about the model number badge) as well as maybe an inverter replacement when you are dealing with IPS screens.
Or in other words, the lid and the hinges are interchangable between 14.1" and 15" versions. The 14.1" version simply have some spacer brackets to mount the smaller screen onto the 15" size bezels.
Alternatively, with just a SXGA+ cable, I was able to get a 14.1" T4x SXGA+ screen fit and working on my A31, with the stress relief plastics moved out of its place. This may also save you the hassle of replacing the LCD bezel, but then the T4x SXGA+ screens are quite horrible to look at.
I see. Thank you for advice!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad R, A, G and Z Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests