Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Need a win 7 HDD volume serial # / ID change utility

Windows 7 on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
cadillacmike68
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Not on Planet Znutar (FL)

Need a win 7 HDD volume serial # / ID change utility

#1 Post by cadillacmike68 » Sun May 22, 2016 8:47 pm

There used to be an ms Volume ID utility (which I have) to change the HDD volume ID (the 2 4 character strings) to whatever you want. It is good for making a cloned / restored HDD identical to the one you replaced. And it keeps some programs that tie their activation to the HDD volume ID. But it won't work in win 7 at least not in win 764bit. I was able to change the HDD ID by putting the Win 7 boot HDD in an XPP T61 Ultrabay and running the volume-id program on the XP computer, but that always runs the risk of windows doing something to the boot-ability of the HDD while it is in the ultrabay.

Does anyone know if ms or someone else has a HDD volume ID utility that will work in win 7 63bit?
760LD 9547 FUBARd
T21 2647; T22 2647 4@ 900MHz, 1@ 1GHz SXGA+; T23 2647 2@ 1.13GHz, 1@ 1.2GHz SXGA+, WiFi
T30 2366-88U 2GHz; 2366-83U 1.8G; 5@ 2366-LU0/66U; 2367-KU6 FUBARd
T61 8897, 2.4GHz SXGA+; 8898, 2.4GHz; 6463, 2.4 & 2.1GHz WSXGA+; 7658, 2.5GHz; T61p, 3 more T61s
T500 2

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19132
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Need a win 7 HDD volume serial # / ID change utility

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon May 23, 2016 1:56 am

Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

cadillacmike68
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Not on Planet Znutar (FL)

Re: Need a win 7 HDD volume serial # / ID change utility

#3 Post by cadillacmike68 » Mon May 23, 2016 8:23 pm

Thanks. I think it's the same program I had. However, I think I forgot to do the "run as administrator" nonsense when I tried it on this win 7 system.
760LD 9547 FUBARd
T21 2647; T22 2647 4@ 900MHz, 1@ 1GHz SXGA+; T23 2647 2@ 1.13GHz, 1@ 1.2GHz SXGA+, WiFi
T30 2366-88U 2GHz; 2366-83U 1.8G; 5@ 2366-LU0/66U; 2367-KU6 FUBARd
T61 8897, 2.4GHz SXGA+; 8898, 2.4GHz; 6463, 2.4 & 2.1GHz WSXGA+; 7658, 2.5GHz; T61p, 3 more T61s
T500 2

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest