Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Browser: Firefox --> Pale Moon --> Basilisk? Or something else?

Windows 7 on ThinkPads
RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

Browser: Firefox --> Pale Moon --> Basilisk? Or something else?

#1 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:32 am

My (getting old) desktop has AMD Phenom II X2 555 [Black Ed.] CPU, 16GB RAM and nVidia GeForce GT 730 gfx.
Inspired by dr_st, I have been running the Pale Moon web browser for many years now, mostly to my satisfaction.
Lately I do get an occasional lagging (scroll-stop for a few seconds) though, when scrolling down large(r) webpages.

Is the newer Basilisk browser at least equal or better than Pale Moon?

After reading this, I'm not too convinced: https://www.howtogeek.com/335712/update ... -basilisk/

What say you?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, T480, M900 Tiny.

PS: the old Boardroom website is still available on the Wayback Machine

dr_st
Admin
Admin

Re: Browser: Firefox --> Pale Moon --> Basilisk? Or something else?

#2 Post by dr_st » Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:02 am

I don't know about this, you can try.

I haven't noticed a major difference in performance between the two. The reason I switched to Basilisk is that I started hitting Pale Moon compatibility problems. For starts, WhatsApp Web (which I use a lot) does not support pasting images from the clip board in Pale Moon.

Is there a point in switching to Basilisk? Maybe. Staying with Pale Moon? Maybe. Abandoning both and going back to Firefox? Maybe. Just moving to Chrome? Maybe. All depends on one's preferences.