Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Windows 7 64bit on T60

Windows 7 on ThinkPads
Post Reply
Message
Author
mdclow
Freshman Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: West Bloomfield, Michigan
Contact:

Windows 7 64bit on T60

#1 Post by mdclow » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:44 am

I have a T60 with a Core 2 Duo and I want to find out if my machine will run Windows 7 64bit. I recall seeing on the forum that a Core 2 Duo is needed but then I also recall a potential problem with the chipset or needing a certain version of the systemboard.

Please advise . . .
Michael Clow


ThinkPad T530 2359-CTO: i7-3520M (up to 3.60 GHz) 16GB RAM, 250GB Samsung 840 SSD, 15.6" 1600 x 900 LED, NVIDIA NVS 5400M Graphics with Optimus Technology

ThinkPad T60: 8744-5BU T7200(2GHz), 4GB RAM, 256GB Crucial C-300 SSD HD, 15.4in 1680x1050 LCD

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#2 Post by Harryc » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:34 am

Any Core 2 Duo machine will run a 64bit OS.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7818
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#3 Post by dr_st » Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:19 pm

But with the chipset being limited to 3GB anyways, the major advantage of the 64bit architecture becomes a bit moot...
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

Tony Chan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#4 Post by Tony Chan » Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:19 pm

There is still advantage of running 64bit OS on T60. 64bit OS can runing 64bit AND 32bit apps. 32bit OS can only run 32bit apps.

This might become more of a problem down the road when 64bit apps becomes more and more popular.
Last edited by Tony Chan on Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

mdclow
Freshman Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 2:33 pm
Location: West Bloomfield, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#5 Post by mdclow » Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:53 pm

Great info, I appreciate the feedback. If I go to 32 bit Win7 and decide to go to Win7 64bit down the road is it an upgrade or would I have to a clean install?
Michael Clow


ThinkPad T530 2359-CTO: i7-3520M (up to 3.60 GHz) 16GB RAM, 250GB Samsung 840 SSD, 15.6" 1600 x 900 LED, NVIDIA NVS 5400M Graphics with Optimus Technology

ThinkPad T60: 8744-5BU T7200(2GHz), 4GB RAM, 256GB Crucial C-300 SSD HD, 15.4in 1680x1050 LCD

dlai
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:08 am

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#6 Post by dlai » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:13 pm

You'll have to do a clean install when switching from 32 to 64 bit...
W500 4061-36U T9600 2.8ghz, 8 gb ram, Crucial 256gb SSD, 15.4 WUXGA, Win 7 Ultimate

X200 7454-2JU P8600 2.4ghz, 8 gb ram, Intel X25m 80gb SSD, 12.1 WXGA, Win 7 Ultimate

T60p 8741-W9G: T7600 2.33ghz, 4 gb ram, 500 gb WD Blue HD, 15.4 WSXGA+, Win 7 Ultimate

jpmmio
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:12 am
Location: Mio, Michigan

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#7 Post by jpmmio » Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:07 pm

Hello, I have a T60P Model 8741-W9G With a ATI MOBILITY FIREGL V5250 video card and installed driver version 8.581.0.0 12/1/2008 from ATI. Every time I try to perform a ATI manager 3D test or a Windows Experience Index test (or any Aero testing), my laptop shuts down completely powers off.
I have Windows 7 64 Bit (but have tried Windows 7 32 bit, Vista 32 and 64 bit) and have the same problem when attempting any 3D tests. Is anyone else experiencing this problem with this video card? Is this only capible of running 2D. Am I stuck running Windows XP

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#8 Post by Harryc » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:12 pm

Install tpfancontrol and set it to run in BIOS mode. Tell us what your GPU temperature is right before it shuts down.
http://www.staff.uni-marburg.de/~schmitzr/donate.html

bill bolton
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 3848
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#9 Post by bill bolton » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:04 pm

mdclow wrote:Please advise . . .
Windows 7 x64 is NOT a supported OS for any T60 model, so you may have unexpected systemic behaviours, which you basically would have to troubleshoot for yourself.

So, are you feeling lucky........ :?: :jhem:

Cheers,

Bill B.

jpmmio
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:12 am
Location: Mio, Michigan

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#10 Post by jpmmio » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:44 pm

Thanks in advance for your help. I ran the TPFanControl (nice utility) the GPU temp was at 94 up 1 degree when I tried to run the Windows Experience Index to cause the failure.
By the way I installed Windows 7 32bit and Vista 32bit trying to troubleshoot this problem and have the same problem. I do not have to have the 64bit version installed, only put it on because the processor indicated the it supported the 64bit operating system. Can install the 32bit version in a few hours if needed.
John

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#11 Post by Harryc » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:08 pm

jpmmio wrote:Thanks in advance for your help. I ran the TPFanControl (nice utility) the GPU temp was at 94 up 1 degree when I tried to run the Windows Experience Index to cause the failure.
Your GPU is running way to hot. You need to look into how your heatsink is making contact with it (or not). Might be worth looking into a new fan/heatsink replacement as well. Here's a recommendation -
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0547798183

jpmmio
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:12 am
Location: Mio, Michigan

Re: Windows 7 64bit on T60

#12 Post by jpmmio » Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:57 pm

Thank you for your help and comments. I am ordering a replacement fan just to be on the safe side. It may take a while before it gets here and I can get it installed, but I will post the results as soon as I can.
Thanks again, this site has been the only one that has really addressed my problem (and to let you know I have found a lot more users out there that are having the same issue). This only appears to happen with the ATI FireGL 5250 chip other models with other type chips like the Intel 945 do not appear to be having this problem.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Windows 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests