Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

old Gps screen upgrade?

Talk about "WhatEVER !"..
Post Reply
Message
Author
screenshot
Freshman Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:38 am
Location: EU, Helsinki

old Gps screen upgrade?

#1 Post by screenshot » Mon Jan 03, 2022 3:31 pm

can i upgrade some old Garmin Gps screen to something bigger somehow if the newer screen has the same connector and voltage or smth?
the old one has somekind of 1-67 pin thin ribbon connector, but i dont even know if its somekind of TTL, serial rgb or what, and dunno if it even has a Wled backlight or not, because i dont know the version of the screen... i did see some bigger screen with some extra red/white cable coming out of it, but this old one only has this thin 67pin connector (it's probably 67pin Fpc then).
and can the old Gps cpu even handle some bigger or different resolutions etc...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: old Gps screen upgrade?

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Jan 04, 2022 12:31 am

Plugging unknown screens into devices is a recipe for disaster.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22606
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: old Gps screen upgrade?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jan 04, 2022 4:39 am

It would be cheaper (AND a lot easier) to buy a new(er) GPS.
However, with most mobiles having GPS, there's hardly a need for that.
If/when we need it, my wife uses her iPhone for GPS.
My perfectly working 5" Garmin Nuvi 2597LMT is not even in the car any more, it's in a cupboard.
But make me an offer I cannot refuse...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Covid-19: Stay safe, so still Mask it or Casket!

screenshot
Freshman Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:38 am
Location: EU, Helsinki

Re: old Gps screen upgrade?

#4 Post by screenshot » Tue Jan 04, 2022 6:40 am

phone needs a data connection, but the gps device does not
but maybe any screen will still fit if it is somekind of Lcm type, parallel Rgb and has that 67 pin connector?
and if both voltages are 3,3v, then somekind of 1,8/3,3v wont fit? (advv/vdvv or smth...)

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3134
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: old Gps screen upgrade?

#5 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Jan 04, 2022 10:30 pm

It might work, but you have to make sure that the pinout is the same between the two screens. Otherwise, there's gonna be some magic smoke coming out. :x
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Off-Topic Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests