Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

Talk about "WhatEVER !"..
Message
Author
RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#1 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 04, 2014 7:09 am

Have you seen the new Firefox version 29?
It looks virtually identical to IE, which I hate with a passion.
I had to hunt around for FF 28, install it over the crap 29, then tell it to no longer automatically update.
Reason why I want FF28 is the Menubar layout.
Mine has: - page back - page forward - refresh - home - URL-window
And the tabs are UNDER this menubar.

New FF29 won't let you move those Menubar items any more, and you can't move the tabs under the URL.
What a formidable POS this FF29 has become!

Any body know of a decent browser that doesn't have this nasty habit of updating/messing up every 3 weeks?

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2131
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#2 Post by Tasurinchi » Sun May 04, 2014 7:19 am

I'm using the portable versions of Chrome and FF, they don't update automatically

http://portableapps.com/
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8202
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#3 Post by dr_st » Sun May 04, 2014 8:03 am

As I run Windows systems exclusively, I stopped using FF a couple of years ago and switched to Pale Moon. Same core, none of the Mozilla bullcrap.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

mpcook
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Lebanon, OH USA
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#4 Post by mpcook » Sun May 04, 2014 8:20 am

I installed the classic theme addon which brought me back to where I was in ver 28.
Current: 2 x W520 ET, 2 x X220 i7, T420, X230 i5, T420s, MacbookPro, Dell Venue 11 Pro, Dell XPS 8930, X1 Yoga 3GEN
Past: IBM5150-8088 500 600E 600X T20 T21 5xT23 X30 3xX31 X32 T40 T42 3xT43 T43p SL510 T60p X60T X60s T61 2xT400 T410si T400s T500-3.06GHz X200 X201 X220i5 X220i7 2xT420s

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 04, 2014 10:01 am

PaleMoon it is! No more FireFox ever! :thumbs-UP:
Thanks dr_st!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

mpcook
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Lebanon, OH USA
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#6 Post by mpcook » Sun May 04, 2014 10:18 am

dr_st wrote:As I run Windows systems exclusively, I stopped using FF a couple of years ago and switched to Pale Moon. Same core, none of the Mozilla bullcrap.
I just installed it on one of my Thinkpads, so far looks like a keeper, thanks!
Current: 2 x W520 ET, 2 x X220 i7, T420, X230 i5, T420s, MacbookPro, Dell Venue 11 Pro, Dell XPS 8930, X1 Yoga 3GEN
Past: IBM5150-8088 500 600E 600X T20 T21 5xT23 X30 3xX31 X32 T40 T42 3xT43 T43p SL510 T60p X60T X60s T61 2xT400 T410si T400s T500-3.06GHz X200 X201 X220i5 X220i7 2xT420s

Medessec
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Chico, California
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#7 Post by Medessec » Sun May 04, 2014 10:32 am

I've always kept FF as a second browser... haven't started it in awhile. But my British friend and friends from Colorado still use it, I think my friends from Colorado have denounced it already, dunno about my British friend.

I think it's pretty crazy browser versions are going by like months... I remember when FireFox 3 was a huge thing.
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8202
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#8 Post by dr_st » Sun May 04, 2014 11:12 am

Medessec wrote:I think it's pretty crazy browser versions are going by like months... I remember when FireFox 3 was a huge thing.
This was the first decision of Mozilla Foundation that looked queer to me. It's so obvious that they did it only to compete with Chrome's version numbering, so that it doesn't create an impression that their browser is being updated slower that the browser of the main competitor. It's this kind of decisions that are based on appearance and not content that I dislike, especially given the confusion it causes the users, when your version of the browser is suddenly EOL weeks after you installed it, and when it's not obvious what is a major release and what is a minor one.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 04, 2014 11:49 am

One problem I found with Pale Moon:
the installed AdBlockPlus does not keep all its filters, and takes a while before the 'working ones' kick in.
ABP was transferred with bookmarks etc. from FF.
Do I need to uninstall/reinstall ABP to get it working properly?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8202
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#10 Post by dr_st » Sun May 04, 2014 12:11 pm

I can't answer your question fully, because it's been a while since I used FF, and most my latest Pale Moon installations were native, where I installed ABP from scratch. It's always been a breeze, though.

What version of ABP does it show you have in your Addon management screen? Mine is 2.6.

It does seems that on the one computer where I started with FF, it transferred all my filters just fine. But maybe some special ones don't transfer so easily, and you need to regrab them manually.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 04, 2014 12:33 pm

It was also 2.6
I had to uninstall it, then delete the ABP files in the Pale Moon profile.
Then re-install ABP, select the blockable items again, and now it's working OK.
Curious..., but fine in the end!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1692
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#12 Post by Cigarguy » Sun May 04, 2014 1:24 pm

I quite like the new FF. The updating frequency don't bother me either. To each his own I guess.

Summilux
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:02 am
Location: Paris (Latin Europe)

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#13 Post by Summilux » Sun May 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Haven't tried it yet, but I'm keeping the Pale Moon option; thanks for the reference.

I still quite like FF, though it's been crashing recently. Seems like it doesn't handle multiple pages/tabs as well as it used to (heavier ones especially). But I've been dissatisfied with Mozilla since they decided to implement this whole "Unsecure SSL certificate, you must add it as a security exception" thing. That's really when Mozilla took the "mass users" turn. They never provided a way to remove that crap.
Deathwisher
T60 2007-FSG (stolen)
X220 4287-CTO

A31
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Norwich, UK

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#14 Post by A31 » Sun May 04, 2014 3:45 pm

Google Chrome all the way for me. :thumbs-UP:
Lenovo ThinkPad T440s Touch | Core i7 4600U | 12GB 1600MHz RAM | 1080p IPS Touch Display | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | 720p Webcam | 68+ 6 Cell Battery | Windows 10 Pro x64

Past: Lenovo ThinkPad L540 | IBM ThinkPad A31, R40

Ibthink
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 814
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:28 am
Location: Gelnhausen, Germany

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#15 Post by Ibthink » Sun May 04, 2014 3:51 pm

Can´t understand why Firefox 29 is supposed to be so terrible - its just a minor redesign, thats all...but I am using Opera anyway, so I don´t care...it´s the better Chrome 8)
IBM ThinkPad R50e | lenovo ThinkPad X301 | lenovo ThinkPad Z61t

twistero
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#16 Post by twistero » Sun May 04, 2014 4:55 pm

Just updated. I customize Firefox extensively so the update changed very little.

My tabs are on the left organized in a tree thanks to Tree Style Tab and Tab Mix Plus.
The bookmarks bar is turned on and all my most frequently used bookmarks are still there one click away.
The menu button moved to the main toolbar, and now I have a proper title bar that actually displays the page title without having to use the Personal Titlebar extension.
The add-on toolbar on the bottom of the screen is gone, and all buttons got crammed in the main toolbar instead. No problem; I moved most of them into the new menu grid.

And there it is, the same Firefox I use and love. :D
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card

Adda
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:49 pm
Location: Nørresundby, Denmark

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#17 Post by Adda » Mon May 05, 2014 6:56 am

I remember reading something like "Firefox 29, more customizable then ever".
But the FIRST thing I noticed when trying it out, was that I couldn't make my menu bar layout like I used to, things are locked in place.

At first I got pretty annoyed with it, there are details I don't like about the new menu bar (I'm getting very tired of the overuse of icons).
But I am able to adapt, and I can see the reasoning behind the new layout (address bar and tabs are "graphically" associated).

I don't understand why they decided to remove the flexibility of the old menu bar though, but I'm not surprised, it's the way things are going, unfortunately (less is easier/cheaper, marketing BS fools people in to thinking new is better, regardless).

ThinkPad A30
Pentium III-M 933MHz
Crucial 2x256MB 133MHz CL2
Mobility Radeon 16MB
15" UXGA FlexView
Zheino Classic A 32GB
Samsung SpinPoint M5S 160GB
NEC DVD+-RW ND-6650A
Broadcom MiniPCI BCM43222 802.11n Dual Band
AKE BC168 USB 2.0
26P8287 203 "Malaysia"
46L4697
02K6898
02K6753

A31
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Norwich, UK

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#18 Post by A31 » Mon May 05, 2014 11:28 am

OK so I updated Firefox on my Windows 7 virtual machine and now I have Version 29.

It does look like a cross between IE11 and Google Chrome - it looks quite different to the last version which looked more like Opera than anything else, I thought.

It does seem like quite a decent web browser. I've only been using the new Version 29 for a few minutes, but I certainly have no problems using it. Maybe that's because I've been using Chrome for 3 years and they're quite similar now.

Seems all right to me...
Lenovo ThinkPad T440s Touch | Core i7 4600U | 12GB 1600MHz RAM | 1080p IPS Touch Display | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | 720p Webcam | 68+ 6 Cell Battery | Windows 10 Pro x64

Past: Lenovo ThinkPad L540 | IBM ThinkPad A31, R40

600X
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:31 am
Location: Burlington, NC

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#19 Post by 600X » Mon May 05, 2014 11:46 am

I haven`t tried FF29 yet either, but I might because it now includes Unicorns: http://news.softpedia.com/images/news2/ ... 9985-2.jpg

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Here-Is- ... 9985.shtml
Daily: T440p
ThinkPads: 600X (i3), A31p (FlexView), X41, T43, T60 (FlexView), T61p (4:3), R61 (QXGA), X301 (AFFS), W500, X1

sir_synthsalot
Sophomore Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Canada

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#20 Post by sir_synthsalot » Tue May 06, 2014 2:10 pm

Seems OK to me. I normally go to that window area for bookmarks so it should work fine.

I think I prefer the old design as well but it's not a dealbreaker. I've used IE and Chrome extensively but for me Firefox is best.
I'M DONE WITH THINKPADS, JUST DONE!!!

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#21 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue May 06, 2014 2:57 pm

twistero wrote:Just updated. I customize Firefox extensively so the update changed very little.
With Pale Moon there's no need for all those add-ons!
Only ones I use are AdBlockPlus, DownThemAll and X-Notifier (for Gmail messages).
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

twistero
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#22 Post by twistero » Tue May 06, 2014 4:01 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
twistero wrote:Just updated. I customize Firefox extensively so the update changed very little.
With Pale Moon there's no need for all those add-ons!
Only ones I use are AdBlockPlus, DownThemAll and X-Notifier (for Gmail messages).
I'm quite sure Pale Moon does not come with Tree Style Tabs or Tab Mix Plus. :roll: These two add-ons are essential for my web browsing habits, and the most important reason why I'm not using Chrome or Opera.

Tree Style Tabs allows me to open 50 or 60 tabs, neatly arranged in trees (tabs opened from a Google search are nested under that Google tab, etc.) on the left side of the screen, and with full visibility of the page title on the tabs.

Tab Mix Plus allows me to make bookmarks / searches always open in new tabs, change the order of new tabs, set custom double-click / middle-click actions on tabs and the tab bar, show loading progress bars on each tab, and different font / color on unread tabs / unloaded tabs.

On my X60t I don't use Tree Style Tabs because horizontal screen space is limited. This means the tab bar is indeed stuck above the location bar without additional extensions, but it's not annoying enough to warrant changing the entire browser. If it ever does turn out to be too annoying, there's always Classic Theme Restorer.


As for Firefox vs. Pale Moon... Unless there's a Firefox fork that has everything I want already, I still have to customize the interface and use add-ons anyways. Might as well stick to the upstream package.
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card

EvoT61
Freshman Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:44 am
Location: London, UK

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#23 Post by EvoT61 » Tue May 06, 2014 9:59 pm

yeh ff is crap ... crashes constantly ... switched back to opera, slow but steady,im just using ff on arch coz it plays youtube and opera does not play all videos even with flash installation.
IBM ThinkPad
T61 C2D-T8300 + FingerPrint.
ArchLinux ThinkPad
X220 i5-3320M

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#24 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed May 07, 2014 6:47 am

Who in their right mind needs 50-60 tabs open at any given time?
Do you even have time to work with all that (assuming you have a job)?
8-10 tabs, yes, any more than that? Nevuuuuu.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8202
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#25 Post by dr_st » Wed May 07, 2014 7:47 am

Browsing habits of people indeed amaze me sometimes, but they are what they are.

Could be an issue of horizontally organized versus vertically organized folks.
http://www.structuredprocrastination.co ... n_port.php
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

twistero
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#26 Post by twistero » Wed May 07, 2014 3:11 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:Who in their right mind needs 50-60 tabs open at any given time?
Do you even have time to work with all that (assuming you have a job)?
8-10 tabs, yes, any more than that? Nevuuuuu.
Yes, how can anyone be in their right minds if they use their browsers differently from you do? </sarcasm>

But let me give you a simple example. How about reading this very forum?

I open the Index page of forum.thinkpads.com. I middle click on the forums I'm interested in and has new posts, opening them as children tabs under the index page. I then go to the first forum tab and middle click on any posts I'm interested in, opening them as children tabs of the forum tab. Now I go to the first post tab and start reading it.
That's easily 10 tabs or more in a single tree, for a simple task that does not require any cross referencing. If, when I reply to a thread, I need some additional information, I open another tree and Google from there.

<sarcasm>Now, who in their right mind do this instead of using a single tab and relying on the back button to traverse the clearly tree-like structure of a forum?</sarcasm>

This method also cuts down idle time because I never have to wait for a page to load. By opening links in batches, the first child tab has always finished loading before I start reading it.


By the way, don't try this if you don't have Tree Style Tabs, or at least Tab Mix Plus which formats unread tabs differently. You'll most likely be lost in a sea of tabs showing only "forums.thinkp...".
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#27 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed May 07, 2014 3:48 pm

I am a Moderator on this forum, and I read EVERY new post EVERY day, using exactly 1 tab, how's that?
On average I also have 1 tab for eBay, 1 tab for Gmail, 1 tab for Lenovo TYPE-info, and 1 tab for Google-searches.
That's only 5 tabs altogether!!
But let's not get into any arguments about numbers of tabs...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

EvoT61
Freshman Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:44 am
Location: London, UK

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#28 Post by EvoT61 » Wed May 07, 2014 5:50 pm

im a big taber ... and if i have less than 10 tabs im unhappy :D but the point of this is simple... i have interest in many things and when im googling and i c something that cought my eye i will open in new tab and leave it and carry on with my search... when i finished with my search im going trough the rest of it and reading, looking ...when im finished - closing... . this why some of us have plenty of tabs open.... so verdict is simple: less tabs - less interest in other things or waist of time by bookmarking them and deleting :D
IBM ThinkPad
T61 C2D-T8300 + FingerPrint.
ArchLinux ThinkPad
X220 i5-3320M

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7384
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#29 Post by BillMorrow » Thu May 08, 2014 3:51 am

dr_st wrote:Browsing habits of people indeed amaze me sometimes, but they are what they are.

Could be an issue of horizontally organized versus vertically organized folks.
http://www.structuredprocrastination.co ... n_port.php
A Plea for the Horizontally Organized sure hits home for me.. I will show this to the wife person.. who will say "AhHA" now clean up and put those papers in the trash..

the only thing I can say is the writer of "A Plea for the Horizontally Organized" misses a rule someone once admitted to being ruled by: "No horizontal space goes unfilled" which just about explains my office (if I could find it).. I DID see the floor when I moved in and I expect to see the floor again one day when I move out.. assuming a live that long..
see another post I made which included some thoughts on thinkpads, macbooks, iThings, thinkpad tablet 2's etc...
I will admit to being a 25 tab tabber with additional IE windows hiding under other IE windows with one or two FF windows..

this horizontallly organized thing comes into play here..
that's me but with the added complication of thinkpad notebook computers and tablets and iThings..
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

jdk
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:08 pm
Location: Germanton NC

Re: New Firefox 29.0 is a bonkers, crap POS!

#30 Post by jdk » Thu May 08, 2014 8:01 pm

twistero wrote:Just updated. I customize Firefox extensively so the update changed very little.

My tabs are on the left organized in a tree thanks to Tree Style Tab and Tab Mix Plus.
The bookmarks bar is turned on and all my most frequently used bookmarks are still there one click away.
The menu button moved to the main toolbar, and now I have a proper title bar that actually displays the page title without having to use the Personal Titlebar extension.
The add-on toolbar on the bottom of the screen is gone, and all buttons got crammed in the main toolbar instead. No problem; I moved most of them into the new menu grid.

And there it is, the same Firefox I use and love. :D
Years ago, when I was an Opera user, I had tabs on the left. Even before the whole widescreen-era, vertically stacked tabs made more sense to me. Nice to see that kind of add-on exists even for Firefox now, but I've moved on to the default Webkit-based browser that KDE uses.

As for Opera, they nearly went bankrupt and ended up divesting a lot of great products and laying off most of their developers. These days, they are content to add their logo to the Chrome browser and call it a day.
--
Cyrix 6x86

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Off-Topic Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests