Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X140e IPS screen upgrade and refresh rate questions

X100e/X120e/X130e/X140e Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
jogd01
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:34 pm
Location: ON Canada

X140e IPS screen upgrade and refresh rate questions

#1 Post by jogd01 » Tue May 07, 2019 9:16 am

Have an X140e and noticed it's screen wasn't the best but what really irked me was that it was running 50hz on Windows, yet when I booted and installed a Linux distribution it recognized the screen as 60hz, any insight why the refresh rate is being read incorrectly on Windows? Have up to date graphics drivers and monitor edid installed but I'm not able to change it under refresh rate options. Now the main part, because of those issues I decided to see if there's a IPS screen that I could swap out and it turns out there is; LG LP116WH6-SLA1. Original screen is IVO M116NWR1 R3, I can get 3/4 screws into the holes into the display holder but the not screwed in corner of the screen is raised up by the metal chassis. The laptop boots fine with the new screen installed but still has the 50hz max on Windows yet 60hz on Linux, any ideas how to make the transplant go as smoothly as possible? Here's a gallery of the screen not fitting: https://imgur.com/a/xwSj02v

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3781
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X140e IPS screen upgrade and refresh rate questions

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue May 07, 2019 1:12 pm

It looks like the wifi antennas are the cause of the screen not fitting.

Remove those first, then try fitting the screen again.
Planned Purchase: T480s i5-8350 FHD Touch
Impulse Buy: Thinkpad not named for safety reasons :lol:

Old Faithful: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

jogd01
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:34 pm
Location: ON Canada

Re: X140e IPS screen upgrade and refresh rate questions

#3 Post by jogd01 » Tue Jul 18, 2023 10:15 am

I was cleaning my place and found the X140e and remembered I had attempted this :lol: . It's not fitting because the new Panel I got is 280mm in length while the original was 278mm, another user pointed this out to me in a PM. Looks like the only other potentially compatible IPS panel is B116XAN03.0 or if you want to take a risk HSD116PHW1-C00, for the latter sellers on ebay say it's 30 pin LVDS while panelook says it's 40 pin (and doesn't list outline dimensions) which is what the laptop has. I don't use Windows anymore so the 50hz thing isn't a problem but I believe you can change the refresh rate with CRU or AMD's driver control panel.

TPFanatic
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2185
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: X140e IPS screen upgrade and refresh rate questions

#4 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Jul 18, 2023 10:46 am

The AMD Windows driver limiting options reminds me of my experience putting 1920x1200 in a Z60m which is the 915PM chipset. Under windows it refused to use 1920x1200, but ubuntu had no problem with 1920x1200. Also later with T500 and switchable graphics if I installed Lp154wu1-tlc1 from Alienware MX15, windows would only display black screen below 1280x800 resolution (Intel mode worked fine). My conclusion is the ATI drivers SUCK.

jogd01
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:34 pm
Location: ON Canada

Re: X140e IPS screen upgrade and refresh rate questions

#5 Post by jogd01 » Tue Oct 24, 2023 11:28 am

I forgot about this place again, sadly the IPS screen does not match up with the one that comes with the laptop by default, here are some pictures.

https://files.catbox.moe/iwqsk2.jpg

https://files.catbox.moe/ux3fbq.jpg

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X100e/X120e/X130e/X140e Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests