Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

X100e/X120e/X130e etc. series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#1 Post by basketb » Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:39 pm

I've got a W520 on the way to me and don't have an immediate use for the SSD that comes with it (if you have to ask why, it's too small).
So my question is now, can I just put the SSD with factory-installed Win 7 (64-bit) into an X130e (with AMD processor) and it will update all necessary drivers automatically or will it fail to boot? (in which case I'll just clone the X130e's existing drive onto the SSD). thx.

The Spirit of X21
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Contact:

Re: Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#2 Post by The Spirit of X21 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:27 am

In my experience, there's a chance it could work, but be ready with a Windows 7 install DVD and an external CD drive...

Did your W520 come with a 7mm SSD, or the more standard 9.5mm drive size?
X61 - 3GB, 80GB SSD

basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#3 Post by basketb » Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:57 pm

The Spirit of X21 wrote:In my experience, there's a chance it could work, but be ready with a Windows 7 install DVD and an external CD drive...

Did your W520 come with a 7mm SSD, or the more standard 9.5mm drive size?
I don't have it yet. It should be here Tuesday. Next weekend, I may have time to do the swap. Does the size of the SSD matter for the X130e?

The Spirit of X21
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: Providence, RI, USA
Contact:

Re: Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#4 Post by The Spirit of X21 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:09 am

From what I've read it does. The X130e does not take standard 9.5mm hard drives/SSDs, but rather 7.0mm ones...
X61 - 3GB, 80GB SSD

basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#5 Post by basketb » Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:02 pm

The Spirit of X21 wrote:From what I've read it does. The X130e does not take standard 9.5mm hard drives/SSDs, but rather 7.0mm ones...
Thanks for letting me know. I had not paid attention to this before. But, seems as if I lucked out. Looking up the part numbers that the W520 comes with, the SSD is a 7mm Intel one.

basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#6 Post by basketb » Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:58 pm

basketb wrote:I've got a W520 on the way to me and don't have an immediate use for the SSD that comes with it (if you have to ask why, it's too small).
So my question is now, can I just put the SSD with factory-installed Win 7 (64-bit) into an X130e (with AMD processor) and it will update all necessary drivers automatically or will it fail to boot? (in which case I'll just clone the X130e's existing drive onto the SSD). thx.
To close the loop on this one, here's what happened. Putting the SSD in the X130e produced a blue screen right away at start up. The system tried to repair itself. However, there was no measurable progress for a long time. So I aborted it and installed Windows 7 from scratch on the SSD.

dmdsoftware
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Re: Putting W520 SSD into X130e?

#7 Post by dmdsoftware » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:16 am

Historically speaking across Win 2000, Win XP, Win Vista, and Win 7 recovery disks for Thinkpads, the image once installed on a hard drive can't see to be transplanted to a different model type. You go in an endless bluescreen, recovery, etc hell that never goes away. Never saw this when moving a standard non-recovery disk install of windows from one machine type to another. Must be done on purpose as the Windows is pre-activated.
X62 & X62s & X62T SXGA+ i7 5600u 8-16GB
Helix i7
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 4x-i7
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7
LegoThinkpad 11"

in storage:
X131e AMD
X60/X60s, X61/X61s/X61T, T61, T420, X30

past:
X20-X24, 390X

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1xxe Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest