Thinking about an X1?0e FrankenPad...

X100e/X120e/X130e etc. series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
ibidem
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:53 pm
Location: Redding, California

Thinking about an X1?0e FrankenPad...

#1 Post by ibidem » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:43 pm

I've got an X100e ThinkPad, which runs Linux...but is, of course, noisy and hot...
I understand that the X120e is a bit cooler, quieter, and longer-lasting in battery life.
What's more, the newer GPU can be used for OpenCL and VDPAU, with current Mesa.

So, I'm pondering sticking an X120e motherboard in it.
As far as I can tell (reading the X100e/X120e HMM), it "should be possible", with some case modifications to accommodate the HDMI out and relocated USB port.
Am I missing something?
Would there be an oddity with the X120e internals that makes the board not fit?

I expect that the RTL8192SEVA2 ("Thinkpad b/g/n") that I have would still work with the new board.

Besides that, I have 2 smaller mods in mind:
-See if I can replace the webcam with a thinklight...
-Try to put a 1280x800 LCD in it.

ZaZ
moderator
moderator
Posts: 4496
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Thinking about an X1?0e FrankenPad...

#2 Post by ZaZ » Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:23 am

ibidem wrote:Am I missing something?
Wouldn't it be easier and perhaps cheaper to just sell your X100e, then buy the X120e you want? For a few extra dollars, you could probably get a much more powerful X200. Plus, it probably runs cooler too and offers longer battery life.
ProBook 470 G3

ibidem
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:53 pm
Location: Redding, California

Re: Thinking about an X1?0e FrankenPad...

#3 Post by ibidem » Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:38 pm

ZaZ wrote:
ibidem wrote:Am I missing something?
Wouldn't it be easier and perhaps cheaper to just sell your X100e, then buy the X120e you want? For a few extra dollars, you could probably get a much more powerful X200. Plus, it probably runs cooler too and offers longer battery life.
First, getting an X200: Not interested. I got an X100e specifically because it wasn't Intel.
Also, I'm wanting to play with clover opencl (~radeon only, with some nouveau support).

Easier: Not really, I've reconnected the LVDS cable a few times now... I can take this apart pretty easily, and it reassembles just as well.

Finally, I don't want to get rid of the old mainboard; swapping parts is fine, and I sometimes like to test older hardware.
Thanks for the comments, though.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1xxe Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest