X120e

X100e/X120e/X130e etc. series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
sma_15
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:39 pm
Location: NS, Canada <unverified>

X120e

#1 Post by sma_15 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:49 pm

I love the size of the X120e and was wondering if I wanted to get creative, what upgrades could I do with it? I have 8 gb ram added already. Do any other processors fit the board? I have E-350 currently, or do other boards fit the chassis? What wifi cards would be supported other than the thinkpad wifi and broadcom?

ZaZ
moderator
moderator
Posts: 4502
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: X120e

#2 Post by ZaZ » Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:31 am

It's very unusual for a board to fit in another machine with out at least some modification, notebooks being highly specialized, though I don't the specifics on the X120e. The CPU is soldered to the board, so you can only swap the board to get a new CPU unless you have some soldering skillz. I think most people would tell you a SSD is probably the best performance upgrade you can make, but the E-350 CPU processing power is slow enough that it will hamper the SSD performance. Lenovo likes to whitelist cards in the BIOS, meaning it won't work unless it's a Lenovo branded card, even if it's a card Lenovo used, but came from another brand or a generic. Keep that in mind. I don't what other cards people have tried, but a search of the forum is probably worthwhile. Good luck and welcome to TPF.
ProBook 470 G3

DaKKS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: X120e

#3 Post by DaKKS » Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:34 am

I maxed my X120E with 8GB ram, a 256GB SSD, a 802.11AC wifi card an a Broadcom HD decoder. I don't thing you can do more at this point aside from getting larger SSD's.
Thinkpad Edge E530 | Intel i7-3610 | Intel HD 4000 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | Intel 330 180GB+64GB Kingston mSATA | 6 cell | Windows 8.1 Pro/Ubuntu 15.04 |
Thinkpad X61s | L7500 | Intel X3100 | 8GB DDR2-800 | Intel 330 180GB + 160GB Samsung | Gobi 3000 | 8 Cell | Windows 7 | Windows XP 64 bit |

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X120e

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Feb 08, 2015 3:44 pm

Broadcom HD decoder
Doesn't the X120e have video decode support using the Radeon HD 6310 built-in graphics?
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

DaKKS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: X120e

#5 Post by DaKKS » Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:40 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Broadcom HD decoder
Doesn't the X120e have video decode support using the Radeon HD 6310 built-in graphics?
I dunno, but I cant get the card to work under Windows anyway. Worked miracles for every other laptop I ever tried it in so i gave it a shot. But it doesn't matter cause I'm gonna shelf the X120e soon anyways. Ordered a Aspire ES1 to replace it. The E-350 is starting to show its age.
Thinkpad Edge E530 | Intel i7-3610 | Intel HD 4000 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | Intel 330 180GB+64GB Kingston mSATA | 6 cell | Windows 8.1 Pro/Ubuntu 15.04 |
Thinkpad X61s | L7500 | Intel X3100 | 8GB DDR2-800 | Intel 330 180GB + 160GB Samsung | Gobi 3000 | 8 Cell | Windows 7 | Windows XP 64 bit |

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X120e

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:15 pm

The E-350 is starting to show its age.
So true. The dual-core Celeron N2830 is faster, the quad-core N2940 even more so.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

DaKKS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: X120e

#7 Post by DaKKS » Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:24 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
The E-350 is starting to show its age.
So true. The dual-core Celeron N2830 is faster, the quad-core N2940 even more so.
Its got a N2840. Just a tad faster. Threw in 8GB ram and an SSD. Much, much more so than the E-350. It might just even pull off some light games.
Thinkpad Edge E530 | Intel i7-3610 | Intel HD 4000 | 8GB DDR3-1600 | Intel 330 180GB+64GB Kingston mSATA | 6 cell | Windows 8.1 Pro/Ubuntu 15.04 |
Thinkpad X61s | L7500 | Intel X3100 | 8GB DDR2-800 | Intel 330 180GB + 160GB Samsung | Gobi 3000 | 8 Cell | Windows 7 | Windows XP 64 bit |

iMav
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:11 am
Location: Columbus, WI
Contact:

Re: X120e

#8 Post by iMav » Sat Sep 05, 2015 2:49 pm

DaKKS wrote:I maxed my X120E with 8GB ram, a 256GB SSD, a 802.11AC wifi card an a Broadcom HD decoder. I don't thing you can do more at this point aside from getting larger SSD's.
The X120e will take 16GB of ram (2x8GB).

I just installed Win10 on mine:
Image

AdaSch
Sophomore Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 5:38 am
Location: Poland, Gdansk

Re: X120e

#9 Post by AdaSch » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:34 am

faster cpu from AMD? stock heat sink is critical.
W500 @ T9900, 7K750, 2GB ITM as TMP :twisted:
now W500, W700, X301, X120e,T43p
before T23, T40, T43p*2, T61p*3 (I hate Nvidia),
Total solution for absolutely ZERO oscillatory noise in t4x
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... highlight=

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1xxe Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests