Some questions about my AMD x131e

X100e/X120e/X130e etc. series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
simonmelvis
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:10 pm
Location: Blayney NSW, Australia

Some questions about my AMD x131e

#1 Post by simonmelvis » Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:31 pm

Hi guys, Im new to this forum but wanted to see if I can get as much info as I can about my AMD powered x131e Notebook. I love this notebook bought it brand new when it came out from USA (Im from Australia and they didnt have this model) and I havent had a single issue with it.

My main questions are is there any way to get the BIOS to run the memory at 1600MHz? Mine came with 4GB of DDR3 1600MHz but I cant change it in the BIOS it seems as its clocked down at 1333MHz and everyone knows the faster the memory the better the APU Graphics perform. Its updated to the latest BIOS also.

My second question is what is the max Memory this laptop can hold? im thinking of increasing the RAM to 8GB

Thirdly is the CPU soldered to the motherboard and can not be changed?

Last question I have run a SSD in it for awhile but now got the old seagate 320GB HDD back in but can I run a mSata drive in this machine?

Many thanks :)

excal32
Sophomore Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:55 am
Location: Banned

Re: Some questions about my AMD x131e

#2 Post by excal32 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:00 pm

I remember this annoyance with my AMD x130e. I could not find a way around it. I was hoping someone would mod the BIOS, but nobody ever did that. I don't have a x131e or I might be tempted to do it myself. Sorry this isn't super helpful of a post, but unless something on the motherboard is incapable of doing 1600. I fear that's the only way, is a modified BIOS.
1x R500 (P8600), R61e [T9300], X61 (T7300) - RIP T420 (replaced by HP Z420 workstation)

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Some questions about my AMD x131e

#3 Post by jronald » Mon Sep 05, 2016 3:51 pm

I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

ZaZ
moderator
moderator
Posts: 4498
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Some questions about my AMD x131e

#4 Post by ZaZ » Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:59 pm

I believe the max memory is 8GB. I can't imagine running 1600MHz memory would make any substantive difference. The CPU is soldered, so your only option would be to swap the board for one with a better CPU.
ProBook 470 G3

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1xxe Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests