Bored: Upgrade my X120e

X1xx series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Bored: Upgrade my X120e

#1 Post by jronald » Sat May 28, 2016 3:37 pm

So I got bored.
I travel with a X120e, its tiny compared to my daily driver but has enough of the classic Thinkpads feature it works very well. When purchased it had a Western Digital 250gig HDD in it that was a total waste of space.

As I said I was bored and surfing Fleabay, and stumbled on a mSATA HDD, knowing I had a spare slot in the bottom of this thing I thought maybe? I did some research and discovered this was a royal PITA. Looking around some more I found a SATA to mSATA case that bolted in just like the 2.5 SATA HDD. Bought both.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/361534363987?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
http://www.ebay.com/itm/142002359475?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
Install was identical to a regular HDD, & W7 never knew the difference. If I run into no issues in 90 days Ill upsize the HDD.

I also added this after I flashed the BIOS to remove the white list
http://www.ebay.com/itm/221458610067?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

So with 24 gigs primary and 2X32 gigs for storage, all of it flash based Im kind of curious as to what the run time will be on this little beast.
Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Bored: Upgrade my X120e

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun May 29, 2016 6:56 am

1. Laptops with mSATA slots are relatively rare.

2. 24GB is probably not enough once the OS updates and temp files start coming in. The rarely-used Win 7 installation in my X220 already takes up 27GB.

3. Nice mPCIe to microSD adapter.

Keep us posted on how long the battery lasts.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Bored: Upgrade my X120e

#3 Post by jronald » Sun May 29, 2016 1:06 pm

Im a tick over 19 gigs.

I stumbled on a NEW 64gig for $30.00, I have it coming.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

iMav
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:11 am
Location: Columbus, WI
Contact:

Re: Bored: Upgrade my X120e

#4 Post by iMav » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:39 am

You should also upgrade the ram...

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008JEZ4R8/

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X1xx Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests