Page 1 of 1

Put Edge11 (i3 380u) motherboard into Thinkpad X120e

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 1:41 am
by vbjpad
I have Thinkpad x120e with AMD APU and it's quite slow. I can get edge 11 motherboard with i3 380u cpu, that would increase performance somewhat. Would x120e support edge11 motherboard.
Just looking at pictures it seems to have same layout (same ports, screw hole locations etc).

Re: Put Edge11 (i3 380u) motherboard into Thinkpad X120e

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:01 pm
by TPFanatic
Good God you're right. I think you can.

Re: Put Edge11 (i3 380u) motherboard into Thinkpad X120e

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:49 pm
by DaKKS
You did not just say that. You didnt... I just put this thing into service again. Now i have to get an edge 11 board and try it out... darn... My nonexistent self control strikes again.

Re: Put Edge11 (i3 380u) motherboard into Thinkpad X120e

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:32 am
by vbjpad
Finally got some money and time to spare, bought edge 11 motherboard and put it in X120 chassis. Just plain motherboard everything else is from x120e cooling system, connectors, IO board, speakers, display, wireless/bluetooth cards, camera, trackpint/touchpad and keyboard* work.
There is only one small problem that I have noticed, top row on keyboard by default is not F1-F12 keys and need to be set to legacy in bios.
Also symbols for FN+F key like volume down mute etc doesn't exactly match symbols on X120e keyboard but they work if you know what to press.
Otherwise it works fine.
*Keyboard top row works as e11 but symbols on x120e keyboard doesn't match all functions so you have to remember what is what, if you use FN+F key for volume down/mute/brightness etc.

Re: Put Edge11 (i3 380u) motherboard into Thinkpad X120e

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:14 pm
by TheForgottenKing
vbjpad wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 3:32 am
Finally got some money and time to spare, bought edge 11 motherboard and put it in X120 chassis. Just plain motherboard everything else is from x120e cooling system, connectors, IO board, speakers, display, wireless/bluetooth cards, camera, trackpint/touchpad and keyboard* work.
There is only one small problem that I have noticed, top row on keyboard by default is not F1-F12 keys and need to be set to legacy in bios.
Also symbols for FN+F key like volume down mute etc doesn't exactly match symbols on X120e keyboard but they work if you know what to press.
Otherwise it works fine.
*Keyboard top row works as e11 but symbols on x120e keyboard doesn't match all functions so you have to remember what is what, if you use FN+F key for volume down/mute/brightness etc.
You could just rearrange the keys