390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
pbramberg
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 am
Location: Luleå, Sweden

390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#1 Post by pbramberg » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:28 am

I have been attempting to update the BIOS on my 390X (0.30 to 0.55) using the IBM diskette; after saying "Updating..." for a few minutes it pops up with "A hardware error occurred". The system works fine and it boots perfectly after this but the BIOS has not been updated. Can anything be done to remedy this error?

Thank you in advance and please excuse any errors in my English as it is not my native language!

fultontech
Sophomore Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:38 am
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Contact:

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#2 Post by fultontech » Sat Sep 30, 2017 8:00 am

Have you tried using a different floppy diskette?
IBM P75
IBM ThinkPad 700, 720C, 750Cs, 360C, 360P, 360CE, 360PE, 730TE, PC110, 365CSD, 365ED, 701Cs, 820, 600X, 770X, 240, T30
IBM RS/6000 43P 150
Lenovo ThinkPad X41T, X61T, X200T, X201T, X220T, X230T
Lenovo ThinkCenter M92p Tiny, M900 Tiny

pbramberg
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 am
Location: Luleå, Sweden

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#3 Post by pbramberg » Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:12 am

I have tried two different diskettes, both of them work fine and the diskette drive has no trouble reading or writing.

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7177
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#4 Post by BillMorrow » Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:42 pm

hello..
it occurs to me to ask why update the BIOS anyway..?
as long as your thinkpad is working well..
is there some other compelling reason..?

meanwhile welcome to the forum.. :)
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

pbramberg
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 am
Location: Luleå, Sweden

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#5 Post by pbramberg » Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:22 pm

It doesn't work as it should with 256MB memory modules in it, according to the release notes this problem was fixed in version 0.38 of the BIOS and I could only find version 0.55.

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7177
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#6 Post by BillMorrow » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:46 pm

that 390X is a seriously old model of thinkpad..
and adding more memory IS a compelling reason to update the BIOS..

i have not tried updating the BIOS on any of my antique thinkpads..


forum member hwattys and a few others might be able to add something here BUT the last few times i updated a BIOS was so simple.. no floppy needed..

hmmmm.. perhaps we should explore what kind of hardware error is popping up..
hardware error with the floppy diskette or drive or an error with the 390X itself..? perhaps a memory error..? have you tested the memory recently..?
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

pbramberg
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 am
Location: Luleå, Sweden

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#7 Post by pbramberg » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:14 am

Thank you for the tip! I haven't had time to try until today as I have been out of town but memtest86+ reports no memory errors after ten passes.

BillMorrow
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin
Posts: 7177
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco -> Florida -> Georgia
Contact:

Re: 390X BIOS update hardware error occurred

#8 Post by BillMorrow » Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:12 pm

ok, memory appears to be OK..

floppy appears to be OK..

perhaps it wants to update from the existing bios rev level to the NEXT and not jump several rev levels..?
thats the next possible issue..
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests