Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#1 Post by Ghostdog » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:04 pm

Hello, has anyone had experience with replacing CPU on 701cs's board ? Did you have the problems with floppy drive and sound chip ?
I got freezes and reboots when trying to open a floppy. And also freezes if sound chip tries to play any sound. So I have to disable sound chip in BIOS to be able to start the Windows or disable all windows sounds.

Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#2 Post by Ghostdog » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:58 pm

Could someone make some photos of a working modified motherboard, maybe I could compare them with mine and find out the difference.

tfflivemb2
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 5548
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#3 Post by tfflivemb2 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:21 pm

I just quickly searched the forum, and found a pretty nice link that explains the upgrade and overclocking process, on the 701's:
https://blog.noq2.net/butterfly-on-spee ... z-mod.html

Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#4 Post by Ghostdog » Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:41 pm

Yes, I did all according to this guide. But it seems that this upgrade is not complete. People in the comments also had some problems, but with external display. They don't say anything about floppy drive or sound card. I didn't checked external display yet, maybe it will be also a problem.

If you check the last comment at the link below you will find a nickname badabumm who says that the upgrade in this article is not complete, but he doesn't give any details about how to make it complete.

https://hackaday.com/2014/10/21/thinkpa ... /#comments

Thus I think there should be done some more things.

Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#5 Post by Ghostdog » Sat Sep 21, 2019 5:21 am

So no one can help me with photos of a modified TP701c board ?

MooNWalker
Freshman Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:54 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#6 Post by MooNWalker » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:20 am

I do have an AMD 5x86 133MHz board, got it from the very same badabumm. But it's a lot of hassle to open up the machine to get to it. 701C(S) is probably the most difficult to disassemble/reassemble ThinkPad I've worked on.

The comments in the post mention heat, and mine does get quite hot after running for a while under full load, but manages to stay stable otherwise, with floppy and sound working fine. There is a heat spreader installed on my unit, did you install anything to manage heat on yours?
This message was created with 100% recycled electrons

Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#7 Post by Ghostdog » Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:17 pm

No, I didn't install any heatsink on the CPU. Yes it's hot but I think it is acceptably. It doesn't freeze if I don't use floppy drive or sound card. It had been tested it in Quake for an hour or more. It's a pity that you don't have photos of your board, they could help me to find what else should be modified. :(

MooNWalker
Freshman Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:54 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#8 Post by MooNWalker » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:03 am

Ghostdog wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:17 pm
No, I didn't install any heatsink on the CPU. Yes it's hot but I think it is acceptably. It doesn't freeze if I don't use floppy drive or sound card. It had been tested it in Quake for an hour or more. It's a pity that you don't have photos of your board, they could help me to find what else should be modified. :(
I think I might have some photos of it, but I'll need some time to dig them up if I do. Though they are likely of not high enough quality to see the specific elements on the board.
This message was created with 100% recycled electrons

Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#9 Post by Ghostdog » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:13 am

Thanks, it would be something. I can't find photos of any quality in the Web.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2317
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#10 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:59 am

Floppy and sound have something in common: a DMA channel. This leads me to believe that this is an issue regarding that. A quick search for "AMD 5x86 DMA" yields this forum post: http://www.vcfed.org/forum/archive/inde ... 11670.html. Quoting a relevant excerpt:
Additionally, there is some kind of problem related to am5x86 in that it will not cooperate with VLB SCSI controllers that use DMA while writeback cache is enabled. Setting the CPU to write-through will fix the problem though.
You could try setting the L1 cache to write-through and see if it helps.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Ghostdog
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Russia, Obninsk

Re: Thinkpad 701cs Upgrade AMD 5x86 133Mhz

#11 Post by Ghostdog » Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:27 pm

Thanks, I've already tried it, it didn't help. It only decreased CPU performance. Seems the problem with HITM# signal from CPU to Chipset it can also cause floppy problems.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests