Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

HDD caddy for the 360

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
my03
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:06 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

HDD caddy for the 360

#1 Post by my03 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:26 am

Hi,

i guess many of you guys know this by heart:

Is it very difficult to exchange the existing HD (in my case 170mb) without breading the caddy itself (on a model 360cs). I found this e-shop where it is sold still: http://www.pchub.com/uph/laptop/38-3697 ... apter.html and if this one (for 355 but i assume it fits a 360 also) works with regular 2.5 ide drives, then i might give it a go (given of course that i use a drive that has a max capacity of 4 (?) GB (or 2?)?

What would work?

br

D
W530 w.3740qm, 24gb, 240+120gb ssd, 1980x1080
T410 w. I7-640m, 8GB, 240+128gb ssd hd, 1440x900
X61 w. T7500, 8GB, 240gb ssd, 1024x768 (middleton bios)
(T61 w. T9300, 8GB, 240gb + 120gb ssd hd, 1440x1050 (middleton bios) - sold)

fultontech
Sophomore Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:38 am
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Contact:

Re: HDD caddy for the 360

#2 Post by fultontech » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:46 am

The answer is mixed. The ThinkPad BIOS has to know the drive geometry or it will not be recognized correctly. Later BIOS versions will recognize a blank drive up to and including 1.2GB (so the later drives in a caddy from the 755 would be useable in the 360 or 750). Without the BIOS update, you could put a drive that had been staged in a 755 and have it work, but if you use FDISK on it, it will be recognized as something much smaller in capacity and may not write the boot track on the correct sector of the disk to be found at power on.

As far as opening the caddy and putting a different IDE drive in it, there were 3rd party caddies at one point that were open and you could put your own drive into it. I know there are flash drives that can be put in the caddies as long as a pin or two get cut off.

Your biggest obstacle will be the BIOS and what it recognizes. Personal Computers from 1993-1995 were still very much manually configured.
IBM P75
IBM ThinkPad 700, 720C, 750Cs, 360C, 360P, 360CE, 360PE, 730TE, PC110, 365CSD, 365ED, 701Cs, 820, 600X, 770X, 240, T30
IBM RS/6000 43P 150
Lenovo ThinkPad X41T, X61T, X200T, X201T, X220T, X230T
Lenovo ThinkCenter M92p Tiny, M900 Tiny

hwattys
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:14 am
Location: Central Indiana
Contact:

Re: HDD caddy for the 360

#3 Post by hwattys » Thu Sep 07, 2017 1:11 pm

I have a box full of hard drives from the 360/750/755 laptops and have disassembled and reconfigured them quite frequently. You can put in up to an 810 mb hard 2.5 inch IDE drive and you can put in larger IDE drives but there is a trick to it involving clipping two of the traces on the ribbon cable.

Disassembling the caddy is a little tricky but easy once you have done it a couple times.

my03
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:06 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: HDD caddy for the 360

#4 Post by my03 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:23 am

Hi Fultontech and hwattys,

Its very nice to hear that it is in fact a doable thing. I found this company that still sells caddies for a lot of the older thinkpads and i might actually order one from them (knowing that i will probably mess up the original caddy......). So 1.2gb is the upper limit?

That cutting traces thing, is that something i can read about somewhere?

br

D.
W530 w.3740qm, 24gb, 240+120gb ssd, 1980x1080
T410 w. I7-640m, 8GB, 240+128gb ssd hd, 1440x900
X61 w. T7500, 8GB, 240gb ssd, 1024x768 (middleton bios)
(T61 w. T9300, 8GB, 240gb + 120gb ssd hd, 1440x1050 (middleton bios) - sold)

fultontech
Sophomore Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:38 am
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Contact:

Re: HDD caddy for the 360

#5 Post by fultontech » Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:39 am

If you look in the "Personal Systems Reference" it states that the IDE disks in caddies for the 755 series will work in the 360 and 750 family. Those went up to 1.2GB according to the documentation. I can verify up to the 1.2GB working (with the BIOS upgrades).

I thought I read somewhere that the later model 360"E" from 1995 could use larger, but I don't recall exactly since I was getting AIX working, and that required the 340MB max drive to boot.
IBM P75
IBM ThinkPad 700, 720C, 750Cs, 360C, 360P, 360CE, 360PE, 730TE, PC110, 365CSD, 365ED, 701Cs, 820, 600X, 770X, 240, T30
IBM RS/6000 43P 150
Lenovo ThinkPad X41T, X61T, X200T, X201T, X220T, X230T
Lenovo ThinkCenter M92p Tiny, M900 Tiny

goldeneagle
Freshman Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 8:06 pm
Location: Bandera, TX

Re: HDD caddy for the 360

#6 Post by goldeneagle » Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:39 am

The largest drive you can use in a 355/360/750/755/760, from my personal experience, is about 6.4GB.

In fact, in the late 90s, I used a 2.1GB drive in my 750 (which was a mobile server then) and a 6.4GB drive in my 701 (different BIOS, but you get the idea). In fact, I have a stack here of drives varying between 810MB and about 4GB.

Now there are some caveats. At some point, drives would not work in ThinkPads, unless you snipped off the master/slave pins (separate block of 4 pins). The earliest drives (170, 340, 540, 720, 810) worked without a problem, but at some point, something changed, as I think our ThinkPads would automatically shunt the cable select part of the drives, or something like that.

SSDs are also a whole new beast. I've had the WORST luck with Compact Flash cards over 512MB. Like fultontech says, geometry makes a difference. The best luck I've had (which are a little hard to come by on ebay, since everyone bought them up) are 1GB and 2GB IDE SSDs. My favorites are the 2GB SiliconDrives (owned by Western Digital, marketed as industrial IDE drives), and also 1GB SiliconDrive or SimpleTech. I personally use these and don't have any problems, although I have yet to install a full array of OSes (OS/2, NT, DOS, Win95, Linux, and NetBSD).

I should add, I've gotten 2GB CF cards to work, but only with a newer-ish OS, like Windows 98. DOS will NOT boot from a 2GB CF card, although it is recognized if you boot by floppy (again, I'm thinking it's a translation problem).

Hopefully this post helps some!
Historic ThinkPads owned:
300, 360C, 360CE (x2), 360CSE, 510CS, 560, 560E, 701C, 701CS, 730TE, 750, 750C, 755C (x3), 755CE, 755CX (SVGA), 755CDV, 760ED, 770
Newer ThinkPads owned:
T520, W520 (x2), X220 Tablet (x4), and some T61/X61T laying around somewhere

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LukasV and 8 guests