Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
SteveCoops
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:03 am
Location: Essex, UK

Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#1 Post by SteveCoops » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:11 am

Hi all,
First post :)

I've just picked up a 360CSE which boots into Windows fine but two columns of keys don't work (0 P ; / and - [ '). One other column (2 W S X) has started working since stripping the unit down and reseating the ribbon cables and the circuit board they connect into. The mouse nipple work fine.

Any tips on how to try and fix this? I can't see how the keyboard comes apart. Or any idea where I can get a new keyboard from? Wouldn't be so bad if the PS/2 port took a keyboard as well as a mouse! It's the colon key I need the most :( Or how can I prove it's the keyboard and not the motherboard?

EDIT - it seems you can hook up an external keyboard using a keyboard/mouse cable - does this or the keyboard have to be anything special? Just ordered a StarTech one off eBay. I tried the only PS2 keyboard I have directly into the port - a relatively modern HP one, but that didn't work.

EDIT2 - I can find a US version of the keyboard easily enough on Amazon, I guess it'll work?

Cheers,
Steve

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1790
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:43 am

Educated guess: it's the same as the Thinkpad 760 series PS/2 port.

Image

Code: Select all

Pin 1	+Mouse DATA
Pin 2	+Keyboard DATA
Pin 3	GND
Pin 4	+5 V DC
Pin 5	+Mouse CLOCK
Pin 6	+Keyboard CLOCK
Normal PS/2 mouse port:

Code: Select all

Pin 1	+Mouse DATA
Pin 2	Unused
Pin 3	GND
Pin 4	+5 V DC
Pin 5	+Mouse CLOCK
Pin 6	Unused
Normal PS/2 Keyboard port:

Code: Select all

Pin 1	+Keyboard DATA
Pin 2	Unused
Pin 3	GND
Pin 4	+5 V DC
Pin 5	+Keyboard CLOCK
Pin 6	Unused
I actually built my own splitter long ago, when I had a 760XD.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60/s Frankenpad Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E, X61 T7500
:cry:

SteveCoops
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:03 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#3 Post by SteveCoops » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:29 am

Aha that's excellent - I'll see if I've got some old cables I can chop up and make an adapter.

I've tried cleaning the ribbon cable contacts on the internal keyboard and if anything made it worse - sometimes I get a 301 error on bootup now.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19001
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:05 am

Cables like that are available at Maplin: https://www.maplin.co.uk/p/maplin-ps2-t ... able-l86bt
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#5 Post by thinkpadcollection » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:12 am

"keyboard and mouse ps/2 splitter" on ebay.

I had to purchase one for dell with low profile serial and ps/2 adapter as well.

https://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_odkw=ke ... r&_sacat=0

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

SteveCoops
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:03 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#6 Post by SteveCoops » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:39 am

Thanks all. I've got one on the way from eBay, hopefully will work.

Using axur-delmeria's notes I have got my PS/2 keyboard work using 4 male-female jumper wires for now - at least the rest of the Thinkpad works perfectly. Forgot how bad the old dual scan screens were when trying a couple games!
https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipO ... FQa0VzQ1FR

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1790
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Just got a 360CSE but faulty keyboard

#7 Post by axur-delmeria » Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:37 pm

Happy to help. :D

I know how bad STN screens are: we used a Compaq Contura Aero 4/33C before getting the 760XD.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60/s Frankenpad Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E, X61 T7500
:cry:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests