Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

760C cd-rom

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

760C cd-rom

#1 Post by LarBob » Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:49 pm

Hi, I read on ThinkWiki that the 760C doesn't support UltraBay "thick". Does this mean that the CD-ROM drive available for the original ultrabay won't work at all or just that it won't fit properly? Is it possible to get a cd-rom drive working with this laptop? Thanks all.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: 760C cd-rom

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:18 pm

Well if you can jam a 5.25" x 1.3" CD-ROM drive in a 3.5" x 1" hole, I'm all ears.
Your options are from best to worst:
1: Dock
2: PCMCIA CD-ROM
3: Backpack CD-ROM(LPT)
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: 760C cd-rom

#3 Post by LarBob » Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:21 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:18 pm
Well if you can jam a 5.25" x 1.3" CD-ROM drive in a 3.5" x 1" hole, I'm all ears.
Your options are from best to worst:
1: Dock
2: PCMCIA CD-ROM
3: Backpack CD-ROM(LPT)
That's what I was thinking too, the problem is that I'd like to install NeXTSTEP/Rhapsody and I'm not sure it'd support options 2/3 in the installer and I can't find a dock. Thanks

edit: also, there are drives listed as working with 750, 755, 9545, 755CD, 760 (4x drive, part: 73H9983) but the size isn't listed, could it possibly be correct?

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1946
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: 760C cd-rom

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:47 pm

Here's a video of a 760C. At 0:23 you'll see the Ultrabay with a floppy drive installed.

Now compare it with this picture of a 760XD.

In the 760XD, the shape and size of the floppy drive's bezel is different, larger, with an extension around an inch or so at the upper right. It's extra space in order to accommodate the CD drive. The 760C lacks this.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: 760C cd-rom

#5 Post by LarBob » Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:00 am

axur-delmeria wrote:
Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:47 pm
Here's a video of a 760C. At 0:23 you'll see the Ultrabay with a floppy drive installed.

Now compare it with this picture of a 760XD.

In the 760XD, the shape and size of the floppy drive's bezel is different, larger, with an extension around an inch or so at the upper right. It's extra space in order to accommodate the CD drive. The 760C lacks this.
Ah okay thank you, from what I've gathered my best option will be to use a PCMCIA SCSI card and use that for the CDROM to install NeXTSTEP. Sorry for the dumb questions, I had trouble finding info on this. Thank you very much.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1946
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: 760C cd-rom

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:52 am

Not a dumb question, it's just that you're not familiar with the 760 series.

I had a 760XD long ago, that's why I know a bit more about them. :wink:
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: 760C cd-rom

#7 Post by LarBob » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:25 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:52 am
Not a dumb question, it's just that you're not familiar with the 760 series.

I had a 760XD long ago, that's why I know a bit more about them. :wink:
Thank you for the help. Off topic question, if I have a 365XD can I use a Compaq parallel port floppy drive to boot from or do I need an internal drive?

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1946
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: 760C cd-rom

#8 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:08 am

The 365XD has a connector for an external floppy drive, but according to this Thinkwiki page, it's specific to that model and different from the 760's.

If you already have an external floppy drive for the 760 (with a removable cable), you just need the cable for the 365XD.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: 760C cd-rom

#9 Post by LarBob » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:56 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:08 am
The 365XD has a connector for an external floppy drive, but according to this Thinkwiki page, it's specific to that model and different from the 760's.

If you already have an external floppy drive for the 760 (with a removable cable), you just need the cable for the 365XD.
No, I just have a floppy that goes through the parallel port from Compaq. So do I need to buy a floppy drive or will that one work?

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: 760C cd-rom

#10 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 pm

LarBob wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:56 pm
axur-delmeria wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:08 am
The 365XD has a connector for an external floppy drive, but according to this Thinkwiki page, it's specific to that model and different from the 760's.

If you already have an external floppy drive for the 760 (with a removable cable), you just need the cable for the 365XD.
No, I just have a floppy that goes through the parallel port from Compaq. So do I need to buy a floppy drive or will that one work?
NO, NO, NO!!!!! Parallel port floppy drives are the biggest waste of time. The Compaq's have special circuitry to rewire the parallel port to an internal floppy. The Thinkpad will not have it any may possibly fry it. A PCMCIA floppy is worth a try, but likely not work. You will want a dock it and use the dock for the floppy.

Or simply buy this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-IBM-Th ... SwCkZZPvFG
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: 760C cd-rom

#11 Post by LarBob » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:15 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 pm
LarBob wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:56 pm


No, I just have a floppy that goes through the parallel port from Compaq. So do I need to buy a floppy drive or will that one work?
NO, NO, NO!!!!! Parallel port floppy drives are the biggest waste of time. The Compaq's have special circuitry to rewire the parallel port to an internal floppy. The Thinkpad will not have it any may possibly fry it. A PCMCIA floppy is worth a try, but likely not work. You will want a dock it and use the dock for the floppy.

Or simply buy this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-IBM-Th ... SwCkZZPvFG
Yeah, that was my assumption, I didn't try it don't worry lol. What drive should I try to use with that, I don't have a drive? For example, would this be good? https://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-Thinkpad-3 ... Sw~T9aYixY
Sorry for the ignorance, I haven't ever worked with a ThinkPad of this vintage.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: 760C cd-rom

#12 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:23 pm

LarBob wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:15 pm
Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 pm


NO, NO, NO!!!!! Parallel port floppy drives are the biggest waste of time. The Compaq's have special circuitry to rewire the parallel port to an internal floppy. The Thinkpad will not have it any may possibly fry it. A PCMCIA floppy is worth a try, but likely not work. You will want a dock it and use the dock for the floppy.

Or simply buy this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-IBM-Th ... SwCkZZPvFG
Yeah, that was my assumption, I didn't try it don't worry lol. What drive should I try to use with that, I don't have a drive? For example, would this be good? https://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-Thinkpad-3 ... Sw~T9aYixY
Sorry for the ignorance, I haven't ever worked with a ThinkPad of this vintage.
Ah, dont worry about it. Ive done my fair share of stupidity with TPs.

That wont work because the cable is soldered on for a 600X and T2x machines.

I have one for a 570E. Ill look for its P/N later today if I can find ir.

https://m.ebay.com/itm/5K5841-IBM-Think ... SwZlZaAO0i

This one has the drive in question inside the dock. Its 3.5" wide and made by TEAC. The connector is on the back, not the side.

EDIT: As promised, the drive P/N.

TEAC P/N: FD-05P2
ASM P/N: 05K8958
FRU P/N: 05K8989

https://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-1-44MB-3-5 ... 1650449371
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

LarBob
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: 760C cd-rom

#13 Post by LarBob » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:54 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:23 pm
LarBob wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:15 pm


Yeah, that was my assumption, I didn't try it don't worry lol. What drive should I try to use with that, I don't have a drive? For example, would this be good? https://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-Thinkpad-3 ... Sw~T9aYixY
Sorry for the ignorance, I haven't ever worked with a ThinkPad of this vintage.
Ah, dont worry about it. Ive done my fair share of stupidity with TPs.

That wont work because the cable is soldered on for a 600X and T2x machines.

I have one for a 570E. Ill look for its P/N later today if I can find ir.

https://m.ebay.com/itm/5K5841-IBM-Think ... SwZlZaAO0i

This one has the drive in question inside the dock. Its 3.5" wide and made by TEAC. The connector is on the back, not the side.

EDIT: As promised, the drive P/N.

TEAC P/N: FD-05P2
ASM P/N: 05K8958
FRU P/N: 05K8989

https://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-1-44MB-3-5 ... 1650449371
Ah okay, so if I got this drive: https://www.ebay.com/itm/05K8990-05K898 ... Sw3YJZTe41 would I need the other cable or is that the correct one? I can't tell.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1812
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: 760C cd-rom

#14 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 6:01 pm

LarBob wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:54 pm
Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:23 pm

Ah, dont worry about it. Ive done my fair share of stupidity with TPs.

That wont work because the cable is soldered on for a 600X and T2x machines.

I have one for a 570E. Ill look for its P/N later today if I can find ir.

https://m.ebay.com/itm/5K5841-IBM-Think ... SwZlZaAO0i

This one has the drive in question inside the dock. Its 3.5" wide and made by TEAC. The connector is on the back, not the side.

EDIT: As promised, the drive P/N.

TEAC P/N: FD-05P2
ASM P/N: 05K8958
FRU P/N: 05K8989

https://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-1-44MB-3-5 ... 1650449371
Ah okay, so if I got this drive: https://www.ebay.com/itm/05K8990-05K898 ... Sw3YJZTe41 would I need the other cable or is that the correct one? I can't tell.
Yes. It might be the right cable but im not sure. there are too many connectors that look too similar. Apple, Toshiba and IBM used the same floppy connector and all 3 will plig in and fry each others brand laptop.

More info: http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Floppy_Connector
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests