Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

701c lock up when booting to 16000MB RAM starting

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
Cooler22
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:15 am
Location: United Arab Emirates, Dubai

701c lock up when booting to 16000MB RAM starting

#1 Post by Cooler22 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:49 pm

Hey everyone,

Just recently my 701c[s] does not want to boot properly. When I start the machine as normal, the bios counts up the RAM, although it always stops at 16000 KB. I have over that amount and whenever I switch RAM from an 8 MB, 16, 32, 64 it still locks at 16000. Notably, if I use either 8 MB or 16 MB, I am able to get past the count menu and get to the Windows 95 startup, although it locks up.

I have tried using my spare motherboard with a DX2 and it does not have the 16000 issue, although Windows 95 still does not boot. I am not sure if it is an issue from BIOS. Anyways I would very much like some help in fixing the Thinkpad.

Thanks in advance!

hwattys
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:14 am
Location: Central Indiana
Contact:

Re: 701c lock up when booting to 16000MB RAM starting

#2 Post by hwattys » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:22 am

How is your CMOS battery? Do you get a time and date error booting up?

Cooler22
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:15 am
Location: United Arab Emirates, Dubai

Re: 701c lock up when booting to 16000MB RAM starting

#3 Post by Cooler22 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:53 am

I desoldered my CMOS battery, although I do get the time and date issue when booting. Would a new CMOS remedy it?

hwattys
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:14 am
Location: Central Indiana
Contact:

Re: 701c lock up when booting to 16000MB RAM starting

#4 Post by hwattys » Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:36 pm

Likely but no certainty. There is a little green battery in a pigtail thing down by the modem. That is not what I am speaking of. Its the coin battery soldered into a little metal clip on the backside of the motherboard by the memory slots. Without a working battery there, motherboards exhibit all kinds of weirdness including memory errors.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests