Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
Vipersan
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#1 Post by Vipersan » Fri May 11, 2018 7:53 am

So ..I have aquired yet another TP600X which I'd like to restore ..
This one is in really good condition but although powers up ..there is no display ..
nor output from the VGA I/O ..
I have borrowed a the pcb from one of my other units ..and this produces results.
I have to assume dead GPU
In short I need a replacement ..
I have searched Ebay but drawn blanks ..
600E are quite prolific ..but sadly not the 600X
anyone know where I might obtain one ..?
rgds
VS
I wanted to upload images ..but I guess the forum doesn't allow pictures ?

madicetea
Sophomore Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:59 am
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#2 Post by madicetea » Fri May 11, 2018 8:24 am

Vipersan wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 7:53 am
So ..I have aquired yet another TP600X which I'd like to restore ..
This one is in really good condition but although powers up ..there is no display ..
nor output from the VGA I/O ..
I have borrowed a the pcb from one of my other units ..and this produces results.
I have to assume dead GPU
In short I need a replacement ..
I have searched Ebay but drawn blanks ..
600E are quite prolific ..but sadly not the 600X
anyone know where I might obtain one ..?
rgds
VS
I wanted to upload images ..but I guess the forum doesn't allow pictures ?
While we get the occasional s30 out here, I would say that I can't help with 600-series computers.

That said, pictures can be uploaded to https://imgur.com and hyperlinked to forum posts.

Good luck on finding another 600.
Greetings from Tokyo,
MadIceTea
, IBM Thinkpad Enthusiast

Daily Driver Thinkpads: X250 16gb, X61 T9500 SXGA+
Under Construction: PC110
Occasional Use: x2001 AFFS i5-530 (in my lab) , piano black s30
For Sale: X250 16gb FHD IPS Japanese kb, X250 WXGA Lid, batteries, DDR2/3 RAM

Vipersan
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#3 Post by Vipersan » Fri May 11, 2018 8:40 am


kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1158
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#4 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun May 13, 2018 12:24 am

Vipersan wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 7:53 am
I have to assume dead GPU
This symptom doesn't have to be a dead GPU. It may be a dead cpu, faulty soldered RAM, near dead power delivery unit, a toast display cable, or just some oxidized alumium alloy on the mobo connectors. You have to take the whole thing apart to know, and those things crack pretty easily if you try to open them up.
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

zephray
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:06 am
Location: State College, PA

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#5 Post by zephray » Sun May 13, 2018 1:03 am

If you want to buy a 600X, I can offer to sell you one. It is a 600X with 500MHz PIII processor and 576MB screen. It is in working condition but rough shape. Asking for US$100 not including shipping from PA.
Daily driver: ThinkPad X1 Tablet 2016 (Core m7-6Y75)
Collections: ThinkPad 230CS, 235, 240, 240Z, 535E, 560E, 750C, 755C, 800, S30, TransNote, T23, X23, X32, X40, X41, T42, T43, X60, X61s, X301, 5499 OnlineNote, PS/2 E, WorkPad Z50

Vipersan
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#6 Post by Vipersan » Sun May 13, 2018 7:37 am

Thanks for the replies...but..
I may well have solved my problem ..
time will tell.
I suspect the cpu pcb I require is a Pentium II not as I thought ..a PIII ..
and my fruitless searches using the model and type yield zero results ..
I then started searching using the numbers on the pcb paper label ..
All of them ..and again ..drew a blank.
Then I searched using the 3 chunks of IDENT on the label ..individually ..
Searching using the second 'chunk' of Ident 01k3266 ...was the needed search info
et voila ..
results came thick and fast ...and I found a 300mhz 512k PII on ebay for under £10.
fingers crossed tightly for a successful outcome.
rgds
VS

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#7 Post by thinkpadcollection » Sun May 13, 2018 2:02 pm

600 series underwent 3 transitions:

MMC-1 has 2 rows of white connectors to motherboard, 66fsb, Pentium 233mmx (depends on right motherboard too to my disgust when I was rebuilding a 600 to Pentium MMX 233 from PII, had to purchase another motherboard), PII 233, 266, 300, 333, 366 and 400. negomagic 2MB GPU. That's 600.
MMC-2 has one white rectangular connector, PII only, 66fsb, 512K or 256K. Neomagic 2.5MB GPU. That's 600E.
MMC-2 has also one white rectangular connector, PIII only, *100fsb* 256K only, starts from 500MHz, 600MHz with speedstep and up to 850MHz if found. Neomagic 4MB, that's *600X*, the last model released. Also it has first ever mini PCI slot for modem or wireless.

Make sure you have right MMC2 PIII module for 600X of yours.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Vipersan
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#8 Post by Vipersan » Sun May 13, 2018 2:36 pm

thinkpadcollection wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 2:02 pm
600 series underwent 3 transitions:

MMC-1 has 2 rows of white connectors to motherboard, 66fsb, Pentium 233mmx (depends on right motherboard too to my disgust when I was rebuilding a 600 to Pentium MMX 233 from PII, had to purchase another motherboard), PII 233, 266, 300, 333, 366 and 400. negomagic 2MB GPU. That's 600.
MMC-2 has one white rectangular connector, PII only, 66fsb, 512K or 256K. Neomagic 2.5MB GPU. That's 600E.
MMC-2 has also one white rectangular connector, PIII only, *100fsb* 256K only, starts from 500MHz, 600MHz with speedstep and up to 850MHz if found. Neomagic 4MB, that's *600X*, the last model released. Also it has first ever mini PCI slot for modem or wireless.

Make sure you have right MMC2 PIII module for 600X of yours.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection
Very useful info ..
I assume I ordered a suitable replacement ..
as seen from the photos I linked to.
Mine has 2 rows of white connectors ..so MMC-1
So I ordered a PII 300mhz 512 and I presume Neomagic 2mb gpu.
I guess what I thought was a 600X is just a 600 afterall.
rgds
VS

another impulse purchase today as the price was right for me ..
physically looks ok ..but no idea if working or not ..
bought as seen
A Thinkpad 240
I do love these old retro laptops..
lol

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1158
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Replacement cpu/gpu pcb for TP600X 2645-850

#9 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun May 13, 2018 4:59 pm

Vipersan wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 2:36 pm
Very useful info ..
I assume I ordered a suitable replacement ..
as seen from the photos I linked to.
Mine has 2 rows of white connectors ..so MMC-1
So I ordered a PII 300mhz 512 and I presume Neomagic 2mb gpu.
I guess what I thought was a 600X is just a 600 afterall.
rgds
There are a few more differences to the regular 600 and other 600 models.
1. The original 600 does NOT have any battery connectors on the Ultraslimbay, thus does NOT work with Ultrabay batteries.
2. (Cannot be distinguished from the board itself) The original 600 does NOT have ACPI support whatsoever, APM only.
3. See if you can locate any FRU numbers on the motherboard, that usually does not lie.
Some tips for 600 series (non-X):
1. the official max is 288mb/320mb depending on 32mb/64mb soldered.
However, I found out that 256mb PC100 RAM sticks work just fine (Though for the non-E model one of the slots will only take half of PC100 RAM, but gives no errors)
Thus, the absolute maximum is 416mb or 448mb.
2. If you don't have the ultraslimbay DVD-ROM or you have a broken CD/DVD drive, you can take the frame of the ultraslimbay drive and subsitute in a Ultrabay 2000/Plus CD/DVD drive and it works just fine, though obviously the BIOS is gonna think of a CDRW/DVD-ROM combo drive as a CD-ROM drive.
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests