Page 1 of 1

Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:39 am
by armanicollezioni
I have a ThinkPad 770 that I just purchased, along with everything with it. However, the hard drive I acquired has Windows 2000 (can not boot into it, it freezes, probably because it has 32MB of RAM compared to the 64MB that is required on it, it also eats up my battery life in 20 minutes), and when I boot into safe mode with CMD prompt, there's an Administrator password.

So what I want to do is find something for my ThinkPad 770 to restore it to its original factory settings, Windows 95 and all. Anyone would know how I can do this?

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk


Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:41 am
by armanicollezioni
Also FYI it's the original 770, not the E/ED/Z or anything.

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk


Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:50 am
by Thinkpad4by3
You can ask around for a Factory Restore ISO and use that. If you can't find that install W95 or 98 and install the drivers provided in the drivers link at the top of the page.

Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:17 am
by Bondi

Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:22 am
by armanicollezioni
Bondi wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:17 am
770 and more
https://archive.org/download/LegacyThin ... 0Recovery/
Thank you!

Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:21 pm
by armanicollezioni
Also, can I just start it from the CD in the BIOS, or do I have to load it through an OS?

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk


Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 pm
by Thinkpad4by3
Boot from CD.

Re: Need help with factory restoring a ThinkPad 770

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 1:49 pm
by Bondi
armanicollezioni wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:21 pm
Also, can I just start it from the CD in the BIOS, or do I have to load it through an OS?

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
If there is such option in the BIOS then you should first try to boot from CD.
Anyway, I believe there should be readme files on the CD with detailed instructions. IBM was very good on that.