Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Can you overclock a 600E?

Older ThinkPads.. from the 600, the 7xx, the iSeries, 300, 500, the Transnote and, of course, the 701
Post Reply
Message
Author
dj_pirtu
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:59 am
Location: Nummela, Finland

Can you overclock a 600E?

#1 Post by dj_pirtu » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:04 am

Hi, new here but no means a newbie with Thinkpads. I got 2xT61p, W500, T500, X230, and just bought 600E and T43p.

My question is: have anybody tried to overclock a 600E? Mine has P2-366 and of course 66fsb. I have overclocked many T4x-laptops by fiddling PLL-chip and got 100 -> 133fsb. In 600E it would be 66 -> 100fsb and CPU speed from 366 to 500. I think that would be manageable. Not interested in P3's because of the cache-error.
600E, T41p, T43p, 2xT61p, W500, X230

pkiff
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1494
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Can you overclock a 600E?

#2 Post by pkiff » Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:54 am

Welcome to the Forum!

There may be a method of overclocking a 600E that employs a hardware mod to replace the clock generator. Never tried this myself, and can't comment on whether it might work in a 600E.

Here's a post in The official 700 Upgrade thread where el-sahef posted about it back in 2009:
Post #96 in 133 Mhz FSB on Thinkpad 770X, 770Z and 600E (NOT 600X!)

Phil.
X1 Carbon Tablet (3rd Gen) · W520 · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X61T SXGA+, X60T, 600X, 770Z SXGA
Nostalgic for: 600X PIII 850MHz in a SelectaDock III with 64MB Voodoo 5 5500 and Sound Blaster Audigy 5.1.

TheForgottenKing
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:41 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Can you overclock a 600E?

#3 Post by TheForgottenKing » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:29 am

Best bet would probably be to find the 600X 850MHz CPU, not sure if it would work

dj_pirtu
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:59 am
Location: Nummela, Finland

Re: Can you overclock a 600E?

#4 Post by dj_pirtu » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:56 am

Thanks for answers!

I don't think it needs a new PLL... Because if P3's do work with 100fsb with little mod so I'm quite sure P2's will too. Remember overclocking Slot1-processors with piece of tape to isolate BSEL-pin from processor socket. So, I think I'll just have to find the BSEL-pin and find out what to do with it. If it gets too complicated I'll give up and be happy just like it is now. 366MHz should be enough for everyone. :lol:
600E, T41p, T43p, 2xT61p, W500, X230

Screamer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Can you overclock a 600E?

#5 Post by Screamer » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:14 am

According to the specifications of this Mobile Pentium 2 Dixon, it is very unlikely that you will be able to sustain a clock speed of 550MHz (5.5x100 = 550).

That clock speed is way too high for a Mobile Pentium 2. Even if it does manage to reach that clock speed, I would not expect any sort of stability from that. Additionally, the low voltage of 1.6V would be a massive roadblock for this experiment, since most Pentium 2 Deschutes processors that managed to hit above 500MHz or even 550MHz+ needed more than just 2V. Now, if you factor in the L2 cache of Deschutes that runs at only half of its actual speed, that makes it ever more unlikely that Dixon would ever hit 500MHz+.

In conclusion: Dixon had its L2 cache running at its actual speed, which would heavily pull down your chances of reaching 550MHz with a 100MHz front-side bus. That, added with the very low stock voltage of 1.6V, would not get you anywhere but maybe 400MHz or so.

dj_pirtu
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:59 am
Location: Nummela, Finland

Re: Can you overclock a 600E?

#6 Post by dj_pirtu » Tue Jan 29, 2019 1:49 pm

I didn't realize the voltage is so low... So, I'll stick with 366MHz, it's enough for DOS-gaming. P3 would be nice but maybe not needed.

EDIT: found an old thread: viewtopic.php?t=39537
600E, T41p, T43p, 2xT61p, W500, X230

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Legacy Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests